Japanese Studies Research Guide: Find Articles
Obtaining Journal Articles in Journals/Magazines in Print
To obtain a copy of a journal article: If it is not available online, try the following step.
- Go to CLIO (Columbia Library Information Online) and search for the journal title.
- If the journal is found in our collection, check if the necessary issue is available as well as its location. When it is located offsite, you may request a copy of the article, by clicking the “offsite” button and filling in the "Electronic" form.
- If the journal is not held by Columbia, go to the ILL (interlibrary loan) page. Select "Article" form to submit your request. In addition to required information, provide additional information such as volume number, ISSN, OCLC no., link to a NDL bibliographic record, etc. as much as possible.
Please note: Columbia does not participate in ILL for books with NDL. Howver, we can request articles, book chapters, etc. via NDL's Remote Photoduplication Service to Columbia users. Please read Information about Copyright page carefully to understand Japanese libraries' definition of "a part of a work" and limits on copying serial publications.Delivery will be sent to us BY POST.
Updated: 9/20/2024
Journals/Magazines via Databases
- Japan Knowledge Lib
This link opens in a new window
Japan Knowledge Lib includes the following journal and magazine titles:
● 『太陽』
● 『文芸倶楽部』
● 第一高等学校『校友会雑誌』
● 『美術新報』
● 『風俗画報』
● 『文藝春秋』アーカイブズ (創刊号から昭和25年（1950）12月号までの全323冊)
●『東洋経済新報／週刊東洋経済』アーカイブズ (明治28年（1895）11月から平成27年（2015）12月)
- Kikuzō II bijuaru for libraries = 聞蔵IIビジュアルfor libraries
- This link opens in a new window
Kikuzo includes the following magazines:
● Aera = アエラ
● 週刊朝日
● アサヒグラフ 1923-1956 - Nikkei Telecom 21
- This link opens in a new window
Nikkei Telecom 21 includes the latest issue of the following titles:
●『日経ビジネス』
●『週刊東洋経済』
●『週刊ダイヤモンド』
●『週刊エコノミスト』
●『プレジデント』
●『週刊金融財政事情』 - Mita bungaku (三田文學)
- This link opens in a new window
Online edition includes issues from 1901 (明治34) to 1950 (昭和25).
Updated: 12/5/2019
Institutional Repositories
- IRBD (Institutional Repositories DataBase 学術機関リポジトリデータベース）IRDB was launched in April 2019 and replaced its predecessor JAIRO. Although the site is designed to support the institutional repository staff tasks, IRDB can be useful for researchers to cross-search Japanese institutional repositories.
Updated: 11/22/2019
Indexes for Journal Articles
- CiNii ResearchCiNii Articles is now integrated into and renamed to CiNii Research. To target your searches to journal articles, try this Advanced Search screen.
9/26/2024 - J-StageJ-STAGE is a platform for scholarly publications in Japan. It is developed and managed by the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST).
6/28/2022 - NDL Search (国立国会図書館サーチ)About NDL Search
NDL Search allows you to search for materials and digital materials held by the National Diet Library as well as collections of libraries nationwide.
Updated: 9/20/2024
- Zasshi kiji sakuin shusei detabesu : Meiji kara genzai made sogo zasshi kara chishi made = The complete database for Japanese magazines and periodicals from the Meiji era to the present. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, and including local periodicals not present in many other indexes. Coverage is from 1868 onwards. Merges data from various composite periodical indexes by Kokuritsu Kokkai Toshokan. - Web OYA-bunko . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
WebOya indexes periodicals held by the Ōya Sōichi bunko, a private library in Tokyo with a comprehensive collection of popular journals reflecting popular culture in Japan. Provides basic and advanced Boolean searching, as well as classified searches by personal names, occupation, subject, and keyword. Indexes 400 titles including 110,000 personal name and 7,000 subject headings. Coverage: 1988- present. - 20-seiki media joho detabesu. This link opens in a new windowAn article-level index to the magazines and a portion of the newspapers in the Gordon W. Prange Collection. All of the publications date from the early years of the Occupation of Japan, 1945-1949, and constitute the files of the Civil Censorship Detachment. The database was created under the supervision of Professor Taketoshi Yamamoto and is administered by Bunsei Shoin.
- Kokubungaku Ronbun Mokuroku Database (国文学論文目録データベース)Periodical article index to Kokubungaku Nenkan. Provides citations to journal articles and books with subjects related to Japanese literature
- Bibliographic Database of Research on Japanese Language and Japanese Language Education (日本語研究・日本語教育文献データベース)This database indexes research material related to the Japanese language and Japanese language education. Includes the data in the Japanese Language Studies Annual Survey and Bibliography 『国語年鑑』and the Japanese Language Education Annual Survey『日本語教育年鑑』which were published by NINJAL, and contains searchable articles and books on these topics published in 1950 onwards. New data is being added subsequently.
Updated: 12/6/2019
Volume/Issue numbers (通巻号数 or ....)
Japanese periodicals often bear two sets of volume/issue numbers: regular combination of volume & issue, and 通巻号数 (whole number).
CiNii citation often uses the former and North American Library catalogs may go with 通巻号数 (whole number).
The NDL biblographic records often carry both numbers.
eg) 袖珍サイズの「英和対訳袖珍辞書」を発見
三好 彰 日本古書通信 75 (10), 4-7, 2010-10
Citation on CiNii: Volume 75, issue 10
CLIO Holding Information for the same periodical title.
NDL Holding Information includes both volume & issue, and 通巻号数 (whole number)
Updated: 3/1/2024
Academi Society Websites
Search and visit websites of the individual academic societies, conferences, etc. Occassionally they post PDFs on their website. Those resources may not be linked to index databases mentioned above.
eg) 公開シンポジウム「人文科学とデータベース」発表論文集 archived on their symposium website: https://www.jinbun-db.com/symposium/archives
No full-text link indication on NDL SEARCH result list.
CiNii Research doesn't index all the issues.
Some societies may also provide you options to become an individual member and obtain access to the articles or purchase the articles directly from them.
Update: 2/28/2024
Academic Society Directory
Gakkai meikan/学会名鑑 from Nihon Gakujutsu Kaigi/日本学術会議 (Science Council of Japan), Nihon Gakujutsu Kyoryoku Zaidan/日本学術協力財団 (Japan Science Support Foundation) and Kagaku Gijutsu Shinko Kiko/科学技術振興機構 (Japan Science and Technology Agency)
As of March 3, 2020, 2,051 academic societies are listed in the directory. Entries include information about society journals.
For more about this database, visit this site. Starr Library also holds 2001-2003 and 2004-2006 editions of this directory.
Updated: 2/10/2021
Contents list of monographic titles
Ronbunshū naiyō saimoku sōran (論文集内容細目総覧)
1945-1992, 1993-1998, 1999-2003, 2004-2008
Updated: 12/5/2019
