Korean Studies Research Guide Original: Home

This guide consists of information to assist students and faculty members in Korean Studies courses and scholars who research Korea related topics.

Welcome

Welcome to the library research guide on Korean studies.

 용비어천가 (龍飛御天歌)

About the Korean Collection

The Korean collection was started since 1931 and now the collection consists of over 170,000 including books, serials, non-book formats, and electronic resources. There are also Korean rare books and special collections such as Yi Song-ui Collection, Sin sosol and the Conant Collection. The collection covers mainly in the humanities, social sciences and arts with substantial holdings in history, philosophy, religion, arts, classics, and literature. In addition to this, as a member of the Korean Collection Consortium of North America, the collection has been expanded with subjects including Seoul, popular culture, fine and performing arts, education, psychology and Korean history between 1864 and 1945.

For information about our general collection policy, see the Korean collection development policy.

The Collection primarily supports the teaching and research of the faculty, staff and students in the Korean Studies programs at Columbia University via the online catalog CLIO, but resources are also available to researchers nationally and internationally through Borrow Direct, and Interlibrary Loan Services

Introduction

This guide serves as a starting point for students, faculty members in Korean Studies courses at CU and scholars who research Korea related topics. It consists of both general and advanced materials containing print and electronic resources and resources in other formats such as audio-visual. The guide contains resources accessible not only in the CU libraries, but also links to resources that are freely accessible elsewhere. It is categorized into 7 tabs which lead you to specific type of resources at the top of this window.

If you have any questions or comments about this guide, want to schedule a library instruction session or a library tour, set up a research consultation, please don't hesitate to contact the Korean studies librarian either via email at hs2148@columbia.edu or phone at 212-854-1507.

Please also let me know if there are resources that you would like to recommend to be added in the Collection.

Korean Studies Librarian

C.V. Starr East Asian Library