LCAAJ Digital Archive User Guide: Introduction

This is a guide to using the Digital Archive to the Language and Culture Atlas of Ashkenazic Jewry (dlc.library.columbia.edu/lcaaj)

Introduction

This is a supplementary guide to the Digitized data for the Language and Culture Atlas of Ashkenazic Jewry, which makes available online the linguistic and ethnographic information about YIddish, gathered by the LCAAJ team so that researchers could map or otherwise systematically analyze it.   (A history and fuller description of of the LCAAJ project can be accessed by clicking here.) 

For information on how to search the Digitized LCAAJ, see Searching for Answers to Questions.

Before beginning your search, we strongly suggest that you look at the page providing an overview of the collection, and
look at the important scope note below.

What the digitized LCAAJ website does:

  • Provides access to the images of the pages with answers given in interviews in the form of Blue Books, Answer Sheets, and Printouts
    • Further information about these materials can be found in this guide under Answer Data
  • Provides filters to allow one to limit their search by format or location/region
  • Provides detailed metadata for those answers to allow ease of searching
  • Provides persistent URLs and IIIF manifests to allow use of the images in other contexts

What the digitized LCAAJ website DOES NOT do:

  • Provide an interface for digitally mapping data (for that, we recommend taking a look at the LCAAJResearch page, as well as joining our community of LCAAJ scholars by sending us an email at lcaaj@library.columbia.edu)
  • Provide text-searchable answers to the questions (for that, see LCAAJResearch for access to downloadable PDFs of the printouts with OCR, and to read more about our plans on gathering that information as a community).