Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies: Columbia Archives & Manuscripts
Collections in the Rare Book & Manuscript Library
This was intended as a brief and selective guide to the collections relating to women in the Rare Book & Manuscript Library and the Burke Library. For more complete descriptions of these collections, and for collections in the Columbia Center for Oral History, Avery Architecture & Fine Arts Library, and the Lehman Suite, please consult CLIO or the Archives Portal.
Please check the respective libraries for archives and manuscripts at Barnard College, Teacher's College, the Law Library, and the Health Sciences Library.
From the Community Service Society Photographs
Pitt Street. From the Community Service Society Photographs.
Archives & Manuscripts
This is intended as a brief and selective guide to the collections relating to women in the Rare Book & Manuscript Library and the Burke Library. For more complete descriptions of these collections, and for collections in the Columbia Center for Oral History, Avery Architecture & Fine Arts Library, and the Lehman Suite, please consult CLIO or the Archives Portal.
Please check the respective libraries for archives and manuscripts at Barnard College, Teacher's College, the Law Library, and the Health Sciences Library.
Abzug, Bella. Extensive file. 900+ ft. Finding Aid
Lawyer and U.S. Representative from New York. Correspondence, memoranda, speeches, reports, printed material, and photos, relating to Abzug's tenure as Congresswoman from New York City's 19th and 20th Congressional Districts (1971-76). Includes legislative files of background material, and printed versions of legislation by Abzug and others.
Archives of Women in Theological Scholarship (AWTS). Burke Library
Documents the history of the women who have made significant contributions to movements for progressive religious and social change since 1900. AWTS collects the personal papers, scholarly work, oral histories, and audiovisual records of feminist, womanist, and mujerista scholars, clergy, and laywomen, beginning with former and present Union faculty members, alumnae, and their colleagues.
Association for the Relief of Respectable, Aged, Indigent Females, New York, N.Y. 1863-1928. 7v. Finding Aid.
Minutes and financial records of an association which provided housing and pensions.
Barnard Center for Research on Women Digital Collections
Barnard College Archives. Papers, photographs and material related to the history of Barnard College.
Belmont, Eleanor Robson, (1879-1979).. Papers, 1851-1979. 33ft. Finding Aid.
Actress. Correspondence, MSS. of writings, and other papers. Includes a MS. of Anatole France's "La Petite Ville de France" and a typescript of George Bernard Shaw's "Democracy and `The apple cart' "; and correspondence, notes, and reports of the American Shakespeare Festival Foundation, the Educational Dramatic League, the Metropolitan Opera Association, the Motion Picture Research Council, the Red Cross and other organizations. Correspondents include Mary Austin, Stephen Vincent Benét, Frances Hodgson Burnett, Nicholas Murray Butler, Calvin Coolidge, Dwight David Eisenhower, Clyde Fitch, Harriet Ford, Anatole France, John Galsworthy, Ellen Glasgow, Yvette Guilbert, Herbert Hoover, Amy Lowell, Archibald MacLeish, Edgar Lee Masters, John J. Pershing, Arthur Wing Pinero, Theodore Roosevelt, George Bernard Shaw, William Howard Taft, Edith Wharton, William Butler Yeats, and Israel Zangwill.
Blackwell, Elizabeth (1821-1910). 152 letters to her close friend Barbara Smith Bodichon [1850-1884] Finding Aid.
Letters from Dr. Blackwell to her friend Barbara Smith Bodichon, describing her work in America and England, and showing her struggle against the prejudice toward women in the medical profession, her work in the Civil War, and her interest in the improvement of sanitary conditions. Includes three letters from her sister, Emily Blackwell, who was also a physician
Burns, Eveline Mabel (Richardson) (1900-). Papers 1930-1985. 41.5 ft. Finding Aid.
Economist and professor of social work, New York School of Social Work. Correspondence, mss. of books, articles, book reviews, and speeches, course materials, and files reflecting activities in the field of social welfare, such as social security, unemployment, health care, and social work education.
Bussenius, Luellen Teters, 1868-1968.. Papers, 1874-1969. 6 ft. Finding Aid.
journalist, author, and clubwoman, was an editor of "The Delineator" in New York and a contributor to many periodicals. Her marriage to W. A. Otto Bussenius, 1874-1944, a German importer, ended in divorce. She was active in many patriotic, political, and business organizations. Correspondence, manuscripts, drafts, notes, documents, photographs, clippings, and printed materials. Her writings include both fiction (short stories, poetry, and plays) and non-fiction (articles on history, plants, bridge, astronomy, numerology, food and health). She also published a novel, "The Honorable Miss Cherry Blossom" (New York, Nicholas L. Brown, 1924). There are business papers of the Women's Chamber of Commerce of New York and other of her civic organizations. The cataloged correspondence include: Carrie Chapman Catt, John V. Lindsay, Ogden L. Mills, Nelson A. Rockefeller, Ernest Thompson Seton, and Charles Goodrich Whiting.
Christadora House Records. 1897-1991. 12.5 ft. Finding Aid.
The Christodora House Records document the institution from its foundation in 1897 as The Young Womens' Settlement to its activities nearly a century later in support of environmental education for urban youth. They offer a unique view of the first wave of the settlement house movement in America, and document social conditions, demographic change, political activity, and philanthropy in New York City. The date span of the records is from 1897 to 1991. The records include: annual reports, correspondence and memos, membership lists, program records, photographs, publications, and scrapbooks.
Columbia University Archives material about Columbia University from its founding to the present.
Craigie, Pearl Mary Teresa Richards (1867-1906) . Papers, 1896-1904. .5ft. Finding Aid
Anglo-American novelist and dramatist. Pearl Craigie wrote under the pseudonym John Oliver Hobbes. Includes correspondence of Craigie; and the holograph manuscript for her novel, THE SERIOUS WOOING.
Crane, Cora (Howorth) (1865-1910). Safety deposit box papers, 1886-1910. ca.1800 items. Finding Aid.
Correspondence, documents, memorabilia, bills, receipts, insurance policies, checks, and other financial papers, chiefly 1900-10, dealing with the operation of The Court, a sporting house in Jacksonville, Fla., Crane's marriage to Hammond P. McNeil, and her work on the invention of a new army canteen. Includes genealogy of the O'Mahony family by Harold Frederic. Presented by Abandoned Properties Dept., State of Florida, 1974; formerly in an unclaimed safety deposit box at Barnett National Bank, Jacksonville, Fla.
Dragonette, Jessica (d. 1980). Papers, 1936-1967. ca.300 items. Finding Aid.
Concert and radio singer; b. Jessica Valentina; married Nicholas Meredith Turner. Correspondence, mss. of writings, clippings, printed works, and photos.
Earle, Genevieve Beavers (1883-1956). Papers, 1935-1950. 8ft. Finding Aid.
Correspondence and papers relating to Mrs. Earle's public career in various phases of New York City government: Bureau of Municipal Research, Child Welfare Board, Mayor's Committee on Plan and Survey of New York City, Emergency Unemployment Committee, and New York City Council. Includes minutes of the various committees upon which Mrs. Earle served, city bills and other municipal legislation, and memoranda. There is also an Oral History Interview in the Oral History Office.
East Side House Records, 1851-1991. 18ft. Finding Aid.
American settlement houses were in the vanguard of efforts to educate and provide social services for impoverished residents in their neighborhoods through programs such as kindergartens, day care, hot lunches, health clinics, visiting nurses, camps, playgrounds and arts education. In addition, the settlements were deeply involved in Progressive-era reform movements advocating improvements in housing, public health, and sanitation. In 1891 New York's Church Club founded East Side House, under the direction of Everett P. Wheeler. In 1961 the board decided to move the settlement to a new community where it perceived that the agency's services would be more vital. The South Bronx was chosen, and in 1963 East Side House opened new administrative offices on Alexander Avenue. Working with the New York City Housing Authority, East Side House established program facilities in several NYCHA buildings. Programs included senior citizen activities, summer camp, recreation and athletics, day nursery, and homemaking instruction. Today the settlement provides services to more than 10,000 South Bronx residents each year. Head Start, day care, teen employment and education, athletics, and clubs and meals for senior citizens are a few of the programs sponsored.
Evans, Ernestine (1889-1967). Papers, 1890-1868. 13 ft. Finding Aid.
Ernestine Evans was a prolific female journalist, author, editor and literary agent active in the early-to-mid twentieth century.
Flaherty, Frances. In the Robert Joseph Flaherty papers, 1884-1970. Finding Aid.
Motion picture producer and director, author, and explorer. Correspondence, diaries, financial records, scripts, publicity materials, notes and drafts of books, short stories, and articles, and photos, relating to Flaherty's career as an explorer in the Hudson Bay area (1911-15), as a film-maker after 1913, and as an author. Includes records of all Flaherty's films, including Elephant Boy (1937), The Land (1941), Louisiana Story (1948), Man of Aran (1934), Moana (1925), and Nanook of the North (1922); personal papers of his wife, Frances (Hubbard) Flaherty; papers of his brother, David Flaherty and other associates, relating to films; and files of the Robert Flaherty Foundation.
Franken, Rose (1895-1988). Papers, 1925-1982. ca. 1250 items. Finding Aid.
Correspondence and manuscripts including drafts, typescripts, and proofs of Franken's short stories, novels, plays, and radio, film, and television scripts beginning with her first novel, Pattern, published in 1925, through her latest volume, You're Well Out of a Hospital, published in 1966. Many of the manuscripts relate to her most famous characters, Claudia and David, who have become part of the contemporary cultural fabric. The collection also contains 18 volumes of clippings, approximately 200 recordings, and 501 mimeographed scripts relating to the "Claudia" series. Among the major correspondents are Faith Baldwin, Paul U. Kellogg, and Eleanor Roosevelt.
Franzblau, Rose Nadler (1905-1979). Papers, 1930-1978. 132 ft. Finding Aid.
Psychologist and syndicated newspaper columnist. (Columbia University M.A., 1931; Ph.D., 1935). In her New Yorl Post column, "Human Relations," in magazine articles, and on radio and television, Dr. Franzblau applied the principles of Freudian theory to the problems of her readers from 1949 until 1976. Earlier she had been a specialist in personnel management for the United Nations and the U.S. Government. She was also active in philanthropy and a financial backer of Broadway plays. Papers containing correspondence, manuscripts, notes, radio scripts, letters asking Franzblau's advice, clippings, memoranda, announcements, photographs, tape recordings, records, books, pamphlets, and memorabilia. She kept the vast number of letters asking her advice and the typescripts of her replies. Among the cataloged correspondents are Ann Landers, Jo Mielziner, Dorothy Schiff, and Abigail Van Buren.
Freeman, Mary Eleanor Wilkins (1852-1930). Letters, 1893-1901. 54 items. Finding Aid.
Novelist and short story writer. Letters of Freeman, addressed to various personalities at Harper Brothers and the Century Magazine, relating chiefly to the publication in serial and book form of her various novels and short stories. Included are letters to Richard Watson Gilder, Robert Underwood Johnson, Colonel George B. Harvey, and Henry Mills Alden. Also, photocopies of the typescript of Brent L. Kendrick's Ph.D. thesis (University of South Carolina, 1981) The Infant Sphinx: Collected Letters of Mary E. Wilkins Freeman. 2 vols. (Published version in the General Library: PS1713/.A44/1985).
French, Marilyn (1929-2009). Papers 1957-2009 (bulk 1978-2008). 27.83 ft. Finding Aid.
The Marilyn French Papers contain a nearly complete record of French's literary life and production. The collection also contains a small number of unpublished or not-fully-realized manuscripts and poems, including an unpublished memoir and detailed research files for an unwritten novel.
Gildersleeve, Virginia Crocheron (1877-1969). Papers, 1898-1962.82 boxes. Finding Aid.
Dean of Barnard College. Correspondence, notes, articles, reports, and speeches. Includes material relating to the United Nations Conference in San Francisco, 1945; the Dumbarton Oaks Conference, 1944; the International Federation of University Women and the American Association of University Women; the American Council on Education; the Near East College Association; and some material relating to Barnard College affairs.
Goddard-Riverside Community Center. Records, 1854-1954. 51ft. Finding Aid.
Goddard-Riverside Community Center was established in 1959 by the merger of two settlement houses, Riverside Community House and Goddard Neighborhood Center. Riverside Community House was established in 1887 by the Reverend Edward Houghton of the Chapel of the Transfiguration. Goddard Neighborhood Center was organized in 1892 by the Unitarian Church as "The Friendly Aid Society." The settlement ran a kindergarten, health clinic, and recreation programs from two brownstones on East 34th Street. Anticipating the needs of a community about to undergo a major transformation, Riverside Community House and Goddard Neighborhood Center merged in 1959 to form Goddard-Riverside Community Center (GRCC), and consolidated their work in the heart of the WSURP district. In 1983 GRCC consolidated several of its programs and administrative functions at 593 Columbus Avenue, while continuing to operate other programs elsewhere in the neighborhood. During the 1990s GRCC remains among New York's most active settlement houses, providing services to over 12,000 people annually.
Greyson, Ann. (1969- ). Papers, 1971-2000. 1ft. Finding Aid
Producer, writer and stage manager. Born in New Jersey and raised in Atlanta GA and New York City. Her credits include stage manager of The Odyssey Theatre production of Bremen Freedom in Los Angeles and the Hofstra University production of Guys and Dolls.
Griffing, Josephine Sophie White (1814-1872). Papers 1852-1872. 53 items and 2v. Finding Aid.
Social reformer. Letters written to Mrs. Griffing relating to her interests in the emancipation of Negroes, the temperance movement, and woman's suffrage; scrapbook of clippings about her life and activities; and the autograph book of George T. Driggs, a relative. Correspondents include Henry Ward Beecher, Anna Dickinson, Horace Greeley, Lucretia Mott, William H. Seward, Charles Summer, and John Greenleaf Whittier.
L. S. Alexander Gumby Collection of Negroiana. ca. 1800-1981. 161 v., 17 boxes. Finding Aid.
Alexander Gumby (1885-1961) was a book collector who ran a salon in Harlem known as The Gumby Book Studio because of the hundreds of books that lined the walls. The salon, on 5th Avenue between 131st and 132nd streets, attracted many theatrical and artistic luminaries. Gumby started his scrapbook collection in 1901 at the age of sixteen. After moving to New York Gumby began to seriously collect the materials which makes up his collection. In 1910 he started the process of gathering the material he had assembled into scrapbooks. In 1950 he presented his collection to the Columbia University Libraries.
Hall, Helen (1892- ). Henry Street Settlement papers, 1840-1961. ca. 100 items. Finding Aid.
Social worker. Reports and surveys made, issued, or initiated by the Henry Street Settlement, many of which were the work of Miss Hall, who succeeded Lillian Wald as headworker at the Settlement House (1933).
Harper & Row. Records, 1935-1973. 153ft. Finding Aid.
A major American publishing firm, founded in New York City in 1817 by James and John Harper.
Hayner, Lucy (1898-1971). Papers, 1922-1937. ca. 1500 items. Finding Aid.
Physicist. - Correspondence from other physicists, drafts, diagrams, and reprints, concerning Hayner's early work as a graduate student and teaching assistant (1920-1925) and as a professor (1929-1937), Columbia University, and research physicist, General Electric Company (1925-1928). Includes mss. and notes concerning her publications on the shot effect of electron emissions in vacuum tubes; together with mss. and notes of her husband, Bernhard Kurrelmeyer.
Hellman, Clarisse Doris (1910-1973). Papers, 1925-1973. 50 boxes. Finding Aid.
Professor of history at Queens College, New York City. Correspondence, notes, lectures, working papers, class notes, and printed material, relating to Hellman's career as an historian of 16th and 17th century astronomy, ancient, medieval, and Renaissance science, comets, and Tycho Brahe. Includes material relating to her teaching, research, and lectures at New York University, Cornell University, Columbia University Renaissance Seminar, and the History of Science Society. Correspondents include George Sarton, Lynn Thorndike, and other historians of science. Columbia PhD in Astronomy. 1933.
Hobson, Laura Zametkin, (1900-1986). Papers, 1930-1986. ca. 7,000 items. Finding Aid.
Laura Keane Zametkin Hobson, author and publicist, was an advertising copywriter, 1922-1930; a reporter for several New York papers, 1926-1927. She was married to Thayer Hobson, publisher and author, from 1930 to 1935; in 1932 she began to publish short stories and novelettes; between 1932 and 1935 she did advertising for the B. Altman store; Director of Promotion at Time, Inc., 1935-1940. In 1940 she began to write novels, with "The Trespassers" (1943). Her second novel, "Gentleman's Agreement" (1947), became a worldwide success, and she continued as a novelist the rest of her life. She wrote screenplays 1943-1944; was a newspaper columnist, 1953-1954; returned to Time-Life, 1955-1963; began to write magazine columns in 1955; and was an active member of the Writers War Board, Americans for Democratic Action, The Authors League, and other professional organizations. Correspondence, manuscripts, diaries, drafts, notes, documents, proofs, clippings, printed books, and other related materials. There are typescript drafts, proofs, related correspondence,, and printed copies of each of her books; typescript and tearsheets of her short stories, novelettes, and playscripts; correspondence with readers, agents, and publishers, and files for her promotional work at Time-Life, her newspapare and magazine columns, and her other interests; her daily appointment books; and her financial records. Among the cataloged correspondence are: Roger Nash Baldwin, Moss Hart, Hubert H. Humphrey, Ernest Jones, Clare Boothe and Henry Luce, Thomas Mann, Jo Mielziner, and Dorothy Thompson.
Hope, Constance, (1908-1977). Papers, 1931-1975. ca. 5,400 items. Finding Aid.
Public relations specialist, artists' representative. Constance Hope was married to Milton Lionel Berliner. Correspondence, contracts, photographs, and printed material of Constance Hope. The materials relate to her associations with the artists for whom she acted as an agent. Correspondents include Fannie Hurst, Lotte Lehmann, Erich Leinsdorf, Lily Pons, Bruno Walter, Grace Moore, Leopold Stokowski, and Leonard Bernstein.
Howard, Jane Temple. Papers, 1930-1984. 62ft. Finding Aid. 25 ft.
Journalist and author. Correspondence, writings, notes, drafts, printed material, and photos, relating to Howard's career. Includes articles on popular figures in current literature and the arts, written while on the staff of Life magazine, and research files and typescripts for her books, Please Touch (1970), A Different Woman (1973), and Families (1978). Correspondents include Paul Bowles, Agnes de Mille, Ken Kesey, and Hope Cooke Namgyal.
Jong, Erica. Papers 1955-2011. 94 ft. Finding Aid.
This collection contains the correspondence, writings, files, personal materials, printed and audio/visual material relating to Erica Jong's writing and personal life.
Kenworthy, Marion Edwena (1891-1980). Papers, 1915-1918. ca. 16,000 items. Finding Aid.
Professor of psychiatry, New York School of Social Work. - Correspondence, memos, mss. of writings, awards, printed material, and photos, concerning Kenworthy's academic career and her work as a consultant, especially as a member of National Civilian Advisory Committee, Women's Army Corps during World War II. Correspondents include Dwight D. Eisenhower, Herbert H. Lehman, Karl A. Menninger, and Eleanor Roosevelt.
Sarah Livingston Jay. 160 letters; 100 to her husband, John Jay. 1760-1829. In the Jay Family Papers 1770-1952. Finding Aid.
Jewett, Sarah Orne, (1849-1909). Letters, [ca. 1870]-1879. 120 items. Finding Aid.
Letters to Sarah Orne Jewett from William Dean Howells, Ellen Emerson, James R. Osgod, Horace Scudder, and Charles C. Hoyt, as well as those from members of her family and friends. The letters are chiefly personal though a few relate to the publication of some of her works. Also, 43 letters to Louise Droesel. Reader must use microfilm.
Joy, Eleanor, (1868-1936). Diaries, 1882-1891. 17 items. Finding Aid.
Eleanor Joy was the daughter of Charles Joy (1823-1891), Professor of Chemistry at Columbia University, 1857-1877. Eleven diaries which reveal a sensitive and perceptive young woman. With her family, she traveled extensively in England, the United States, and most countries of the Continent. Her diaries describe her reactions to foreign scenes and places, and contain numerous references to her father and to her visit to Columbia University early in 1889.
Kelley, Florence. In Kelley Family Papers, 1681-1936. Letters from Jane Addams. Finding Aid.
Fanny Kemble. Letters to Charles Sedgwick and his wife, also journals and a diary. 1848-1860. Finding Aid.
Kenton, Edna (1876-1954). Correspondence, 1903-1936. 146 items (1 box) Finding Aid.
Author. Letters to Kenton from outstanding literary figures such as Theodore Dreiser, Carl Van Vechten, Charles Hanson Towne, George Cram Cook, Henry L. Mencken, Richard Watson Gilder, Witter Bynner. The correspondence is partly personal, and part relates to the Provincetown Players, but chiefly the letters are from editors of various magazines including DELINEATOR and SMART SET, to which Kenton contributed stories.
Sophie Kerr (1880-1965). Manuscripts, 1916-1964. 32 boxes. Finding Aid.
Novelist, short story writer. Kerr was one of the most successful and prolific authors in the age of entertainment writing that preceded the television era. During a career that spanned six decades, she published 23 volumes and several hundred short stories and essays. The collection contains 273 drafts, manuscripts, and typescripts representing every genre in which Miss Kerr worked. It includes 12 book-length manuscripts, the earliest being LOVE AT LARGE, a novel published in 1916. Also, books from Sophie Kerr's library, some of which are inscribed to her and books written by Kerr. Overall use of collection is restricted.
Bernadine Kielty. Papers, 1923-1965. 3ft. Finding Aid.
Bernardine Kielty Scherman, 1890?-1973, American author and critic. Author of GIRL FROM FITCHBURG (New York, 1964) and editor of A TREASURY OF SHORT STORIES (New York, 1947). Kielty served as editor of the magazine STORY, columnist for the LADIES' HOME JOURNAL and BOOK-OF-THE-MONTH CLUB NEWS, and book reviewer for the SATURDAY REVIEW OF LITERATURE, THE NEW LEADER, and other periodicals. Correspondence, manuscripts, and books. Of special interest are the long and rich files of letters from Dorothy Canfield Fisher and W. Somerset Maugham, as well as letters from other contemporary authors, among them Bernard Berenson, Isak Dinesen, Rumer Godden, Franz Werfel, and Kathleen Winsor.
Korzybska, Mira Edgerly (1872-1954). 13 ft. Finding Aid.
Painter of portraits on ivory. She was a self-taught artist whose career as a successful and sought after portraitist took her from San Francisco to New York, London, Washington, Latin America, and Chicago. In 1919, she married Alfred Korzybski, 1879-1950 (q.v.), and worked with him to develop and promote his theories of General Semantics. Correspondence, manuscripts, notes, diaries, documents, photographs, audio tape recordings, printed materials, scrapbooks, and sketches and drafts of portraits. Her finished portraits on ivory are cataloged separately for the Art Collection (q.v.). The collection includes her correspondence with friends and clients; manuscripts of her articles, lectures, and many unpublished autobiographical drafts; pencil sketches, watercolor drafts, and photoprints of her portraits on ivory; photographs of her family amd travels; clippings and other printed materials; and three scrapbooks of clippings and memorabilia. There is cataloged correspondence from Arnold Genthe, S.I. Hayakawa, Karen Horney, Burges Johnson, Dwight Macdonald, and Alice B. Toklas.
Klachko, Mary. Papers,
Ladd-Franklin, Christina (1847-1930). Christine Ladd Franklin and Fabian Franklin papers, ca. 1900-1939. 7,000 items. Finding Aid
Christine Franklin who lectured at Columbia University from 1914 to 1927, was well-known for her method of reducing all syllogisms to a single formula, and for her contributions to knowledge relating to color vision. She was married to Fabian Franklin (1853-1939). The correspondence, papers, and documents relating to Franklins' work in the fields of psychology and logic. The papers are mainly those of Christine Ladd Franklin. Among the selected autographs are fourteen letters from Henry Holt to Fabian Franklin and four letters from Bertrand Russell to Christine Ladd Franklin.
Lawrence, Alice Montgomery (1865-1895) and Rita (Margarita) Woodhull Lawrence (1867-1939?). Papers, 1874-1935. 160 items. Finding Aid.
Alice and Rita Montgomery were well-known amateur actresses in New York City during the 1880s and 1890s. Rita Lawrence also wrote an autobiographical memoir, AMATEURS & ACTORS OF THE 19TH-20TH CENTURIES (AMERICAN, ENGLISH, ITALIAN), (Menton, Fr., 1936). Correspondence, programs, clippings, and other theatrical memorabilia relating the the careers of Alice and Rita Lawrence.
Lazarus, Emma (1849-1887). Correspondence, 1868-1929, 1868-1887 (bulk). 86 items. Finding Aid.
Poet, essayist. Correspondence of Emma Lazarus. While the letters are primarily of a personal nature, they also reflect both her literary career and, after the traumatic effect on her of the persecution of Russian Jews, 1879-1883, her role as American champion of Jews. There are original autograph letters from John Burroughs, Ralph W. Emerson, Henry James, William Morris, Tommaso Salvini, and Ivan Turgenev, and twenty other prominent figures. Also, one letter from Lazarus to William Wetmore Story and the letter of her sister, Annie Johnstone, presenting this collection to Columbia University.
League of Women Voters of the City of New York. Records, 1919-1979. ca.1500 items. Finding Aid.
Minutes; correspondence and records relating to the league's work on permanent registration; and 6 scrapbooks containing copies of the league's publications.
League of Women Voters of the State of New York. Records, 1912-1981.ca. 40 ft. Finding Aid.
Correspondence, minutes, reports, documents, scrapbooks, publications, memorabilia, and photos. Includes material relating to the league's activities in apportionment, court reform, education, and voting rights; Mailbooks, volumes of mimeographed reports and announcements sent to board members and branches; periodicals and publications of the league; and scrapbooks arranged chronologically. Correspondents include Thomas E. Dewey, Herbert H. Lehman, Nelson A. Rockefeller, Franklin D. Roosevelt, and Alfred E. Smith.
Lenroot, Katharine (1891-1982). Papers, 1919-1971. 13.4 ft. Finding Aid.
Social worker in the field of child care. Correspondence, memoranda, manuscripts, reports, and documents of Lenroot. The collection covers her career with the Children's Bureau of the U.S. Dept. of Labor, 1915-1951, as well as her years after retirement from the Bureau, especially regarding UNICEF and other social welfare organizations. Included among her files on various individuals are papers and correspondence of Grace Abbott and Josephine Brown.
Loveman, Amy. Correspondence, 1935-1943. 28 items. Finding Aid.
Loveman was co-founder of the SATURDAY REVIEW OF LITERATURE and staff member (Head of the Reading Department and member of the Board of Judges) of the Book-of-the-Month Club. Letters written to Loveman from Leonard Bacon, Charlotte Bassett, Herschel Brickell, Hermann Broch, Witter Bynner, Carl Carmer, George Catlin, Mary Ellen Chase, George Dangerfield, Marcia Davenport, Babette Deutch, John Gould Fletcher, Ellen Glasgow, George S. Hellman, Gilbert Highet, and M.A. De Wolfe Howe.
Archival Collections, M-Z
Marshall, Lenore (1897- ). Papers, 1887-1980. 23.5 ft. Finding Aid.
Lenore Guinzburg Marshall, 1897-1971 (Barnard College A.B. 1919), American author and peace and anti-nuclear activist. A member of the Poetry Society of America, Authors League of America, Women's International League for Peace and Freedom, Pen and Brush Club of N.Y.C.; she was on the executive board of the Post World War Council, 1943-1969, a director of the International Association of Poets, Playwrights, Editors, Essayists and Novelists (P.E.N.) after 1965, and co-founder with Clarence Pickett and Norman Cousins of the National Committee for a Sane Nuclear Policy (SANE). In 1917, she married James Marshall, 1896-1987, lawyer and educator (Columbia University LL.B. 1920). Correspondence, manuscripts, documents, memorabilia and printed materials. The correspondence deals with literary and political topics, from such people as Hayden Carruth, Irwin Edman, Lola Ridge and Norman Thomas; numerous manuscripts of Mrs. Marshall's writings, including the notes, drafts, manuscripts and proofs of her last novel THE HILL IS LEVEL and various manuscripts of the stories published in THE CONFRONTATION AND OTHER STORIES, and numerous manuscripts of poetry and short stories. Also included is material on the World War II draft of 19-year-olds, economic aid for Western Europe, the Vietnam War, the origin of SANE, the Committee for Nuclear Responsibility, the Amchitka Islands nuclear tests, the Task Force against Nuclear Pollution, and personal correspondence from her own and her husband's families.
Meloney, Marie Mattingly (1883-1943). Papers, 1891-1943. 40 boxes. Finding Aid.
Editor, writer. Meloney was editor of The Delineator, 1920-1926, the Sunday Magazine of the New York Herald Tribune, 1926-1943, and This Week Magazine, 1934-1943. Correspondence, manuscripts, documents, photographs, art works, memorabilia, and printed material of Meloney. The correspondence deals chiefly with the period with The Delineator, the Sunday Magazine, and This Week Magazine. The letters cover a wide field of interests and include correspondence from cabinet ministers, diplomats, jurists, authors, journalists, editors, educators, soldiers, and socialites. There are letters from Sherwood Anderson, Irving Bacheller, James M. Barrie, Max Beerbohm, Arnold Bennett, Gutzon Borglum, Willa Cather, Jo Davidson, Walter De la Mare, Alfred Douglas, Lord Dunsany, Robert Frost, John Galsworthy, Rudyard Kipling, D.H. Lawrence, Sinclair Lewis, Wyndham Lewis, Walter Lippmann, Somerset Maugham, A.A. Milne, Charles and Kathleen Norris, Alfred Noyes, Frances Perkins, Edwin Arlington Robinson, Bertrand Russell, Eleanor Roosevelt, Carlo Sforza, Booth Tarkington, Ernst Toller, H.M. Tomlinson, and H.G. Wells. In addition to Mrs. Meloney's manuscripts of her own writings, the collection contains manuscripts of Louis Bromfield, G.K. Chesterton, Walter De la Mare, John Drinkwater, Havelock Ellis, Richard Le Gallienne, Mrs. Belloc Lowndes, and Leo Tolstoy.
Meade, Marion (1934- ). Papers on Dorothy Parker, 1859-1988. 7 ft. Finding Aid.
Correspondence, manuscripts, notes, notebooks, illustrations, photographs, audio cassettes, and printed materials. The correspondence consists of letters from colleagues and acquaintances of Dorothy Parker, American author, essayist, and poet, and letters with Meade's publisher. Among the cataloged correspondents are Saul Bellow, Malcolm Cowley, E.B. White, and Richard Wilbur. The manuscripts consist of two drafts of Meade's book, accompanied by hard bound and paperback versions of the book. The subject files are arranged in two series: chronological, following her draft outline for the book; and topical, in alphabetical order. These research files contain photocopies of correspondence and writings of Dorothy Parker, a Parker bibliography, and related literary and biographical clippings and articles. The notebooks consist of a research draft event outline for the book. The illustrations are primarily mock-ups for the book and drawings not used in the book. Photographs consist of both those used in the book and those not included. The 56 audio cassettes are of Meade's interviews with people who knew Dorothy Parker, along with selective transcripts and a related log.
Mespoulet, Marguerite (1880-1965). Papers, 1925-1964. ca 13,000 items. Finding Aid.
Professor of French at Barnard College. Correspondence, notes, lectures, and clippings relating to Miss Mespoulet's work and writings on French literature of the 19th and 20th centuries, with special emphasis on Charles Baudelaire, Paul Claudel, and Max Jacob. Includes 11 letters and a MS., Partage de midi, of Paul Claudel, 6 letters and 7 MSS. of Max Jacob, and 7 letters of Pierre Reverdy.
Meyer, Annie Nathan (1867-1951). Papers, 1890-1950. 2ft.
Writer, publicist, anti-suffragist. Meyer was a founder of Barnard College, and trustee, 1893-1942. She wrote novels, an autobiography, non-fiction books, articles, short stories, and plays.
Manuscripts and typescripts of Meyer's plays, her books BARNARD BEGINNINGS and THE GALLERY-GOER'S BOOK, essays, and other writings, 1920s-1940s; playbills from performances of her plays, clippings of reviews of her books and plays, book jackets, and other literary ephemera; correspondence, 1910s-1940s, with editors, theaters, and others relating to her plays and other literary work, including correspondence with Mary Beard; correspondence with family members, 1920s-1940s, including several folders of letters from her first cousin Supreme Court Justice Benjamin Cardozo, 1920s-1930s, on personal matters; miscellaneous and unidentified letters; clippings of her magazine articles, 1890s-1930s; copies of her books; and correspondence concerning her involvement with Barnard, 1890s-1940s. Barnard correspondents include Dr. Cornelius Agnew, Rev. Arthur Brooks, Helen Erskine, Pierre Jay, Jacob H. Schiff, Ella Weed, and Barnard Deans Emily James Smith Putnam, Virginia Gildersleeve, and Millicent McIntosh.
Millay, Edna St. Vincent (1892-1950). Papers, 1928-1941. c.500 items. Finding Aid.
American poet.
Letters written by Millay as well as manuscripts, proofs, documents, photographs, reviews and clippings relating to her books published at Harper & Brothers such as "Conversation at Midnight," "Wine from these Grapes," "Collected Sonnets" and others. The papers consist of materials from the files of the designer Arthur W. Rushmore who was in charge of production at Harper & Brothers and was the proprietor of the Golden Hind Press which printed limited editions of several of her works. Included are proofs of the above works with annotations and corrections by Millay and Rushmore and a carbon typescript of "Wine from these Grapes." There are also a number of clippings of poems published separately in periodicals. Other correspondents include Millay's husband, Eugen Bossevain, and George Dillon, with whom Millay translated Baudelaire's "Flowers of Evil" and Selected Poems." Also in the collection are the production files for the aborted steepletop edition of "The Buck in the Snow."
Mitchell, Lucy Sprague (1878-1967). Papers, 1878-1967. 33 boxes. Finding Aid.
Educator, author. Mitchell was a prominent advocate of experimental education, founder of the Bank Street College of Education, and author of numerous books for children. Mitchell's corrected manuscripts and correspondence and notes pertaining to them. Personal correspondence, including some with her husband, Wesley Clair Mitchell, forms only a small part of the collection. Also, notes and letters related to various projects in which she was involved and two boxes of photographs and drawings.
Moore, Charity Clarke (d. 1838). Charity Clarke Moore and Clement Clarke Moore papers, 1767-1863. 45 items (2 v.). Finding Aid.
Charity Moore Clarke was the wife of Bishop Benjamin Moore (1748-1816), President of Columbia College from 1801 to 1811. Their son was Clement Clarke Moore (1779-1863), who was the author of A COMPENDIOUS LEXICON OF THE HEBREW LANGUAGE and 'TWAS THE NIGHT BEFORE CHRISTMAS. Letters written by Charity Clarke Moore and one letter and a diary written by her son Clement Clarke Moore. Charity Moore's letters range in date from 1767 to 1834 and were written to her sister, Lady Mary Clarke Vassal Affleck and other members of her family and friends. They are personal in nature dealing with family affairs and day to day events. Of the same character is Clement Moore's letter which was written to his cousin, Lady Mary Elizabeth Fox Powys Lilford in November 1840. The diary contains brief entries from 20 November 1856 to 8 July 1863, two days before his death. It is mainly a record of the weather, the temperature, and his benefactions. The letters are all mounted on the blank leaves of one volume and the diary occupies a second volume.
Norman, Dorothy. Journalist and activist. Papers, 1923-1978. 60ft. Finding Aid.
Journalist. Correspondence, much of which pertains to Mrs. Norman's column in the New York post (1940s); reports, pamphlets, and clippings on a wide range of social and political topics: health, population control, civil liberties, refugees, exiled governments and peoples of World War II, education, delinquency, race relations, emerging nationalities, censorship, and foreign aid. Organizations represented include the American Citizens Committee for Economic Aid Abroad, American Emergency Food Committee for India, Americans for Democratic Action, Citizens Union, Civil Liberties Union, Free China Movement, Free Germany Movement, Liberal Party, United Nations, United World Federalists, Urban League, and the Women's City Club.
Bertha Van Riper Overbury collection on American women. 1777-1957. ca. 1000 items.
Correspondence, writings, and other papers, of prominent American women authors, feminists, political figures, and social workers, chiefly from the 19th century. Persons represented include Abigail Adams, Louisa May Alcott, Gertrude Atherton, Mary Austin, Pearl Buck, Frances Hodgson Burnett, Lydia M. Child, Margaret Deland, Emily Dickinson, Zona Gale, Louise I. Guiney, Sarah Orne Jewett, Edna St. Vincent Millay, Marianne Moore, Agnes Peterkin, Julia Peterkin, Muriel Rukeyser, Catherine M. Sedgwick, Gertrude Stein, Harriet Beecher Stowe, Sara Teasdale, Edith Wharton, Ella Wheeler Wilcox, Frances Willard, and Elinor Wylie.
Frances Perkins at work for the Factory Investigation Commission, circa 1911.
Frances Perkins Papers, Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Columbia University
Perkins, Frances (1882-1965). Papers, 1895-1965. 71ft. Finding Aid.
Government official for New York State and the federal government, including Industrial Commissioner of the State of New York, 1929-1932, and United States Secretary of Labor, 1933-1945. She was actually born in 1880. Correspondence, manuscripts, notes, drafts of speeches, appointment books, subject files, documents, photographs, memorabilia and printed materials. There are notes from her lectures on Sociology at Adelphi College in 1911-1912; papers from 1912-1932, when Perkins served on the Commission for Safety and on the Industrial Commission of New York State; the main body of the material is from the period of her cabinet office, 1933-1945; and some items from her days on the Civil Service Commission, 1946-1953. Also included are personal and family papers. Major correspondents in this collection are: Grace Abbott; Arthur J. Altmeyer; Robert T. Amis; Clara M. Beyer; Maty W. Dewson; James A. Farley; Felix Frankfurter; Warner W. Gardner; Carter Goodrich; William Green; Sidney Hillman; Albert Ford Hinrichs; Cordell Hull; Harold Ickes; Hugh S. Johnson; Paul Kellogg; Mary LaDame; Herbert H. Lehman; Katharine F. Lenroot; John L. Lewis; Isador Lubin; Daniel W. McCormack; Frank W. Persons; Gerard D. Reilly; Eleanor Roosevelt; Franklin Delano Roosevelt; John R. Steelman; Lillian Wald; Henry A. Wallace; L. Metcalf Walling; Leo Wolman; and Mary E. Woolley.
Person, Ethel Spector (1934-2012). Papers, 1932-2009, bulk 1965-2005. 16 ft. Finding Aid.
Psychiatrist and psychoanalyst. Ethel Spector Person was born in Louisville, KY on Dec. 16, 1934 to Louis Spector and the former Anna Zimmerman. She earned a bachelor's degree from the University of Chicago in 1956, and her medical degree from the New York University College of Medicine in 1960. Best known for her pioneering research on psychosexual roots of transsexuality, transvestism and fantasy, she was also the author of four books: By Force of Fantasy: How We Make Our Lives (1995), The Sexual Century (1999), Feeling Strong: The Achievement of Authentic Power (2002) and Dreams of Love and Fateful Encounters: The Power of Romantic Passion (2006). Person was also the Director of the Columbia University Center for Psychoanalytic Training and Research, 1981-1991, the first woman to hold the position.
Polier, Justine Wise (1903-1987). Legal research files, 1970-1976. 5ft. Finding Aid.
Justice in the Domestic Relations Court of New York City, 1934-1962, Judge of the New York State Family Court, 1962-1973. Polier was affiliated with the Children's Defense Fund and the Field Foundation (Barnard A.B., 1924). Legal briefs, opinions, depositions, notes, memoranda, correspondence, and miscellaneous printed material of Polier. The materials are primarily photocopies of court documents which Polier assembled in the course of monitoring legal precedents for the Children's Defense Fund and the Field Foundation. Among the topics covered in the files are abortion, discrimination, education, foster care, juvenile justice, mental health, and parental rights.
Quimby, Shirley Leon (1893-1986). Papers, 1918-1974. 6500 items (21 boxes). Finding Aid.
Physicist (Columbia Ph.D., 1925), Columbia faculty member, 1919-1962, fellow of the American Physical Society and treasurer of that organization from 1957 to 1970. His research topics included ferromagnetism, solid state physics, magnetism, and elasticity and internal friction solids. Correspondence, manuscripts of works by Quimby and others, notes on lectures, teaching materials, photographs of physicists, some instrument catalogs and other printed materials. Much of the material documents grant funded research directed by Quimby on Cu3Au. In his later years Quimby did research on the Mayan Calendar.
Random House. Records, 1925-1999. 702 ft. Finding Aid.
Pearl S. Buck letters are on microfilm. William Carlos Williams cataloged letters and manuscripts; Karen Blixen's cataloged and uncataloged correspondence; Irwin Shaw's cataloged correspondence and manuscripts; William Saroyan's cataloged correspondence; John Dixon Carr's letters; W.H. Auden's letters; William Goyen's letters; and John O'Hara's letters are on microfilm. The collection consists of the editorial and production archives of Random House, Inc. from its founding in 1925 to the present time. The correspondence and editorial files include many of the most important novelists and short story writers in American and European literature: Saul Bellow; Erskine Caldwell; Truman Capote; William Faulkner; Sinclair Lewis; Andri Malraux; Gertrude Stein and Thornton Wilder. Among the contemporary poets there are files for W. H. Auden; Allen Ginsberg; Robinson Jeffers; Robert Lowell; and Stephen Spender. In the area of theater there are files for Maxwell Anderson; Moss Hart; Lillian Hellman; Eugene O'Neill; and Tennessee Williams. Random House transacted business with many fine presses and noted typographers and the archives contain files for Nonesuch Press, Grabhorn Press and Golden Cockerel Press, as wll as for Bruce Rogers, Valenti Angelo, and Edwin, Jane, and Robert Grabhorn. The most important book published by Random House was James Joyce's ULYSSES. Because of its alleged obscenity, it was only legally admitted into the United States after a long battle by Random House in the courts ending in 1934. The Random House Archives contain letters and documents relating to this famous case.
Randall, Mercedes. In the John Herman Randall Papers, 1911-1977. Finding Aid.
Writer, pacifist, wife of Columbia professor of Philosophy John Herman Randall. Her papers, which form a part of his, include personal correspondence and material relating to her work with Women's International League for Peace and Freedom and her book, Improper Bostonian: Emily Greene Balch (1946).
Rapoport, Eda Rothstein (1890-1968). Papers, 1915-1968. Finding Aid.
Composer. Holographs and/or manuscripts, master copies, photocopies (in come cases all of these), scores, and parts of scores for almost the entire body of work of Rapoport. Also, diaries of her musical life, 1932-1948, kept by her husband, Boris Rapoport.
Richmond, Mary Ellen (1861-1928). Papers, 1821-1928. 83 boxes. Finding Aid.
Pioneer social worker, author, educator. Miss Richmond was the author of SOCIAL DIAGNOSIS, MARRIAGE AND THE STATE, FRIENDLY VISITING AMONG THE POOR, and CHILD MARRIAGES. Correspondence, manuscripts, and records relating to the career of Mary E. Richmond. The papers cover Miss Richmond's social work career in Baltimore, Philadelphia, and New York where whe served as Director of the Charity Organization Dept. of the Russell Sage Foundation. Her efforts were directed toward the reorganization and introduction of new methods, including the case method. Also contains childhood memorabilia and an 1821 genealogy.
Riding, Laura (1901- ). Letters, 1931-1977. 27 items. Finding Aid.
American author. She was married to Schuyler G. Jackson and sometimes published as Laura (Riding) Jackson. She worked with Robert Graves as a partner on the Seizin Press, London. Autographed and typed letters from Riding to newspaper and magazine editors, primarily concerning published material by and about her. Throughout the collection there are references to Robert Graves. There is also a group of letters to Anthony Dickins, English poet and editor of the LONDON MAGAZINE.
Rosenman, Dorothy (1900-). Papers, 1936-1946. 1 box. Finding Aid.
Housing Advocate. Mrs. Rosenman served on Mayor Fiorello LaGuardia's Committee on Housing Legislation, was chairman and organizer of the National Committee on Housing Inc., was chairman of the committee working for legislation to create a New York State Division of Housing, and was chairman of the Housing Committee of the United Neighborhood Houses of New York, working for better housing conditions on the Lower East Side. Correspondence, documents, and printed material relating to Rosenman's activities as a housing analyst. Correspondents include Fiorello La Guardia, Eleanor Roosevelt, Bernard Baruch, and Herbert Lehman. Also, printed copies of Rosenman's many articles on housing.
Salisbury, Leah (1893-1975). Papers, 1925-1975. 149 ft. Finding Aid.
Literary and theatrical agent. Papers of Leah Goldstein Javne Salisbury, consisting of correspondence, contracts, scripts, and financial records. Among the correspondents are Christopher Fry, William Gibson, Eughne Ionesco, Dorothy Parker, S.J. Perelman, and Stark Young.
Society for the Prevention of Crime. Records, 1878-1973. 66 boxes. Finding Aid.
The Society for the Prevention of Crime was founded in 1877 in New York City. It has worked, successively, for the promotion of temperance, for judicial and legislative reform, and for public and legal education. During its most active periods, the Society brought about the formation of of the Lexow Committee to investigate the New York City Police in 1894, contributed to the Albany Crime Commission during the 1930s, and broadcast popular radio programs on criminal behavior, 1946-1948. In 1948 the Society absorbed the Vocational Foundation Bureau, a job placement agency for parolees. Since 1956, the Society's only activity has been its annual grant to Columbia Law School for research in penology. Papers of the Society, including correspondence among the officers and directors of the Society, memoranda, reports, legal papers, minutes, financial records, radio scripts, clippings, scrapbooks, comic books, and a subject file of pamphlets and clippings on all aspects of crime prevention. Also, an extensive history of the Society.
Spewack, Bella and Samuel.
Authors of plays and broadway musicals. Papers, 1920-1980. 72 ft. Finding Aid.
Florine Stettheimer, Portrait of Myself, 1923. Columbia Digital Library Collections.
Stettheimer, Florine (1871-1944) and Ettie (1875-1955). Florine and Ettie Stettheimer Papers, 1898-1974. 4 ft. Finding Aid.
Florine Stettheimer, artist, studied in Europe and presided over a salon in New York City from 1915 until her death. She had a one person exhibition in 1916 and designed the sets and costumes for the Gertrude Stein and Virgil Thomson opera Four Saints in Three Acts. Henrietta Walter Stettheimer, author, graduated from Barnard College and received a Ph.D. in philosophy from the University of Freiburg. She published two novels, Philosophy (1917) and Love Days (1923), using the pseudonym Henrie Waste and after the death of her sister devoted herself to enhancing Florine's artistic reputation. The papers contain correspondence, diaries, writings, materials related to the production of Four Saints in Three Acts and the paintings of Florine Stettheimer, and miscellaneous papers.
Stopes, Marie Carmichael (1880-1958). Letters, 1916-1958. Finding Aid.
Pioneer in birth control and sex education, poet. Letters of Stopes written to the novelist Mollie Stanley-Wrench and to her daughter Margaret Stanley-Wrench, a poet and dramatist. They discuss her medical and literary work and the writings of the Stanley-Wrenches.
Strassman, Toni. Papers, 1937-1984. 30 ft. Finding Aid.
Authors' representative. Correspondence, memoranda, contracts, royalty statements, manuscripts, diaries, daybooks, photographs, and printed material of Strassman. The correspondence is with authors and book and magazine publishers, covering nearly forty years of Miss Strassman's career as a literary agent. Of particular interest are the files concerning the works of William Goyen, Harry Mark Petrakis, and Friderike Zweig, the first wife of Stefan Zweig.
Thomas, Rosemary (1901-1961). Papers, 1930-1966. Finding Aid.
Poet. Columbia University M.A., 1951. Thomas's correspondence with critics and magazine editors concerning her work; and the correspondence of her literary executors with Mark Van Doren about the publication of a posthumous volume of her poetry. Manuscripts and typescripts of her poems; the typescript of the posthumous edition of her poetry, poems rejected by the editors of this book, and their notes; and her prose manuscripts, including her M.A. thesis on the literary and psychological sources of Lawrence Durrell's "The Sonnet of Hamlet;" and the typescript of her anthology of poetry for use in secondary schools.
Trilling, Diana (1921-1996). Papers, 1921-1996. 29.75 ft. Finding Aid.
This collection holds the papers of author, literary critic, and cultural commentator, Diana Trilling. Along with her husband, Lionel, Diana Trilling was a force on the New York intellectual scene from the 1930s until the 1970s. The records that comprise this collection document her professional life as well as her marriage with Lionel Trilling and the ways in which she balanced the two.
Vaile, Gertrude (1878-1954). Papers, 1892-1954. 4 boxes. Finding Aid.
Social worker, teacher. The collection covers Miss Vaile's career from her days as a social worker in Chicago and Denver through her teaching positions at the Universities of North Carolina and Minnesota. Included in the collection are teaching outlines, correspondence, printed material, and some typescripts of Miss Vaile's writings.
WW. Norton & Company. Records, 1923-1967. 453 boxes. Finding Aid.
The collection contains the files of W.W. Norton & Co. from its founding through 1945. There are thirteen boxes of correspondence from the firm's authors including Bertrand Russell, Henry Handel Richardson, John Dewey, Ortega y Gasset, I.A. Richards, and many others. The remaining boxes contain files on these authors. There is one box of catalogs and a short mimeographed history of the firm. Also, several miscellaneous files including early editorial correspondence.
Wald, Lillian (1867-1940). Papers, 1895-1936. 97 boxes. Finding Aid.
Director of Henry Street Settlement in New York City. Miss Wald retired from active directorship in 1932. Papers concerning both the administration of the Henry Street Settlement and Wald's involvement in numerous philanthropic and liberal causes. Her office files trace the foundation and growth of the Henry Street Settlement from 1895 until 1933. Her other activities include child welfare, civil liberties, immigration, public health, unemployment, and the peace movement during World War I. The correspondence files contain letters from public figures and writers including Jane Addams, Roger N. Baldwin, Van Wyck Brooks, Lavinia L. Dock, John Galsworthy, Samuel Gompers, William D. Howells, Charles Evans Hughes, Mabel Hyde Kittredge, Frances Perkins, Dorothy Thompson, Norman Thomas, Ida Tarbell, Margaret Sanger, and Jacob A. Riis.
Williams, Annie Laurie (1894-1977). Records, 1922-1971. 91 ft.
New York drama and motion picture agent who founded her firm in 1929. Correspondence files and financial papers. The files include correspondence, contracts, clippings and programs, ledgers and financial accounts, submission books, and calendars and memorandum books. Authors for whom there are extensive files include the following: Truman Capote; Patrick Dennis; John Dos Passos; Lloyd C. Douglas; John Hersey; Alice Tisdale Hobart; Paul Horgan; William Humphrey; Frances Parkinson Keyes; Margaret Mitchell; Alan Paton; Kenneth Roberts; Lillian Smith; John Steinbeck; George R. Stewart; Ben Ames Williams; and Kathleen Winsor. 1985 addition: Steinbeck's jeans and Mexican belt worn by Bruce Covert in the 1939 production of OF MICE AND MEN. Gift of Annie Laurie Williams, 1971-1974. Gift of Bruce Covert, 1985. Readers must use microfilm of materials specified above. Permission to publish materials must be obtained in writing from the Librarian for Rare Books and Manuscripts. List of phonograph records received with the collection, 1p. Crystal, Bernard. "John Steinbeck Letters and Manuscripts in the Columbia University Libraries," The John Steinbeck Newsletter, Winter 1993, pp. 14-17.
Wilbur, Robert L. (Collector). Papers, 1966-1987. 3ft. Finding Aid.
Flyers, posters, and occasional periodical issues of various protest, political, and social action groups in New York City. The emphasis is anti-war, gay liberation and New York City political campaigns.
Winter, Ella (1898-1980). Economist and journalist. Papers, 1913-1978. 31 boxes. Finding Aid.
Ella Winter, whose full name was Leonore Sophie Winter Steffens Stewart, was an economist by training and journalist by profession. She was married to Lincoln Steffens, and after his death, to screenwriter and playwright Donald Ogden Stewart. Correspondence, manuscripts, documents, notes, photographs, and printed material of Winter. The papers cover primarily the years after 1952 when she and Stewart settled in England to avoid involvement in the House Un-American Activities Committee investigations. Winter traveled widely in Russia, visited China in 1958, and spent nine months in Ghana in 1965. Her journeys are well documented in this collection. Among the manuscripts are drafts for many of her periodical articles, typescripts of her autobiography AND NOT TO YIELD, and articles written about her travels. Also, files on art, the labor movement in California, Robinson Jeffers, the McCarthy era, Lincoln Steffens, and Vietnam. There are numerous photographs taken on her trips abroad, including her work with the Friends of Austria, 1920, of many theatrical productions, and of her family and home. Because of her eclectic interests she was acquainted with many prominent individuals in politics, literature, theatre, and the arts. Among the major correspondents are Edward Albee, Charles and Oona Chaplin, W.E.B. Du Bois, Katharine Hepburn, Carey McWilliams, Kwame Nkrumah, Sean O'Casey, and Muriel Rukeyser.
Woman Suffrage Association of New York State. Records, 1869-1919. 3 ft. Finding aid
Minutes of the Woman Suffrage Association of New York State (1869-1917) and the Woman Suffrage Party of New York City (1910-19), constitutions, membership lists, printed matter, and other miscellaneous material
Woman's Press Club of New York City. Records, 1889-1980. 22 boxes. Finding Aid.
Founded 1889 by Jane Cunningham Croly; disbanded 1980. Correspondence, minutes, reports, financial records, lists, press books, scrapbooks, and printed material, concerning the club's lectures, journalism scholarships, literary and social activities, and civic projects
Women in Scholarly Publishing. Records, 1979-1997. 5 ft. Finding Aid.
A group founded in 1979 as a non-profit national organization for the encouragement and advancement of its members, to facilitate the mutual exchange of ideas and assistance, and to act for its members in matters that affect their welfare. Correspondence, minutes, reports, documents, financial records, surveys, publicity files, and printed materials. The correspondence consists of general files, information, and correspondence about surveys on career patterns of women in publishing. The documents include incorporation papers and related information, membership lists, data on local chapters, reports of the board, minutes of annual meetings, and the elections of officers. The printed materials are chiefly issues of the NEWSLETTER.
Women's National Book Association. Records, 1917-2013. 51 ft. Finding Aid.
Correspondence, memoranda, publications, and financial records of an organization founded as a women's book trade association, later expanded to promote reading programs, and to recognize women in literature. Includes material on chapter activities and on the Amy Loveman Award and the Constance L. Skinner Award Dinner. Correspondents include Catherine Drinker Bowen, Mary Ellen Chase, Marchette Chute, Abraham Ribicoff, Irita Van Doren, Beatrice Ward, and Edward Weeks.
Young, Agatha (Brooks) (1898-1974). Manuscripts, 1960-1965. 5 boxes. Finding Aid.
Author. Miscellaneous correspondence relating to Mrs. Young's writing; MSS., notes, and galleys of The town and Dr. Moore (1966) and The women and the crisis: women of the North in the Civil War (1959).