Japanese Studies Research Guide: Find News
Newspapers in Physical Formats
Delivery services of North American editions for Japanese major newspapers are no longer available and we do not carry any physical issues in our periodical reading room.
We own various Japanese papers in other physical formats such as reprint, "shukusatsuban" format, CD-ROM and microfilms.
Here is some examples (searhced CLIO using Japanese newspapers as Subject with format limit set to Newspapers)
Jiji shinpō (時事新報)
no.1 (1882:Mar.1)-no.10377 (1912:July.31)
Newspapers : Online Databases 🔓
- Asahi shinbun kurosu sachi This link opens in a new windowA newspaper database for Asahi shinbun published from 1879 to present. Also includes articles from the weekly magazines Aera as well as Shūkan Asahi, from the annual new-word dictionary Chiezō, Asahi shinbun jinbutsu dētabēsu, and Asahi shinbun rekishi shashin ākaibu.
- Asahi shimbun dejitaru. This link opens in a new windowThe Asahi Shimbun is one of the five national newspapers in Japan. This database for Asahi shimbun; searchable contents for the past one year; subscription required for unlimited search and access to articles.
- Mainichi Shinbunsha no detabesu, Maisaku This link opens in a new windowAccess to the online full-text database of Mainichi shinbun (Maiji 5 [1872]- ). The database also includes Mainichi daily news (June 2008- ), Shūkan Ekonomisuto (October 1989- ), Mainichi yoron chōsa (the public opinion poll) conducted by Mainichi Shinbunsha (1945- ), and the company history "Mainichi' no 3-seiki."
- Nikkei terekon 21 = Nikkei telecom 21. This link opens in a new windowProvides current news reports from Japanese langauge newspapers including local papers. Other resources include business related journals, Nikkei corporation profile, Nikkei Who's who, stock quotations, bond quotations, economic indicators, market forecasts, Nikkei weekly, and Nikkei major articles.
- Yomidasu rekishikan This link opens in a new windowIncludes Yomiuri shinbun 1874 to the present: image format from 1874 to 1989; full text 1986 to the present, along with the English edition: the Daily Yomiuri (Sept. 1989- to the present), both searchable by article, keyword, subject category, and issue. Charts and photographs are not included. Also includes biographical information on 26,000 people.
- Japan times archives. This link opens in a new windowSearchable collection of digitized issues of The Japan Times, The Japan Advertiser, The Japan Times & Mail, The Japan Times and Advertiser, and The Nippon Times; includes issues from March 22, 1897 through the final issue of the previous calendar year.
Newspapers: Online (Free Access)
- Kobe University Library Newspaper Clippings Collection
神戸大学附属図書館新聞記事文庫
The "Newspaper Article Collection", also known as the "newspaper clippings collection," is a collection of newspaper clippings from the end of the Meiji era to Showa 45 (i.e. 1970). It was created by the Research Institute for Economics and Business Administration, Kobe, Japan. There are approximately 3200 clippings, collected continuously for over 60 years. If you count articles, the number of items increases to approximately 500,000 articles.
デジタル版新聞記事文庫：その独自性と活用の傾向
末田 真樹子, 花﨑 佳代子
『情報の科学と技術』2018 年 68 巻 9 号 p. 462-466
Updated: 2/23/2021 -
NDL Digital Collections 国立国会図書館デジタルコレクション includes『官報』『東京日々新聞』and some other older titles.
Shinbun Kishi Shusei 新聞記事集成
- Shinbun shūsei Meiji hennenshi 新聞集成明治編年史 v.15. [Index] 1985 Reprint from Honpo Shoseki set is also available in our collection. Also NDL Digital Collections include this title.
- Shinbun shūroku Taishō shi 新聞集錄大正史 v.15: 大索引
- Shinbun shūsei Shōwa shi no shōgen 新聞集成昭和史の証言 第20卷: 全索引
- Nyusu jiten ニュース事典 series from Mainichi Komyunikeshon 毎日コミュニケーション With Indexes
- Shinbun shūsei Taishō hennenshi 新聞集成大正編年史 Use NDL SEARCH and add Toc / Article (目次・記事検索) on its Advanced Search Screen. Or browse TOC section of each volume in NDL SEARCH.
- Shinbun shūsei Shōwa hennenshi 新聞集成 昭和 編年史 Use NDL SEARCH and add Toc / Article (目次・記事検索) on its Advanced Search Screen. Or browse TOC section of each volume in NDL SEARCH.
Lists, Catalogs, and Other Library Holdings
- Shinbun sōkatarogu （雑誌新聞総カタログ） = Japan's periodicals in print
- Meiji Shinbun Zasshi Bunko shozō zasshi mokuroku : Shōwa 54-nen 3-gatsu genzai /明治新聞雑誌文庫所蔵雑誌目錄 ： 昭和54年3月現在
- Zenkoku fukusei shinbun shozō ichiran : Heisei 5-nen 7-gatsu 1-nichi genzai = National union list of reduced, microformed, and reprinted newspapers in Japan /全国複製新聞所蔵一覧 平成５年７月１日現在
- The National Diet Library ceased 全国新聞総合目録データベース in March 2021. The catalog file as of March 31, 2021 and from the time its termination is available on their Research Navi site at the bottom of 新聞の所蔵機関を調べるには guide. To open the downloaded CSV file with Excel, go to Data tab and use From Text/CSV option in Get & Transform Data command group.
- ニュースパーク 日本新聞博物館