There are librarians for just about every discipline here at Columbia. Feel free to reach out with any research need!
The Columbia University Libraries offer a wide range of research, instruction, and borrowing services to support all levels of academic research. This guide has been edited to promote access to online resources while our physical volumes and manuscript collections are inaccessible, March 2020-. Please do not hesitate to contact me for further assistance (email@example.com).
Gale Women's Studies Archive, pt 4, Female Forerunners Worldwide
Includes collections focusing on advertising and advertising to minorities; birth control and sex education; the Civil Rights movement; healthcare
and women in medicine especially nursing; religion and women's missionary work; migration; minority groups esp. African American and Jewish
women; women in politics; prison reform particularly female criminals and women's philanthropic organisations to improve women's prisons; psychic
investigations and the paranormal and women's rights and fight for suffrage. This installment largely focuses on the US, Britain, and Australia but
regional coverage also extends to New Zealand, South Africa, Nigeria, Zambia, Philippines, Jamaica, Germany, India, Norway, Canada and China.
Includes the National Association of Colored Graduate Nurses Records 1908-1951; Earl Conrad/Harriet Tubman Collection; Gwendolyn Bennett Papers,
1916-1981; The Eusebia Cosme Papers, The Papers of Mary McLeod Bethune, 1903-1962; and the Fredi Washington Papers, 1925-1979.
It also includes a number of British collections including Suffragette papers and prison records.
Digital Transgender Archive
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized
historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Worcester, Massachusetts at the
College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than twenty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, and private collections
Sex & Sexuality
Collections from the Kinsey Institute for Research in Sex, Gender, and Reproduction, including the correspondence, research papers and records spanning
the careers of the first three directors: Dr Alfred C. Kinsey (1947-1956), Dr Paul H. Gebhard (1956-1982) and Dr June Reinisch (1982-1993).
This collection compliments another collection: Sex Research: Early Literature from Statistics to Erotica from the Kinsey Institute.
LGBT Magazine Archive
A searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests, dating from the 1950s through to recent years. Issues are scanned cover to cover. Includes The Advocate (Los Angeles, 1972-2008), AIDS Weekly (1988-2015), Albatross (East Orange 1974-78), Arcadie (Paris, 1954), Erie Gay News (1993-2015), Rainbow Wedding Network (2006-2012), Transgender Tapestry (1983-2005), and a collection of British publications: AXM, Broadsheet, Diva, CHE, Gay News, Gay Scotland, Gay Times, Lunch, Man and Society, Out, and the Pink Paper.