Water Research Guide: Databases & Indexes by Subject

Covers agricultural subjects, such as agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm mangagement, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, social sciences, veterinary medicine, and water resources.

"The Agricultural & Environmental Science Database is a cross-disciplinary resource of full-text content along with expert indexing of global literature across these fields and related disciplines. Students, researchers, teachers, and professionals benefit from the precision and comprehensive discovery the database provides through peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, magazines, and grey literature as well as working papers, conference papers and proceedings. The database provides a unique solution for agricultural research and allied disciplines including: agricultural economics; animal and veterinary sciences; aquaculture and fisheries; farming and farming systems; food and human nutrition; forestry; and plant sciences. Users can expect full-text articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from AGRICOLA."--Publisher overview.

The ASFA series is the premier reference in the field of aquatic resources. Input to ASFA is provided by a growing international network of information centers monitoring serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature. ASFA is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System (ASFIS), formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and a network of international and national partners. Inclusive coverage from 1971-present.

Bibliography includes references to scientific and engineering research related to material and operations in a winter battlefield, the nature and impact of cold on facilities and activities, cold-related environmental problems, and the impact of human activity on cold environments.

Indexes articles from periodicals in the life sciences and agriculture, including topics such as animal husbandry, botany, cytology, ecology, entomology, environmental science, fishery sciences, food science, forestry, genetics, horticulture, microbiology, plant pathology, soil science, veterinary medicine, and zoology.

Indexes references and selected abstracts to the world's literature in geology, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, theses, and references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Areas covered include North America since 1669 and other areas since 1933.

Serves as a comprehensive resource for research and communications in the geological and earth sciences. It is built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and is inter-operable with GeoRef.

An index to the worldwide technical literature pertaining to marine and brackish water environments. A leading source of information on topics relating to oceans. The database focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. This database is totally comprehensive in its coverage of living and non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.

"[A resource] for researchers studying conservation, aquatic pollution, environmental quality, oceanography, policy and legislation, and more. It features the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts database, hundreds of full-text ProQuest Aquatic Science journals, and deep indexing."--Publisher information.

This collection includes the Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts database, full-text ProQuest Atmospheric Science Journals, and deep indexing to uncover hidden data. Subjects covered are air pollution, climatology, glaciology, weather forecasting, and more.

Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.

Comprehensive multidiscipline resource providing access to reference works on drinking water, ground water, hydrogeology, hydrology, storm water, surface water, waste water, water pollution and wetlands. Also includes the current edition of Water encyclopedia.

Provides citations and abstracts to the technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications. The database covers publications worldwide, from 1967-present.

Includes several chemical dictionaries, and the CRC handbook of chemistry & physics.

"Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO is also widely-recognized source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video."--About screen.

CQ Homeland Security is a one-stop, Web-based intelligence service that brings subscribers the most up-to-date and comprehensive homeland security information. A dedicated team of CQ reporters and editors provide real-time daily news and analysis on the latest homeland security spending and policy issues. CQ Homeland Security also incorporates CQ's expertise in legislative tracking, allowing subscribers to follow the hottest homeland security legislation, review quick, informative status reports on all homeland bills and read custom CQ bill analyses. All of this proprietary content, in addition to bill language, committee reports, transcripts, testimony, the Federal Register and important reference documents, is linked through a single user-friendly tracking tool. In addition, subscribers can focus on their area of interest by tracking news, legislation and related documents by topic, such as border security, technology, local response, infrastructure and transportation. A searchable database of people gives subscribers extensive biographical information on key homeland agency and Hill players. Subscribers also can access a special homeland security version of CQ schedules, complete with event dates, times and hearing room locations.

Searchable database of documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide. The collection takes a case study approach, providing primary and secondary materials for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than 30 additional subjects. This database provides access to books, primary documents, audio, maps, images, and video and spans 1900-2010.

International Political Science Abstracts (IPSA), produced by the International Political Science Association, includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science. This database covers over 1,000 journals published from 1951 to the present.

Indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories in the area of public affairs. Topics include business, government, international relations, banking, environment, health, social sciences, demographics, law and legislation, political science, public administration, finance, agriculture, education, and statistics.

Public Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Public Administration Review, Public Administration Quarterly, and International Journal of Public Administration.

Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.

Social sciences full text covers concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. More than 350 key international, English-language periodicals. Indexing of periodicals provided from 1983-current, full text coverage starting 1995.

Created by The Beacham Group, LLC, Terrorism Research & Analysis Consortium (TRAC) is a resource for the study of political violence of all kinds.

"Water Intelligence Online is an online information service for librarians and individuals providing access to a wealth of reference books, research reports, research papers and conference proceedings covering water, wastewater and related environmental topics."

Comprehensive multidiscipline resource providing access to reference works on drinking water, ground water, hydrogeology, hydrology, storm water, surface water, waste water, water pollution and wetlands. Also includes the current edition of Water encyclopedia.

Provides citations and abstracts to the technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications. The database covers publications worldwide, from 1967-present.

"Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more."Provides access to records from the top journals, conference proceedings, and books in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research most relevant to the area of interest. Using linked cited references, subject connections between articles that are established by the expert researchers can be explored.

The database provides access to citations and abstracts of journal articles appearing political science journals. Years of Coverage: 1975 to the present.

Bibliography includes references to scientific and engineering research related to material and operations in a winter battlefield, the nature and impact of cold on facilities and activities, cold-related environmental problems, and the impact of human activity on cold environments.

Indexes references and selected abstracts to the world's literature in geology, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, theses, and references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Areas covered include North America since 1669 and other areas since 1933.

Serves as a comprehensive resource for research and communications in the geological and earth sciences. It is built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and is inter-operable with GeoRef.

NOAA's National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) is responsible for preserving, monitoring, assessing, and providing public access to the Nation's treasure of climate and historical weather data and information.

This collection includes the Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts database, full-text ProQuest Atmospheric Science Journals, and deep indexing to uncover hidden data. Subjects covered are air pollution, climatology, glaciology, weather forecasting, and more.

Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.

"Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more."Provides access to records from the top journals, conference proceedings, and books in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research most relevant to the area of interest. Using linked cited references, subject connections between articles that are established by the expert researchers can be explored.

This is the combined search-and-retrieval website for AAPG publications and related collections. Includes full-text and abstracts.

Covers agricultural subjects, such as agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm mangagement, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, social sciences, veterinary medicine, and water resources.

Earthquake Engineering Abstracts provides coverage of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation. EEA currently comprises full citations and abstracts from 1971 forward, plus several hundred earlier classic papers and reports. EEA includes indexes and abstracts of many major journals that publish significant earthquake engineering research; meeting abstracts -- proceedings of conferences and major meetings in earthquake engineering research, and research report's abstracts -- abstracts of research monographs and technical reports including Earthquake Engineering Research Center Reports and Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research Center Reports. Sources covered include periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases.

Indexes references and selected abstracts to the world's literature in geology, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, theses, and references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Areas covered include North America since 1669 and other areas since 1933.

Serves as a comprehensive resource for research and communications in the geological and earth sciences. It is built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and is inter-operable with GeoRef.

"The Lyell Collection is an online collection comprising of the Society's journal titles, Special Publications and key book series."--About.

Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.

The Treatise on Geophysics on a comprehensive summary of the present state of geophysics. It deals with all major parts of Solid-Earth Geophysics, including a volume on the terrestrial planets and moons in our solar system.

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Articles are included from key publications such as American Architect, Baumeister, Byggekunst, Domus, and El Croquis, as well as architectural articles from art and planning journals such as American Art Journal, Burlington Magazine, Environment and Planning A, Metropolitan Museum Journal, and Revue de l'Art.

Database to help building-industry professionals design and build construction projects that minimizes ecological impact and maximizes economic performance. Includes access to Environmental building news articles, lists for GreenSpec products and specification guidelines, and detailed project case studies of high-performance buildings.

Provides access to environmental handbooks published by CRC Press.

Allows users to search abstracts of thousands of journal articles and conference papers and link to selected full text through Environment abstracts; retrieve full-text news, journals, and reference materials; find federal and state codes and federal agency regulations; access federal and state case law and agency decisions; and locate federal and state waste site data and hazardous materials information.

"Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more."--Database description screen.

"Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index (GLHI) is the premier resource for access to articles about plants and gardens. Topics include horticulture, garden and landscape design and history, botany, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. This index and abstract product is designed for gardening enthusiasts, professionals, and students of horticulture and of garden and landscape design and history. Indexed and abstracted are more than 300 core titles, the majority of which are published in English"--Database description screen.

Serves as a comprehensive resource for research and communications in the geological and earth sciences. It is built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and is inter-operable with GeoRef.

Indexes references and selected abstracts to the world's literature in geology, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, theses, and references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Areas covered include North America since 1669 and other areas since 1933.

"GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology."

Indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories in the area of public affairs. Topics include business, government, international relations, banking, environment, health, social sciences, demographics, law and legislation, political science, public administration, finance, agriculture, education, and statistics.

Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.

"The Sustainability Reference Center is a comprehensive full-text database covering all aspects of sustainability and corporate social responsibility."--Choose databases.

"The Sustainability database explores the management of human use and conservation of the natural resource base, ensuring the attainment and continued satisfaction of human needs in the present as well as maintaining the potential to meet the needs and aspirations of future generations. This involves the maintenance of species diversity & genetic diversity within the species and protection of the habitat/ecosystem they rely upon. The economy is an important aspect of Sustainability and should be seen as "a means to an end" not an end in itself. Coverage includes relevant papers, reports, books and reviews from standard peer-reviewed scientific journals. To ensure comprehensive coverage, material from conference proceedings and hard-to-find gray literature has also been summarized"--CSA Sustainability Science Abstracts factsheet.

Full access to 7100+ articles, 115,000 dictionary terms, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology updated daily. Also includes over 2000 biographies of leading scientists, weekly updates of breakthroughs and discoveries in science and technology, a science dictionary, and links to related websites.

Contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties--acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.

Engineering Village 2 provides access to over 5 million abstracts from Compendex, full text research articles, patents, standards and handbooks, seamlessly.

General science full text features bibliographic indexes (coverage starting 1984), full text (starting 1995), plus graps, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations. Covers leading journals and magazines, biographical sketches, symposia, conferences, review articles, selected letters to the editor, and special issues of journals published as supplementary issues, review issues, or laboratory guides. Also cites book reviews.

History of science and technology and allied historical fields. Articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews and dissertations in the history of science and technology and allied historical fields. It covers the contents of over 600 journals, and the partial contents of several hundred more.

MEDLINE indexes biomedical literature. Areas covered in MEDLINE include microbiology, delivery of health care, nutrition, pharmacology, environmental health,anatomy, organisms, diseases, chemicals and drugs, techniques and equipment, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences and education, technology, agriculture, food, industry, humanities, information science and communications, and health care.

Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations.

Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. Combined data from three sources: The Beilstein Database, The Gmelin Database, and The Patent Chemistry Database.

SciFinder provides access to several Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCAT. Users may search more than 27 million citations to the chemistry literature by topic, author, CAS Registry Numbers, patent number, and CAS abstract number. More than 33 million chemical substances may be searched by chemical name, chemical structure, CAS Registry Numbers, and formula. Users can also do substructure searching.

Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.

Web of Science All Databases indexes (formerly Thomson Reuters Web of Knowledge) indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.