Islamic Studies: Reference Works/Bibliographies

This guide provides resources for a wide variety of topics related to the academic study of Islam and Muslims. Historical and contemporary issues are covered as well as relations with other religious communities within the Islamic world.

Reference Works/Bibliographies

The Cambridge companion to American Islam. (2013)
The Cambridge Companion to American Islam offers a scholarly overview of the state of research on American Muslims and American Islam. The book presents the reader with a comprehensive discussion of the debates, challenges and opportunities that American Muslims have faced through centuries of American history.

Encyclopaedia of Islam

The Encyclopaedia of Islam (EI) is unique and invaluable reference work in the field of Islamic Studies. It includes articles on distinguished Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. Columbia Libraries' subscriptions includes : Encyclopaedia of Islam, First Edition (1913-1936), Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition (1960-2005), Encyclopaedia of Islam, Second Edition, Glossary and Index of Terms (1995), Encyclopaedia of Islam, THREE (2007- )

Encylopedia Iranica

The Encyclopaedia Iranica is dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia and the Indian Subcontinent. This academic reference work will eventually cover all aspects of Iranian history and culture as well as all Iranian languages and literatures, facilitating the whole range of Iranian studies research from archaeology to political sciences.

Handbook of Contemporary Islam and Muslim Lives. 
This is a comprehensive handbook which for the first time provides a general yet detailed discussion of contemporary Islam and various aspects of Muslim lives. It offers a much needed tool for an introduction to the world of contemporary Muslim life and debate, and a link of continuity between the Muslim world and Muslims living and born in the West

 

Oxford bibliographies. Islamic studies

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on the range of lived experiences and textual traditions of Muslims as they are articulated in various countries and regions throughout the world.

Oxford Islamic studies online

This is growing collection of content, including more than 3,000 reference articles and chapters by leading scholars and specialists in their fields, and much more. Qur'anic studies resources, including two Oxford World's Classics translations of the Qur'an, linked to the first online version of A Concordance of the Qur'an. Includes also digital edition of the following : 

The Princeton encyclopedia of Islamic political thought 

The first encyclopedia of Islamic political thought from the birth of Islam to today, this comprehensive, authoritative, and accessible reference provides the context needed for understanding contemporary politics in the Islamic world and beyond. With more than 400 alphabetically arranged entries written by an international team of specialists, the volume focuses on the origins and evolution of Islamic political ideas and related subjects, covering central terms, concepts, personalities, movements, places, and schools of thought across Islamic history.