Japanese Studies Research Guide: Exercises
CLIO Exercises
Go to CLIO.
<Why you need to search CLIO with romanized Japanese keywords>
Exercise 1: Try two searches below in Japanese original script and Romanized Japanese.
- 江戸から明治へ
- "Edo kara meiji e" (Use double quotation marks for phrase search)
Exercise 2: Try two searches below by cut & paste "shosetsu" with different Chinese character variants.
- 小說
- 小説
Exercise 3. Do two searches using "daigaku" as your keyword in traditional and simplified form.
- 大学
- 大學
Exercise 4
- Do keyword search with a romanized keyword, "erito."
- Do keyword search with a kanakata keyword エリート.
Exercise 5. Try the folllwing text strings as your keyword:
- エリートの育成
- エリートの育成と
- エリートの育成と教養教育
Exercise 6. Try the following keyword search and phrase search:
- nihon no shi
- "nihon no shi"
Search the Same Item in Different Databases
Compare the bibliographic data and information available from different databases below.
Search CLIO for 『日本語コミュニケーションのための聴解教材の作成』 ISBN: 9784823411205 and compare its bibliographic record with the other databases.
- CLIO: https://clio.columbia.edu/catalog/16740554
- WorldCat 🔓
- Publisher Website: https://www.hituzi.co.jp/hituzibooks/ISBN978-4-8234-1120-5.htm
- NDL ONLINE: https://ndlsearch.ndl.go.jp/books/R100000002-I032046382
- Tokyo Metropoliyan Library: https://catalog.library.metro.tokyo.lg.jp/winj/opac/switch-detail-iccap.do?bibid=1153977963
Search the Same Item in Different Databases - Amount of Available Information
In CLIO
WorldCat
WorldCat 🔓: ISBN: 9784823411205 includes Table of Contents (part and chapter level info) in Japanese and more Subjects added by other libraries.
Publisher Website includes Table of Contents (part, chapter, and section level information) and summary in Japanese. Can be found via Google search.
NDL SEAECH includes Table of Contents (part, chapter, section and paragraph level information) in Japanese and links to other libraries.
Tokyo Metropolitan Library 東京都立図書館
Tokyo Metropolitan Library includes Table of Contents with katakana readings, pagination information, etc.
WorldCat Exercises
- Cut and paste the following book title, 百年前のくすり : いろいろな病にどんな薬でたたったか, and search WorldCat
- Try searching "江戸から明治へ" in WorldCat
- Compare the search results: 1) 明治 文学 and 2) 明治 文学
TOC Exercises
1. 平田オリザが脚本を書いた「上野動物園再々々襲撃」のシナリオが見たい。
2. Find a short story called ミイラになるまで by 島田雅彦. To submit a scan request, pagination information is needed.
Journal & Journal Articles Exercises
1. Find the PDF file of:
短期交換留学生の日本留学による意識変容
恒松 直美 留学生教育 / 留学生教育学会編集委員会 編 (17) 51-60, 2012-12
2. I need to find the citation information of "混沌が意味するもの", an essay by 松本俊夫. Which journal or magazine published this essay?
3. 女性のオフィスファッションの変化について調べている。ここ50年くらいの服装の変化についての記事の調べ方を知りたい。
4. 林家たい平のインタビューが掲載されている資料が見たい。
Newspaper Articles Exercise
Search for Natsume Soseki's 2-part essays titled 坪内博士と「ハムレツト」published in Asahi Shinbun in June, 1911. Use Asahi shinbun kuros search 朝日新聞クロスサーチ 🔓.
Updated: 9/20/2024
Newspaper Articles Excercise - Edition Variations
Search Asahi shinbun kurosu search 朝日新聞クロスサーチ 🔓.
Keyword search with essay title only found part 1 (上).
文芸欄 坪内博士と「ハムレツト」（上） 漱石
1911年06月05日 Tokyo／Morning Edition
Browse Osaka Edition
Let's try browsing Osaka edition now. We learned part 1 was published in the Tokyo morning edition of June 5, 1911. So try browsing Osaka edition from June 5th to 12th.
Keyword search coverage
Go to "How to Use" section and check the coverage information and how keyword search work in "Digitized Archive 1879-1999" component in Asahi Cross Search. Tokyo edition and Osaka edition are treated differently. Keyword search for Osaka edition is more limited than Tokyo edition and you may need to switch to browsing mode to find certian articles. Full-text search is not always available even when using an electronic resource.
2nd part found in Osaka edition
By browsing the paper, the 2nd part (下) of the essay was found.
1911年（明治44年）06月07日
大阪 朝刊 3ページ
Editions of Asahi Shinbun
Around the time, 「市内版」was considered as 「最終版」. The morning edition of June 5th was「市内版」. However, the morning edition of June 6th available for your keyrword search was 「第二版」and 下 part wasn't included in the edition.
If you browse 大阪朝日新聞, you will find 下 part in the morning edition of June 7th. Availability of Osaka edition for your keyword search is very limited, however. Therefore, you need to browse by date.
Some Tokyo edition issues were lost during the Great Kanto earthquake in 1923 and the Great Tokyo Air Raids in 1945.
* 収録紙面について in help file: 「早版」,「市内版」,「市外版」,「第三版」,「