Korean Studies Research Guide Original: Find Books
This guide provides valuable information to support students and faculty members at Columbia University as well as scholars conducting research on topics related to Korea.
Books
The complete collection of Korean books acquired by Columbia University Libraries can be easily accessed and searched through Columbia Libraries Information Online (=CLIO). CLIO, serves as the online catalog and conducting a Quicksearch within CLIO allows you to explore the books, articles, academic commons, the libraries' website, and GeoData. When searching in CLIO, you can use either Korean scripts (Han’gŭl) or McCune-Reischauer Romanization for your queries, although it's important to note that searches using Korean scripts may not yield the most precise results.
If the book is not found in CLIO, please try a search through Borrow Direct, which provides quick delivery (3-5 business days). If Borrow Direct does not have the book, you can search through one of alternative catalogs listed below, such as FirstSearch, and request it via Interlibrary Loan (ILL) ( 2-3 weeks business days).
- McCune-Reischauer Romanization SystemA Korean romanization system based on standard Korean pronunciation, revised by the Library of Congress in 2009.
- CLIO : library web : Columbia University Libraries online catalog. This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Columbia University Libraries’ online catalog, and offers access to a wide range of materials, including books, serials, newspapers, music scores, sound recordings, microforms, maps, computer files, archives and manuscripts, video recordings, and so on. To get started with CLIO, you can consult the Search Tips available within CLIO. If you encounter any difficulties, don't hesitate to seek assistance from a librarian or a circulation desk attendant. Please also consider searching Pegasus, the Columbia Law Library’s Catalog, for law-related materials. - Borrow Direct. This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An interlibrary loan service that includes Columbia, Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Duke, Harvard, Johns Hopkins University, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), Princeton, Stanford, University of Chicago, the University of Pennsylvania, and Yale. This service is designed to enable students, faculty, and staff at these institutions to request books directly from each other's collections. - OCLC FirstSearch : list all databases. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A union catalog comprising over 548 million cataloging records from libraries worldwide. This extensive catalog includes a diverse range of materials such as books, serials, manuscript collections, audiovisual materials, computer files, and other media. These materials can be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
- CRL catalog : Center for Research Libraries
- This link opens in a new window
Maintained by the Center for Research Libraries, this catalog represents a consortium of North American universities, colleges, and independent research libraries. Its primary mission is the acquisition and preservation of books and electronic resources for research and teaching purposes. CRL provides access to primary and seldom-held research materials for Columbia affiliates through interlibrary loan and document delivery. CRL’s holdings are particularly robust in newspapers, foreign dissertations, and international resources. CRL supports advanced research and teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and granting scholars’ access to essential primary source materials in those disciplines. - KORCIS Korean Old and Rare Collection Information SystemA union catalog comprising records of Korean old books and manuscripts, totaling over 502,000 entries, including 44,000 full-text records. Users can conduct searches within KORCIS by title, keyword, author, and publisher, making it a valuable resource for scholars and researchers.
- National Digital Library of KoreaA union catalog that includes cataloging records from the National Library of Korea (NLK), government agencies, and public libraries in Korea. It provides a comprehensive resource for accessing a wide range of materials.
- RISS international . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Similar to OCLC FirstSearch, serves as a single gateway to search cataloging records, integrated databases of full-text journals, theses & dissertations, and more. It offers a valuable resource for accessing academic materials and resources.
Books in the Korean Collection are located on the 250 through 100 levels of the library stacks, while others are stored offsite in New Jersey. The books in the library stacks are shelved alongside Chinese, Japanese, Tibetan and Western-language materials, organized by subject using the Library of Congress Classification number. Additionally, the library offers access to e-books listed below, with certain e-book packages exclusively available to CU affiliates.
E-books
- CNC Haksul Chongbo (CNC 학술정보)
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text databases containing various resources from humanities and social sciences to technology science. Major textbooks and course materials are also included. It is categorized into the sub-databases: Language and Literature, History, Geography, Natural Science, Technology Science, Cultural Arts, Medicine, and Culinary Arts. Full-texts and images are searchable with cross-searching capability across all categorized databases, as well as individually searchable within each category. (Restricted to CU affiliates only)
- Hanguk ui chisik kontenchu = Korean database. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text databases that provide access to a wide range of primary sources related to Korean studies. These databases are divided into 11 distinct categories, and each one provides access to full-text content and image files. (Restricted to CU affiliates only) - Hathi Trust : a shared digital repository. This link opens in a new windowA global shared digital repository with over 10 million digitized volumes including books and journals. Columbia University, among 60+ research libraries, preserves and provides access to cultural records. The user-friendly interface offers various viewing options and supports PDF downloads. (Restricted to CU affiliates only)
- Zininzin Yoksa Munhwa Siriju (진인진 역사문화시리즈)
- This link opens in a new window
A multimedia content database focused on Korean history and culture, covering various subjects, such as archaeology, Korean history, and art history. (Restricted to CU affiliates only)
- KoreaA2Z . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of full-text databases covering various subjects related to Korean studies. These databases are divided into 11 distinct categories and contain numerous classical works, dictionaries, and other valuable resources. (Restricted to CU affiliates only)
- Korean History & Culture Research Database
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text database containing excavation reports, offering access to full-text articles from 4,000 volumes published by various organizations since 1940. (Restricted to CU affiliates only) - LAWnB (Legal Information Service)
- This link opens in a new window
A legal information portal service that provides access to a collection of South Korean legal materials online. This collection includes law information, judicial precedents, lawyer and law firm details, and more. (Restricted to CU affiliates only)