Copyright and Permissions for Online Exhibitions and Digital Collections
- A central mission of Columbia University Libraries (CUL) is to make its collections available in support of research and scholarship by members of the Columbia University community and others. In support of this mission, CUL provides access to online exhibitions and its digital collections for purposes that include highlighting the collections, providing information about the collections and the materials contained in them, and encouraging broader discovery.
- Users of materials in the Libraries collections, including its online exhibitions and digital collections, must respect copyright and other legal rights held by other parties that may affect their subsequent use. Where materials are protected by copyright law, CUL provides access to them in its online exhibitions or its digital collections for educational, scholarly and research purposes.
- This online exhibition includes materials that are protected by copyright, subject to license or other rights, such as rights of privacy or the use of names and likenesses. You may be able to use the exhibitions, digital collections and the materials contained in them as permitted by law, such as under fair use and other copyright exceptions. Beyond what may be permissible under fair use, you will have to seek permission from the rights holder to reproduce and otherwise use the materials. Columbia University makes no representation about the copyright or other legal status of the materials. It is your responsibility to investigate and, if needed, clear rights to use these materials.
- The materials are displayed “as is” and without warranties of any kind, either express or implied, including any warranties of title, non-infringement of copyright or other rights.
- You are welcome to link to our online exhibitions or digital collections for educational and research purposes. Permission to to publish or reproduce materials in this online collection, beyond what may be permissible as a fair use can by obtained by contacting the Editorial Collegium of the LCAAJ (Editor-in-Chief: Ulrike Kiefer). For guidelines and to request library reproductions, see: Columbia University Libraries Publication & Digital Reproduction Policy and Procedures.
- If you have questions, comments, or additional information related to the digitized LCAAJ, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
- If you are a copyright owner and believe that your rights have been infringed, please see Copyright – Columbia University in the City of New York.