Korean Studies Research Guide Original: Find Articles
This guide provides valuable information to support students and faculty members at Columbia University as well as scholars conducting research on topics related to Korea.
Journal Articles
The complete collection of Korean journals can be accessed for searching through CLIO, where the status of each journal can be verified online. It's important to note that CLIO provides information solely about journal titles and does not include journal articles.
For journals that are currently subscribed (approximately 350 titles), recent issues are kept unbound and arranged in call number order in the periodicals alcove on the South side of the reading room. Older issues are bound and stored offsite, and these bound volumes can be requested online through CLIO.
The databases listed below offer access to Korean journal articles for your research needs. Please be aware that the subscribed databases are only accessible to CU affiliates.
Journal Articles in English
- Bibliography of Asian studies . This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A valuable resource that provides access to bibliographic citations and subject classifications, covering Western-language journal articles, books, contributed articles in edited volumes and compilations, conference proceedings, and more, across all subjects, with a particular focus on humanities and social sciences related to East, Southeast, and South Asia. This resource includes materials dating from 1971 to the present, and Columbia University Libraries also maintain printed formats from 1941 to 1970. (Restricted to CU affiliates only)
- Google ScholarOffering a convenient and comprehensive platform for broad searches across scholarly literature. It allows users to explore a wide range of disciplines and sources in a single location.
- JSTOR. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Providing access to a vast collection of academic journal articles, books, and primary sources spanning 75 disciplines. It provides full-text access to historical issues of core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, from their earliest publications to within a few years of the current date. Users can browse by journal title or discipline, or perform full-text searches or access citations and abstracts. JSTOR regularly adds new issues and titles. (Restricted to CU affiliates only) - NK news.org . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An independent and private website focused on North Korea. It provides news, news aggregation, intelligence analysis, travel reports, and North Korea-related data in English. It also maintains up-to-date directories of organizations, companies, experts, and practitioners in this specialized field. (Restricted to CU affiliates only) - Periodicals index online . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index that provides access to tables of contents from periodicals in the fields of arts, humanities, and social sciences. It covers a wide range of periodicals, some dating as far back as 1770, and includes publications in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish, and other Western languages. PIO also offers access to page images found in the related Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) or provides an E-link when text isn’t available in PAO. It's important to note that PIO and PAO were originally part of the "PCI Full Text" database, which digitally archives humanities and social sciences periodicals, offering page images for digitized periodicals indexed in the Periodical Contents Index (PCI). (Restricted to CU affiliates only) - Project Muse. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text database comprising over 800 peer-reviewed academic journals and 100,000 e-books that cover a wide range of topics in the humanities and social sciences. (Restricted to CU affiliates only) - ProQuest . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Including citations and full-text articles across various academic and professional disciplines, including business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, and political science, as well as news and general interest content. Users can search multiple databases at once or choose specific ones like ABI/INFORM (business), Accounting & Tax, the American Medical Association, Dissertations, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Research Library, and major current and historical US newspapers (such as the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, LA Times, and more). (Restricted to CU affiliates only)
Journal Articles in Korean
- CNC Haksul Chongbo (CNC 학술정보)
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive full-text database covering Korean scholarly journal articles across various disciplines. It is a vital resource for academic materials in liberal arts. (Restricted to CU affiliates only)
- DBpia . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text database including over 2,300 Korean scholarly journals published by academic societies and research centers. This database is categorized into eight subject categories, and are accessible from their first issues. Multiple search methods are available for research. (Restricted to CU affiliates only) - E-Article = Haksul Kyoyugwon teit'abeisu. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text journal articles sourced from 931 journals published by 626 research institutions in Korea. It primarily focuses on social sciences and humanities, but also covers engineering, pharmaceutical and medical sciences, and physical studies. (Restricted to CU affiliates only)
- Han'guk Kŭnhyondae Chapchi Charyo (한국근현대잡지자료)Providing access to full-text content and indexes from Korean historical journals and magazines published in the early 20th century. It offers browseable full images organized by specific dates and is freely available.
- KISS : Hanguk ui haeksim chisik chongbo chawon. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text database comprising over 5,500 Korean scholarly journal articles, university publications, and research papers published by research institutions in Korea. It covers all subject areas published since 1945 and offers various search methods. (Restricted to CU affiliates only)
- KPM (조선언론 정보기지)
- This link opens in a new window
Offering access to the full text of 60 journals and 5 newspapers published in North Korea, including the English edition of the Pyongyang Times. This resource also includes photos and videos. It allows users to browse content by journal titles. (Restricted to CU affiliates only)
- Kyobo Mun'go suk'olla : Kyobo Mun'go ka mandun kungnae haksul nonmun chonmun sait'u. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive full-text database that comprises over 4,600 Korean scholarly journals across multiple disciplines, including humanities, social sciences, and the sciences. It offers search options by keyword, journal title, and subject. (Restricted to CU affiliates only)
- LAWnB (Legal Information Service)
- This link opens in a new window
A legal information portal service providing access to a collection of South Korean legal materials online. This collection contains law information, judicial precedent, lawyer and law firm information, and more. (Restricted to CU affiliates only) - Moazine
- This link opens in a new window
A full-text database featuring over 200 Korean magazines currently published in South Korea. It offers back issues for most titles covering the past 2-7 years and users can browse and search articles individually. (Restricted to CU affiliates only) - Naver AcademicA search platform similar to Google Scholar that allows users to search for academic information, including academic journals, papers, patents, and statistical information in both Korea and other countries. Each entry provides an abstract, and users have the option to browse the original text, including access to both free and fee-based content.
- RISS international . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Serving as a single gateway, similar to OCLC FirstSearch, enabling users in discovering books, journals, journal articles, theses, and dissertations from Korean universities, among other materials. Some resources are available in full-text online, along with accompanying abstracts. Additionally, RISS International offers the "RISS International Interlibrary Loan" service.