Encyclopedia of the EarthThe Encyclopedia of Earth (EoE) is an electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The content is presented in a style intended to be useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public.
Geographic Names Information Service (USGSSearchable geographic name database that provides type of feature (town, river, park, etc.), county, longitude and latitude, USGS topographic map sheet that shows feature and a general Tiger map showing location of feature within the US.
Global Change Master Directory (NASA)A comprehensive directory of descriptions of data sets of relevance to global change research. This database includes descriptions of data sets covering climate change, agriculture, the atmosphere, biosphere, hydrosphere & oceans, geology, geography, and human dimensions of global change.
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
"A collaborative research platform that supports research effectiveness and information literacy. It gives users a simplified and smart process for locating, analyzing, and utilizing the right information. It enhances this information with embedded technology features and automates the best practices of effective research. With its adaptable, state-of-the-art architecture, Literati is a flexible, long-term solution that can accommodate changing organizational needs and evolving technical requirements"--Products and services p.
Congress and the Nation
An authoritative reference on Congressional trends, actions, and controversies for over forty years.
Provides Congressional material from 1789 to the present. Full text for many titles (including Congressional Research Service reports, 1916-present) generally from the early 1990's to the present. Includes bills, laws, Hearings, House and Senate documents and reports, the Congressional Record, and Congressional Research Service reports.
Declassified Documents Reference System
The database ranges from the years immediately following World War II, when declassified documents were first made widely available, through the 1970s. Nearly every major foreign and domestic event of these years is covered.
Contains the full text of the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents, Foreign Relations of the U.S., Presidential Executive Orders, Congressional Record, U.S. Statutes at Large, and other documents from the executive, congressional and judicial branches of the U.S. government.
A compilation of full text primary source publications such as Public Law, all versions of enacted and related bills, Congressional Record excerpts, and committee hearings, reports, and documents to produce a legislative history.
Access to original source news, social media, and information direct from U.S. Government web locations, including press releases, speeches, transcripts, Twitter, Facebook, and YouTube.
Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, journals of the alternative and independent press.
News and analysis service. Tracks legislation before Congress and alerts users to late-breaking news and updated Hill schedules, status of bills, committee coverage with votes and markups, votes analysis, member biographies, daily news wrap-up, comparisons of competing versions of bills, and more.
CQ Homeland Security
Provides daily news, legislation, bills and analyses on the latest homeland security spending and policy issues.
Full-text database providing news sources from around the world. It also provides detailed facts, figures and analyses of companies, industries and financial markets. Coverage varies by source.
Meet the Press
Includes every surviving program of NBC's Meet the Pressfrom the show's inception in 1947 through the present day.
Offers a daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
A collection of resources on U.S. politics and policy, including the National Journal, The Hotline, Congress Daily, Technology Daily, Poll Track, Ad Spotlight, and The Almanac of American Politics. Also provides Congressional markup reports and update reports on key legislation.