Water Research Guide: Data

Water Data:

• Aquastat: Useful for water resource information for world and operated under United Nations.
• Data.gov - Water Data: Water Data from the US Government
• EPA Water Data & Tools: Water Data and Tools from the EPA
• NYC Open Data - Water: New York City Open Data sources on water
• NYS DOH Water Data: New York State Department of Health Water Data
• Tide Predictor: WWW Tide Predictor presents worldwide (strongest coverage for US & Canada) tide predictions in tabular or graphical format adjusted for daylight savings time or UTC starting from the current or a specified date up to one week ahead. Start days for the years 1995-2025.
• USGS Water Data: United States Geological Survey Water Data and resources - a wealth of information
• USGS NY Water Science Center: United States Geological Survey New York Specific Water resources

Climate Data:

• Biogeochemical Dynamics Data (ORNL-DAAC): Biogeochemical and ecological data products and services.
• Global Change Master Directory (NASA): Discover and access data descriptions and software models, relevant to global change and Earth science research.
• The IRI/LDEO Climate Data Library:The Data Catalog has been developed by the Climate Group at Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory. It is both a catalog and a library of datasets, i.e. it both helps you figure out which data you want, and helps you work with the data. The interface llows you to make plots, tables,and files from any dataset.
• National Climatic Center Online Document Library: The National Climatic Data Center (NCDC) is the world's largest active archive of weather data, providing a historical perspective on climate.
• NOAA Satellite Information Service: Satellite data (NOAA) Atmosphere, Ocean, Land, Space, Hazards.
• National Snow and Ice Data Center: Lots of information on glaciers and sheets of ice for world.
• United States Drought Monitor: Useful for current drought situation in U.S.

GIS/GeoSpatial Data:

• Columbia University Spatial Data Catalog: Titles held by CU that are suitable for GIS-mapping applications.
• Geographic Names Information Service (US):Searchable geographic name database that provides type of feature (town, river, park, etc.), county, longitude and latitude, USGS topographic map sheet that shows feature and a general Tiger map showing location of feature within the US.
• GeoMapApp: An earth science exploration and visualization application.
• GIS Data on the Internet: Links to various GIS data sources
• NOAA Satellite Information Service: Satellite data (NOAA) Atmosphere, Ocean, Land, Space, Hazards.
• National Geologic Map Database: Housed under U.S. Geological Survey site and wonderful overview of all material.

Geological Data:

• OneGeology Portal: Useful for mapping region desired and getting tailored resources to it.
• Earthquake Hazards Program: Housed under U.S. Geological Survey site and contains current and past earthquake data.
• GeoPlatform: Wealth of geological resources for world and operated by federal government.
• Integrated Earth Data Applications (IEDA)
  • PetDB: Datasets for petrological information of rocks from ocean floor.
  • SedDB: Datasets for sediment geochemistry of world.
• National Geologic Map Database: Housed under U.S. Geological Survey site and wonderful overview of all material.
• National Geophysical Data Center: NGDC provides stewardship, products, and services for geophysical data from our Sun to Earth and Earth's sea floor and solid earth environment, including Earth observations from space.

General/Other Data:

• Forestry Inventory and Analysis National Program (USFS): Forest Inventory & Analysis data and tools.
• ForesSTAT (UN FAO):Food and Agricultural Organization of the UN- statistics and data
• LANDFIRE (USGS): is a program that provides over 20 national geo-spatial layers (e.g. vegetation, fuel, disturbance, etc.), databases, and ecological models that are available to the public for the US and insular areas.
• New York City Data: Links to NYC geospatial and numerical data.
• Public Land Statistics (BLM): Public Land Statistics published by the Bureau of Land Management.
• Urban Forest Data (USDA/USFS): Links to various data sets and reports for urban forest data in the United States at the state level, county level, county subdivision level and local community or place level.
• U.S. Government Open Data: Any number of dataset topics can be accessed. Geospatial, science & research, weather, climate, and ocean datasets may be of use.
• USDA: United States Department of Agriculture data products/sets
• Wood Hole Research Center Datasets

• Research Data at Columbia: Learn about data retention, data security, data storage, data ownership, public access mandates, writing a research data management plan, data management, and sharing data.
• Research and Data Integrity Program (ReaDI) at Columbia: Resources for the research lifecycle and by discipline.
• Data Management Planning: Requirements,Data Management Plan (DMP) Guidance & Templates, Writing a DMP

• Data Tools & Resources
• Academic Commons: Columbia's Open Access Institutional Repository. Deposit and share your data.

Cite data to give the data producer proper credit and to enable readers of your work to access the data, for their own use, or to replicate your results. Whether citing data, or expecting others to cite your data make sure that the following elements are provided:

• Creators
• Date: year of publication rather than collection or coverage
• Title
• Version or edition
• Publisher, data center or repository
• Identifier and/or permanent URL

Resources:

• DataCite: how to cite data.
• Data Citation Index: An index for research data, including data studies and data sets, and links them to the scientific literature to track data citation

• Historical statistics of the United States: colonial times to 1970
  Aata are readily available for charting, or statistical analysis, or regrouping across tables.
• IMF eLibrary
  The IMF eLibrary offers direct access to IMF's periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. The topics covered include
• OECD iLibrary
  The online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Includes all OECD books, reports, periodicals and statistical databases. Coverage: 1988 to the present, updated weekly.
• SAGE Stats
  Data from more than 80 different government and non-government sources. Collection of more than 2,000 current and historical data series on popular topics of research interest such as, Crime and Law, Enforcement, Defense, Demographics, Economics, Employment and Labor, Energy, and the Environment, Health and Medicine, Social Welfare, Taxes and Government Finance, Transportation.
• Statistical Insight
  Bibliographical citations to statistical information from the U.S. government, international intergovernmental organizations (IGOs), state governments, and private sources. Some items have links to full-text.
• UNdata
  More than 450 statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-demographic topics. Descriptions of the international sources and definitions used in compiling the data are included.
• Vital statistics on American Politics
  Provides basic statistical information on American government and politics: elections, Congress, the presidency, the judiciary, media, campaign finances, foreign, social, and economic policy, and a variety of issues related to state and local government.
• World Databank (WDI)
  WDI Online is a comprehensive database on development data covering 575 indicators, 225 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection of development data includes population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators for more than forty years (1960 to 2000, where data are available).