Index Islamicus
Leading reference work which covers all aspects of the Islamic world including religion, history, politics, and culture. Scope includes all time periods and geographic areas.
ATLA Religion Database
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Central Asian Survey
Historical abstracts with full text
International Bibliography of Periodical Literature
JSTOR
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
Project MUSE
Periodicals Archive Online
Worldwide political science abstracts
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures
Focuses on women and the civilizations and societies in which Islam has played a historic role. Surveys all facets of life (society, economy, politics, religion, the arts, popular culture, sports, health, science, medicine, environment, and so forth) of women in these societies.
Women in Islam in Oxford Bibliographies Online - Islamic Studies by Marcia Hermansen, Barbara von Schlegell
Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women
This resource provides clear, current, comprehensive information on the major topics of scholarly interest within the study of Islam and women. With more than 450 articles written by leading international experts and with a concentration on contemporary issues, it is a single source for accurate overview articles covering all aspects of this flourishing area of research. Organized around the central conceptual themes in research on Islam and women including Self and Body, Immigration and Minorities, Culture and Expression, Politics and Polity, and Community and Society, as well as Science, Medicine and Education among others, this work examines the scholarship on Islam and women that has expanded exponentially over the past twenty years, as well as cross-pollination between other fields and disciplines.
Women and Islam - Oxford Islamic Studies Online
This resource holds nearly 4000 entries from many Oxford publications, such as the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World and The Islamic World: Past and Present. It encompasses a variety of resources including biographies, scholarly works, translated articles, essays, seminal books and speeches by influential figures of the Islamic world, translations of the Qur’an, maps and images, and teaching aids. [For further information on how to use the Oxford Islamic Studies Online].
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World,
This encyclopedia constitutes a major revision and massive expansion of the 1995 Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World. In addition to covering Islamic societies in the modern world from the eighteenth century to the present, as the earlier four-volume set did, it will add a depth of historical background going back to the pre-Islamic era. The new reference also covers the full geographical extent of Islam by focusing not only on the countries in which Islam is dominant, but also on regions in which Muslims live as minorities, such as Europe and the Americas.
available in full on the site with access to archived articles that have been updated in the new Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World
The Routledge handbook of Islam and gender (2021)
The Routledge Handbook of Islam and Gender is an outstanding reference source to key topics, problems, and debates in this exciting subject. Comprising over 30 chapters by a team of international contributors the Handbook is divided into seven parts: Foundational texts in historical and contemporary contexts Sex, sexuality, and gender difference Gendered piety and authority Political and religious displacements Negotiating law, ethics, and normativity Vulnerability, care, and violence in Muslim families Representation, commodification, and popular culture