Earth and Environmental Sciences Research Guide for Courseworks: Databases & Indexes by Subject
Research Guide for Earth and Environmental Sciences.
Databases by Subject
- ASFA : aquatic sciences and fisheries abstracts. This link opens in a new window The ASFA series is the premier reference in the field of aquatic resources. Input to ASFA is provided by a growing international network of information centers monitoring serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature. ASFA is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System (ASFIS), formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and a network of international and national partners. Inclusive coverage from 1971-present.
This link opens in a new window
- GeoRef . This link opens in a new window Indexes references and selected abstracts to the world's literature in geology, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, theses, and references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Areas covered include North America since 1669 and other areas since 1933.
- This link opens in a new window
- GeoScienceWorld . This link opens in a new window Serves as a comprehensive resource for research and communications in the geological and earth sciences. It is built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and is inter-operable with GeoRef.
- This link opens in a new window
- Oceanic abstracts . This link opens in a new window An index to the worldwide technical literature pertaining to marine and brackish water environments. A leading source of information on topics relating to oceans. The database focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. This database is totally comprehensive in its coverage of living and non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics.
- This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest aquatic science collection . This link opens in a new window "[A resource] for researchers studying conservation, aquatic pollution, environmental quality, oceanography, policy and legislation, and more. It features the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts database, hundreds of full-text ProQuest Aquatic Science journals, and deep indexing."--Publisher information.
- This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest atmospheric science collection . This link opens in a new window This collection includes the Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts database, full-text ProQuest Atmospheric Science Journals, and deep indexing to uncover hidden data. Subjects covered are air pollution, climatology, glaciology, weather forecasting, and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- Scopus . This link opens in a new window Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- WATERnetBASE : water references online. This link opens in a new window Comprehensive multidiscipline resource providing access to reference works on drinking water, ground water, hydrogeology, hydrology, storm water, surface water, waste water, water pollution and wetlands. Also includes the current edition of Water encyclopedia.
- This link opens in a new window
- Water resources abstracts . This link opens in a new window Provides citations and abstracts to the technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications. The database covers publications worldwide, from 1967-present.
- This link opens in a new window
- Bibliography on cold regions science and technology . This link opens in a new window Bibliography includes references to scientific and engineering research related to material and operations in a winter battlefield, the nature and impact of cold on facilities and activities, cold-related environmental problems, and the impact of human activity on cold environments.
- This link opens in a new window
- GeoRef . This link opens in a new window Indexes references and selected abstracts to the world's literature in geology, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, theses, and references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Areas covered include North America since 1669 and other areas since 1933.
- This link opens in a new window
- GeoScienceWorld . This link opens in a new window Serves as a comprehensive resource for research and communications in the geological and earth sciences. It is built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and is inter-operable with GeoRef.
- This link opens in a new window
- National Centers for Environmental Information This link opens in a new window NOAA's National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) is responsible for preserving, monitoring, assessing, and providing public access to the Nation's treasure of climate and historical weather data and information.
- ProQuest atmospheric science collection . This link opens in a new window This collection includes the Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts database, full-text ProQuest Atmospheric Science Journals, and deep indexing to uncover hidden data. Subjects covered are air pollution, climatology, glaciology, weather forecasting, and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- Scopus . This link opens in a new window Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- Web of science core collection. This link opens in a new window "Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more."Provides access to records from the top journals, conference proceedings, and books in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research most relevant to the area of interest. Using linked cited references, subject connections between articles that are established by the expert researchers can be explored.
- This link opens in a new window
- AGRICOLA . This link opens in a new window Covers agricultural subjects, such as agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm mangagement, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, social sciences, veterinary medicine, and water resources.
- This link opens in a new window
- Biological abstracts . This link opens in a new window An index with abstracts to periodicals in biology and the life sciences. Provides access to biological and medical research findings, clinical studies, and discoveries of new organisms. Coverage is international, and includes agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, genetics, botany, ecology, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology.
- This link opens in a new window
- Biological & agricultural index plus . This link opens in a new window Indexes articles from periodicals in the life sciences and agriculture, including topics such as animal husbandry, botany, cytology, ecology, entomology, environmental science, fishery sciences, food science, forestry, genetics, horticulture, microbiology, plant pathology, soil science, veterinary medicine, and zoology.
- This link opens in a new window
- Cold Spring Harbor monograph archive . This link opens in a new window Monographs in areas of molecular, cell, and developmental biology, genetics, evolutionary biology, neuroscience, cancer biology, and molecular pathology.
- This link opens in a new window
- Garden, landscape & horticultural index This link opens in a new window "Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index (GLHI) is the premier resource for access to articles about plants and gardens. Topics include horticulture, garden and landscape design and history, botany, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. This index and abstract product is designed for gardening enthusiasts, professionals, and students of horticulture and of garden and landscape design and history. Indexed and abstracted are more than 300 core titles, the majority of which are published in English"--Database description screen.
- This link opens in a new window
- MEDLINE . This link opens in a new window MEDLINE indexes biomedical literature. Areas covered in MEDLINE include microbiology, delivery of health care, nutrition, pharmacology, environmental health,anatomy, organisms, diseases, chemicals and drugs, techniques and equipment, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences and education, technology, agriculture, food, industry, humanities, information science and communications, and health care.
- This link opens in a new window
- PubMed / a service of the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- This link opens in a new window
- Scopus . This link opens in a new window Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- Web of science core collection. This link opens in a new window "Web of Science consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more."Provides access to records from the top journals, conference proceedings, and books in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research most relevant to the area of interest. Using linked cited references, subject connections between articles that are established by the expert researchers can be explored.
- This link opens in a new window
- Zoological record This link opens in a new window Bibliographical references from more than 6,000 international journals, review annuals, monographs, meeting proceedings, books and reports, representing research in all major areas of zoology, including: behavior, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, nutrition, parasitology, reproduction, taxonomy, zoogeography.
- This link opens in a new window
- CHEMLIBnetBASE . This link opens in a new window Complements the databases of CHEMnetBASE with dozens of resources, references, and CRC handbooks. Chemistry topics covered include: analytical, industrial and applied, inorganic, materials, medicinal, organic, physical, polymer, and surface & colloid. Also covers electrochemistry, geochemistry, fuels and petrochemicals, photochemistry, separation science/chromatography, and spectroscopy.
- This link opens in a new window
- CHEMnetBASE : chemical databases online. This link opens in a new window Includes several chemical dictionaries, and the CRC handbook of chemistry & physics.
- This link opens in a new window
- Current chemical reactions. This link opens in a new window Contains single- and multi-step new synthetic methods. The overall reaction flow is provided for each method, along with a detailed and accurate graphical representation of each reaction step.
- This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest materials science collection . This link opens in a new window This databases provides access to Materials Research Database with METADEX, ProQuest Materials Science Journals, and deep indexing of over a million tables and figures. Covers a variety of topics related to the multidisciplinary study of materials science, materials properties, and applications, including recycling, biomaterials, quality control, and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- Reaxys . This link opens in a new window Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. Combined data from three sources: The Beilstein Database, The Gmelin Database, and The Patent Chemistry Database.
- This link opens in a new window
- SciFinder . This link opens in a new window SciFinder provides access to several Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCAT. Users may search more than 27 million citations to the chemistry literature by topic, author, CAS Registry Numbers, patent number, and CAS abstract number. More than 33 million chemical substances may be searched by chemical name, chemical structure, CAS Registry Numbers, and formula. Users can also do substructure searching.
- This link opens in a new window
- Treatise on geochemistry / editors-in-chief, Heinrich D. Holland and Karl K. Turekian. This link opens in a new window clio4863704
- This link opens in a new window
- Web of science--all databases. This link opens in a new window Web of Science All Databases indexes (formerly Thomson Reuters Web of Knowledge) indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- This link opens in a new window
- AAPG datapages . This link opens in a new window This is the combined search-and-retrieval website for AAPG publications and related collections. Includes full-text and abstracts.
- This link opens in a new window
- AGRICOLA . This link opens in a new window Covers agricultural subjects, such as agricultural engineering and marketing, animal breeding, entomology, environmental pollution, farm mangagement, foods and feeds, pesticides, rural sociology, social sciences, veterinary medicine, and water resources.
- This link opens in a new window
- Earthquake engineering abstracts . This link opens in a new window Earthquake Engineering Abstracts provides coverage of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation. EEA currently comprises full citations and abstracts from 1971 forward, plus several hundred earlier classic papers and reports. EEA includes indexes and abstracts of many major journals that publish significant earthquake engineering research; meeting abstracts -- proceedings of conferences and major meetings in earthquake engineering research, and research report's abstracts -- abstracts of research monographs and technical reports including Earthquake Engineering Research Center Reports and Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research Center Reports. Sources covered include periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases.
- This link opens in a new window
- GeoRef . This link opens in a new window Indexes references and selected abstracts to the world's literature in geology, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, theses, and references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Areas covered include North America since 1669 and other areas since 1933.
- This link opens in a new window
- GeoScienceWorld . This link opens in a new window Serves as a comprehensive resource for research and communications in the geological and earth sciences. It is built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and is inter-operable with GeoRef.
- This link opens in a new window
- Lyell collection . This link opens in a new window "The Lyell Collection is an online collection comprising of the Society's journal titles, Special Publications and key book series."--About.
- Scopus . This link opens in a new window Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- Treatise on geophysics / editor-in-chief, Gerald Schubert. This link opens in a new window The Treatise on Geophysics on a comprehensive summary of the present state of geophysics. It deals with all major parts of Solid-Earth Geophysics, including a volume on the terrestrial planets and moons in our solar system.
- This link opens in a new window
- Avery Index to architectural periodicals . EBSCOhost version This link opens in a new window The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Articles are included from key publications such as American Architect, Baumeister, Byggekunst, Domus, and El Croquis, as well as architectural articles from art and planning journals such as American Art Journal, Burlington Magazine, Environment and Planning A, Metropolitan Museum Journal, and Revue de l'Art.
- This link opens in a new window
- BuildingGreen.com . This link opens in a new window Database to help building-industry professionals design and build construction projects that minimizes ecological impact and maximizes economic performance. Includes access to Environmental building news articles, lists for GreenSpec products and specification guidelines, and detailed project case studies of high-performance buildings.
- This link opens in a new window
- ENVIROnetBASE : environmental resources online. This link opens in a new window Provides access to environmental handbooks published by CRC Press.
- This link opens in a new window
- Environment abstracts . This link opens in a new window Allows users to search abstracts of thousands of journal articles and conference papers and link to selected full text through Environment abstracts; retrieve full-text news, journals, and reference materials; find federal and state codes and federal agency regulations; access federal and state case law and agency decisions; and locate federal and state waste site data and hazardous materials information.
- This link opens in a new window
- Environment complete This link opens in a new window "Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more."--Database description screen.
- This link opens in a new window
- Garden, landscape & horticultural index This link opens in a new window "Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index (GLHI) is the premier resource for access to articles about plants and gardens. Topics include horticulture, garden and landscape design and history, botany, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. This index and abstract product is designed for gardening enthusiasts, professionals, and students of horticulture and of garden and landscape design and history. Indexed and abstracted are more than 300 core titles, the majority of which are published in English"--Database description screen.
- This link opens in a new window
- GeoScienceWorld . This link opens in a new window Serves as a comprehensive resource for research and communications in the geological and earth sciences. It is built on a core database aggregation of peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and is inter-operable with GeoRef.
- This link opens in a new window
- GeoRef . This link opens in a new window Indexes references and selected abstracts to the world's literature in geology, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, theses, and references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Areas covered include North America since 1669 and other areas since 1933.
- This link opens in a new window
- GreenFILE . This link opens in a new window "GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology."
This link opens in a new window
- PAIS Index . This link opens in a new window Indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories in the area of public affairs. Topics include business, government, international relations, banking, environment, health, social sciences, demographics, law and legislation, political science, public administration, finance, agriculture, education, and statistics.
- This link opens in a new window
- Scopus . This link opens in a new window Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- Sustainability reference center . This link opens in a new window "The Sustainability Reference Center is a comprehensive full-text database covering all aspects of sustainability and corporate social responsibility."--Choose databases.
- This link opens in a new window
- Sustainability science abstracts . This link opens in a new window "The Sustainability database explores the management of human use and conservation of the natural resource base, ensuring the attainment and continued satisfaction of human needs in the present as well as maintaining the potential to meet the needs and aspirations of future generations. This involves the maintenance of species diversity & genetic diversity within the species and protection of the habitat/ecosystem they rely upon. The economy is an important aspect of Sustainability and should be seen as "a means to an end" not an end in itself. Coverage includes relevant papers, reports, books and reviews from standard peer-reviewed scientific journals. To ensure comprehensive coverage, material from conference proceedings and hard-to-find gray literature has also been summarized"--CSA Sustainability Science Abstracts factsheet.
- This link opens in a new window
- AccessScience @ McGraw-Hill : the online encyclopedia of science & technology. This link opens in a new window Full access to 7100+ articles, 115,000 dictionary terms, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology updated daily. Also includes over 2000 biographies of leading scientists, weekly updates of breakthroughs and discoveries in science and technology, a science dictionary, and links to related websites.
- This link opens in a new window
- Applied science & technology full text . This link opens in a new window Contains indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties--acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.
- This link opens in a new window
- Avery Index to architectural periodicals . EBSCOhost version This link opens in a new window The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals database offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration. Articles are included from key publications such as American Architect, Baumeister, Byggekunst, Domus, and El Croquis, as well as architectural articles from art and planning journals such as American Art Journal, Burlington Magazine, Environment and Planning A, Metropolitan Museum Journal, and Revue de l'Art.
- This link opens in a new window
- Bibliography on cold regions science and technology . This link opens in a new window Bibliography includes references to scientific and engineering research related to material and operations in a winter battlefield, the nature and impact of cold on facilities and activities, cold-related environmental problems, and the impact of human activity on cold environments.
- This link opens in a new window
- Book citation index. Science (BKCI-S) . This link opens in a new window The Book Citation Index is designed to enhance the powerful discovery and analysis capabilities of Web of Knowledge by incorporating comprehensive book citation data. Researchers can search for and identify the most relevant and esteemed literature along with peer-reviewed journals and conference proceedings already indexed in Web of Knowledge, enabling users to navigate the links in citations across books, journals and proceedings. Books are indexed at the chapter level, resulting in improved searches and deeper insights into the citing behavior between books and the wider world of scholarly research.
- This link opens in a new window
- Conference proceedings citation index. This link opens in a new window "Conference Proceedings Citation Index helps researchers access the published literature from ... conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide."
- This link opens in a new window
- Current contents connect. This link opens in a new window "Current Contents Connect is a current awareness database that provides easy Web access to complete tables of contents, abstracts, bibliographic information, and abstracts from the most recently published issues of leading scholarly journals, as well as from ... relevant, evaluated websites."--Publisher description.
- Current index to statistics . This link opens in a new window Contains cumulative bibliographic citations to statistical books and articles in more than 1,000 journals, with coverage generally extending back to 1974, earlier in some instances.
- This link opens in a new window
- Data citation index. This link opens in a new window Indexes research data, including data studies and data sets, and links them to the scientific literature to track data citation.
- This link opens in a new window
- Derwent innovations index . This link opens in a new window The world's most comprehensive database of international patent information from more than 40 patent-issuing authorities with added value to the patent literature including Descriptive Titles, Abstracts, Patent Family, Derwent Class Codes, Derwent Manual Codes, and Company Codes. Covers over 10 million basic inventions and 20 million patents.
- This link opens in a new window
- Engineering village. This link opens in a new window Engineering Village 2 provides access to over 5 million abstracts from Compendex, full text research articles, patents, standards and handbooks, seamlessly.
- This link opens in a new window
- General science full text . This link opens in a new window General science full text features bibliographic indexes (coverage starting 1984), full text (starting 1995), plus graps, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations. Covers leading journals and magazines, biographical sketches, symposia, conferences, review articles, selected letters to the editor, and special issues of journals published as supplementary issues, review issues, or laboratory guides. Also cites book reviews.
- This link opens in a new window
- History of science, technology, and medicine . This link opens in a new window History of science and technology and allied historical fields. Articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews and dissertations in the history of science and technology and allied historical fields. It covers the contents of over 600 journals, and the partial contents of several hundred more.
- This link opens in a new window
- ISI journal citation reports . This link opens in a new window JCR is a comprehensive, and unique resource tool for Journal Citation and Article Counts; Impact Factor; Immediacy Index; Cited Half-Life; Citing Half-Life; Source Data Listing, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- MathSciNet / American Mathematical Society. This link opens in a new window ALF0131
- This link opens in a new window
- MEDLINE . This link opens in a new window MEDLINE indexes biomedical literature. Areas covered in MEDLINE include microbiology, delivery of health care, nutrition, pharmacology, environmental health,anatomy, organisms, diseases, chemicals and drugs, techniques and equipment, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences and education, technology, agriculture, food, industry, humanities, information science and communications, and health care.
- This link opens in a new window
- PHYSICSnetBASE . This link opens in a new window Online, full-text handbooks covering topics such as: applied and industrial physics, applied mechanics and fluid dynamics, astronomy & astrophysics, atomic and molecular physics, biophysics, chemical physics, condensed matter and material science, geophysics, lasers, optics and optoelectronics, mathematical and computational physics, medical physics, mesoscale physics, nonlinear physics, nuclear and high energy physics, plasma physics, quantum physics and statistical physics and thermodynamics.
- This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest dissertations & theses global This link opens in a new window Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations.
- This link opens in a new window
- Scientific electronic library online : SciELO. This link opens in a new window An electronic virtual library of scholarly journals published in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal. Search or browse by country of publication or subject area. Strong in coverage of science, medicine, and public health along with social sciences and humanities journals."SciELO, the Scientific Electronic Library Online, uses a methodology developed by BIREME/PAHO/WHO that enables the implementation of web digital libraries of scientific journal collections of full text articles. Various SciELO gateways are now in operation, providing access to academic journals from Brazil and other countries in Latin America and the Caribbean. SciELO plays a very important role in the worldwide dissemination of the technical and scientific literature published in developing countries, thereby increasing visibility of this literature that otherwise would be accessible only within the borders of those developing countries." --"The SciELO Brazilian Scientific Journal Gateway and Open Archives," D-Lib Magazine, Vol. 9, no. 3, March 2003.
- This link opens in a new window
- Scopus . This link opens in a new window Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in biology ,physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- Web of science--all databases. This link opens in a new window Web of Science All Databases indexes (formerly Thomson Reuters Web of Knowledge) indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- This link opens in a new window