Japanese Studies Research Guide: Table of Contents, Indexes, etc.

• Tokyo Metropolitan Library (東京都立図書館):  Offers table of contents with pagination information for anthologies, academic edited volumes, collections or selections of works. Summaries and author bios are available for additional resources. Other libraries such as Osaka Prefectural Library (大阪府立図書館) also offer similar service. 
• NDL SEARCH (国立国会図書館): NDL offers table of contents, indexes, summaries, author bios, etc. for their resources from different sources for NDL SEARCH use. For more information, read 国立国会図書館サーチで検索できる目次データ in リサーチ・ナビ.  By clicking on + add field option on its advance search screen, you can add a field to target your search to Table of Contents field.
• NDL Digital Collections Advanced Search: NDL offers a separate search engine for their digital collections. Its advanced search screen also includes a TOC field.
• Also try Japanese Ebooks platforms we subscribed to search TOCs. 
• Online Bookstores: For example, Amazon.co.jp  なか見！検索 and 試し読みPDF often offers the TOC information
• Publisher websites started including 試し読み PDF. They normally include Table of Content section.

Many special libraries index books and periodicals published for their specialized topics and themes on their own or add more detailed descriptors to their holdings. Here are some examples:

• Showa-kan (National Showa Memorial Museum) Digital Archive : Showakan Shozo Shiryo Detabesu (昭和館デジタルアーカイブ : 昭和館所蔵資料データベース)

Includes the Table of Contents / 目次 information. No pagination information available.

Showa-kan Library Collection is about the life of Japanese people during and after the World War II.  

The Library website: https://www.showakan.go.jp/information/floor/4f/

• Rikkyo Research Center for Cooperative Civil Societies's Collection / 立教大学共生社会研究センター所蔵資料

The Center's Collection includes documents on grassroot social movements by citizen's groups and individuals in Japan and overseas. Not all the collections have been processed yet. This site offers access to several TOC lists and digitized collections.

• Shibusawa Shashi Database (渋沢社史データベース）※※※2025年3月13日現在、1,636冊の社史が収録されています。うち年表の掲載がある社史は1,198冊、索引の掲載がある社史は327冊です。

• Kanagawa Museum of Modern Literature (神奈川近代文学館所蔵検索)
• Printing Museum Library (印刷博物館ライブラリー 図書/雑誌（全資料）横断検索)
• The Ajinomoto Dietary Culture Library (味の素 食の文化ライブラリー)
• Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum Peace Database (広島平和記念資料館　平和データベース )

This list is a selected list. Please search CLIO and other library databases to find more print indexes and bibliographies. Subject and genre terms such as Indexes and Table of Contents could be combined with other keywords to find an index or a bibliography on theme specific resources.

• Zenshū, sōsho sōmokuroku (全集・叢書　総目録)
   Meiji/Taishō/Shōwa senzenki, 45/90, 91/98, 1999-2004, 2005-2010, 2011-2016
• Zenshū kōza naiyō sōran (全集講座内容綜覧)
  ​Jinbun hen (人文編), Shakai hen (社会編), 1995-1999, 2000-2004
• Kojin chosakushū naiyō sōran (個人 著作集 内容 綜覧)  * Publisher's Flyer 
• Kojin zenshū naiyō sōran (個人全集内容綜覧)・Zenshū kojin zenshū naiyō sōran (全集 個人 全集・內容 綜覧)
  ​[Dai I-ki (第 I期)], Dai II-ki (第 II期), Dai III-ki (第 III期), Dai IV-ki (第 IV期), Dai V-ki (第 V期), Dai VI-ki (第 VI期), Dai VII-ki (第 VII期)
• Kojin zenshū sakuhinmei sōran (個人 全集・作品名 綜覧)・Zenshū kojin zenshū sakuhinmei sōran (全集, 個人 全集・作品名 綜覧)
   ​​[Dai I-ki (第 I期)], Dai II-ki (第 II期), Dai III-ki (第 III期), Dai IV-ki (第 IV期), Dai V-ki (第 V期), Dai VI-ki (第 VI期), Dai VII-ki (第 VII期)