Research Guides: Fula Language and Culture Acquisitions at Columbia: Literature: Drama, Folktales, Novels, Poetry

Literature: Drama, Folktales, Novels, and Poetry

Abdoua, Maïnassara. Taalaaji fulbe Niijer. Binndudo taalaaji dii woni Mainassara Abdoua. Contes peuls du Niger. [Niamey?] : Direction Generale des Affairs Culturelles, [1997] (178 p.) [Folktales in Fulfulde.]
Abdoulaye, Oumarou Dalil. Mbooku : Poésie peule du Diamaré, Nord-Cameroun. Vol. 1. Poèmes du Ardo Ali Koura. Paris : L'Harmattan, c1988- [In Fulfulde and French, selected poetry.]
Bâ, Amadou Hampâté. Kaïdara : récit initiatique peul. Rapporté par Amadou-Hampâté Bâ ; édité par Amadou-Hampâté Bâ et Lilyan Kesteloot. Classiques africains ; 7. [Paris]: Julliard, 1969. (112 p.) [Fula & French]
--See also: English translation from the French
Bâ, Amadou Hampaté. Koumen: texte initiatique des pasteurs Peul. Cahiers de l'homme ; nouv. sér., 1. Paris: EHESS, 2009. (95 p.)
--See also: 1961 ed.
Ba, Oumar. Poèmes Peul modernes. 2e éd. Etudes mauritaniennes. Nouakchott: Impr. Mauritanienne, 1965. (47 p.)
Bah, Aadama Sammba. Piindi koyle : jime pulaar. Nouakchott, Mauritanie : Éditions de la librairie, 2016. (58 p.) [Poetry in Pular.]
Bah, Bacca. Ñaawoore. Ndakaaru [Dakar]: Associates in Research and Education for Development, 2005. (282 p.) [A novel.]
Bah, Ibrahima Caba. Cerno Abdourahmane Bah: éléments biographiques, suivis de quelques poèmes avec une traduction en français. Labé [Guinea]: Defte Cernoyà, 1998. (150 p.)
Bah, Mammadu Aliw. Tinndi e daari. Ndakaaru : ARED, Associates in Research and Education for Development, 2017. (44 p.) [Short book of folktales in Pular.]
Bah, Mamadou Oumar...[et al.] Towoobe tiba bamdat : élevons le toit ensemble. Illustration par Ibrahima Wellé. E-book. Série pulaar ; no. 11. Dakar, Senegal: Société international de linguistique (S.I.L.) ; African Language Materials Archive, [1989], 2001. (29 p.) [Selected poems in Pular from Futa Toro, northern Senegal.]
Bah, Saydu. Sammba jallo : moni fof e feccere mum. Dakar: Editions Papyrus Afrique, 2005. (106 p.) [A novel in Pular.]
Balde, Moodi Usmaani Paraya. Gimdi ngurndan e tama'u : poèmes de la vie et de l'espoir. E-book. Conakry: Weebitande Dudal ; Dakar, Senegal: African Language Materials Archive, [1966], 2001. (59 p.)
Baldeh, Ebrima. Jib̳b̳i he Pulaar. Kanifing, The Gambia : Fulladu Publishers, 2017. [Poetry in Gambian Fula.]
Baumgardt, Ursula. Une conteuse peule et son répertoire : Goggo Addi de Garoua, Cameroun : textes et analyses. Paris: Karthala, c2000. (548 p.) [Epic poetry in Fulfulde]
Bergers des mots : poésie peule du Mâssina. Présentée et traduite par Christiane Seydou. [Issy-les-Moulineaux] : Classiques africains ; Paris : Les Belles Lettres, c1991. (363 p.) [Poetry in Macina Fulfulde, with French translation.]
Coulibaly, Samba and Amadou Tall. (rac., trad, et eds.). Tinndi : fowru e bojel, fowru e mbeewa [and] Fowru e boti jeedidi E-book. Série pulaar ; no. 3. Dakar, Senegal: Société international de linguistique (S.I.L.) ; African Language Materials Archive, [1988], 2001. (10 p.) [In Pular; two tales.]
Coulibaly, Samba. Yamal Fatimata Boobo Lobbo : les fiançailles de Fatimata Boobo Lobbo. E-book. Série pulaar ; no. 4. Dakar, Senegal: Société international de linguistique (S.I.L.) ; African Language Materials Archive, [1989], 2001. (7 p.) [In Pular; folktale]
Deftere go'abere. 2 vols. Cairo: Kawtal janngoobe Pulaar, 2003.
Dem, Ibirahiima. Sahre goonga. Ndakaaru [Dakar] : Associates in Research and Education for Development, 2004. (60, [4] p.) [A novella.]
[Diagne, Mountaga.] Ngulloori. [binndudo Muntagaa Jaañ] Dakar, Senegal: Société international de linguistique (S.I.L.), 1989, (23 p.) [Poetry]
--See also: E-book (Dakar: African Language Materials Archive, 2001)
[Diallo] Dyallo, Dyenabu Kumantyo. Pellun gondhi : (Gimdhi pular -- poésie pular). E-book. Conakry: Editions Ganndal ; Dakar, Senegal: African Language Materials Archive, 1996, [2001] (48 p.)
[Diallo] Jallo, Iisaa Alahaji Jibiliira. Taali men Burkina. E-book. Do hawja John P. Huchison ; natudo, Mady Kafando. Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso: Publié par le Bureau de l'UNESCO pour le Sahel; Dakar, Senegal: African Language Materials Archive, 1999, 2006. (70 p.)
[Diallo] Jallo, Iisaa Alahaji Jibiliira. Taali men Burkina : moy̳y̳indo taali. Koudougou, [Burkina Faso] : SEDELAN, 2006- (3 vols: [1]. Oolal e jokolb̳e cuusub̳e ; 2. Koccaari beero ; 3. Sammbo kulol.) [Columbia Library only has v. 2-3]
[Diallo] Jallo, Liisa. Ndeera. E-book. Dakar, Senegal: UNESCO Bureau régional de Dakar (BREDA); African Language Materials Archive, [199-?], 2006. (49 p.)
Diallo, Moussa. Poésies pastorales peules du Djoloff et du Ferlo. Dakar : L'Harmattan-Sénégal, [2023]. (326 p.) [Pular poetry, with French translation.]
[Diallo] Jallo, Ndane Seelenke. Fii hondun? E-book. Paris: Binndi e Jannde ; Dakar, Senegal: African Language Materials Archive, c1984, 2001. (30 p.)
[Diallo] Jallo, Yero Dooro. Jubbande e nguurndam neddanke. Dakar-Liberté, Sénégal : Associates in Research & Education for Development (ARED), [2017] (63 p.) [Pular short fiction.]
[Diallo] Jallo, Yero Dooro. Ndikkiri joom moolo. Ndakaaru [Dakar]: Associates in Research and Education for Development, 2004. (246 p.) [Originally published in 1981, the first full-length novel in Pular is a parody on the traditional Peul epic about a guitarist in the Futa Toro.]
[Diallo] Jallo, Yero Dooro. Silaamaka e pullooru. Ndakaaru, Senegaal : Associates in Research & Education for Development, 2011, 1989. (114 p.) [Pular; oral epic in form of a novel.]
[Diop] Joob, Mammadu Sammba. Wullaango boolumbal. Dakar, Sénégal : ARED, 2002. (111 p.) [Poetry]
Eguchi, Paul Kazuhisa (comp.) Fulfulde tales of North Cameroon. 3 vols. African languages and ethnography ; 11. Tokyo : Institute for the Study of Languages and Cultures of Asia and Africa, 1978-1982. [Fulfulde & English]
Le Fantang : poèmes mythiques des bergers peuls : textes de la tradition orale peule. Edités par Siré Mamadou Ndongo. Paris: Karthala, c1986. (204 p.)
La Femme, la vache, la foi : écrivains et poètes du Foûta--Djalon. Edités par Alfâ Ibrâhîm Sow. Classiques africains ; no. 5. [Paris]: Julliard, 1966. (376 p.)
Ka, Maamuudu Sidiki. Fuuta uurii kam : jime. Senegal : Editions Papyrus Afrique, 2019. (94 p.) [Poetry in Pular.]
Kafanndo, Lamusa Tewdoor. Yonki am na yidđi ma sanne : taalweol. Ouagadougou : La Nouvelle Edition pour la Promotion des Langues Nationales, [2010] (30 p. ; version originale en français: Je t'aime à la folie, traduit par Diallo Hassane.)
Kan, Aamadu Tijjaani. Doose̳e celluka : njubbudi badal pulaar : rogere timmungal. Dakar, Senegal : ÉÉNAS, 2009. (77 p.)
Kan, Aamadu Tijjaani. Kisal ganni : naatirdi haa ciiltirdi ndunngu. Ndakaaru: Editions Nanondiral, 2004. (108 p.)
Kane, Hamidou. Inta aanniinde = Aventure ambiguë. Inndudo, Seek Haamiidu Kan ; firdo e'demngal Pulaar, Abuubakri Dem. Ndakaaru: ARED, 2005. (220 p.) [The celebrated novel in Pular, translated from the French.]
Kuletee, Mo. Waaweede : keɓɓitol. Paris : l'Harmattan [Guinée], c2023. (91 p.) [A short novel in Pular.]
Laamtooro Sal Abdul Tokosel. Jimdi aduna. Dakar, Sénégal : EDISAL, [2021] (84 p.) [Poetry in Pular.]
Nuuygal haala. Vol. 4. Bamako, République du Mali: Direction Nationale de l'Alphabétisation Fonctionelle et de la Linguistique Appliquée, DNAFLA-IPNF, 1994-
Paamanta, Demmba Abubakar. Beldi Maasina. Bamako : Togouna Edition, 2005. (157 p.) [Macina Fulfulde]
Paamanta, Demmba Abubakar. Jammba. [Bamako : Togouna Edition, 2008.] (33 p.) [A novella in Macina Fulfulde.]
Paamanta, Demmba Abubakar. Maayo kumbe : recueil de poèmes en fulfulde. [Bamako, Mali]: Editions Jamana, [1995?] (95 p.)
Poésie peule de l'Adamawa. 2 vols. Editée par Pierre-Francis Lacroix. [Paris] : Julliard, [1965] (645 p.) [Poetry in Fulfulde, with French translation.]
Sal, Seyni. Jalo gumd̳o. Ndakaaru [Dakar]: ARED, 2006. (128 p.) [Poetry in Pular.]
Sall, Amadou Lamine. Oeuvre complète : poésie. [Dakar] : Éditions Feu de brousse, 2010. (658 p.) [Edition multilingue français, anglais, pulaar/fulfulde, italien, espagnol, catalan, arabe, allemand, portugais]
Sall, Thierno Seydou. Gaale kangaado ; binndudo o ko Ceerno Saydu Sal. Wadi firo ngo ko Ramata A. Jah. Thiès, Senegal : s.n., 199-?. (61 p.) [Translation from celebrated book of Wolof poems, Kër dof.]
--See also: E-book ( Dakar: African Language Materials Archive, 2001.)
Sall, Thierno Seydou. Suuxat. Tekki ci pulaar, Raamata Jah = Ilnude ; jime, Ceerno Saaydu Sàll ; bađđo firo ngo, Raamata Jah. [Senegal]: Oxfam America, [between 1990 and 1994] (64 p.)
--See also: E-book [Dakar: African Language Material Archive, 2001]
Seydou, Christiane. (pres. et trad.) Bergers des mots : poésie peule du Mâssina. Classiques africains ; 24. [Issy-les-Moulineaux]: Classiques africains ; Paris: Les Belles Lettres, c1991. (357 p.) [Fula & French]
Soh, Jeynaba Buubu. Nehdi e ngonka debbo nder renndo fulbe. Ndakaaru [Dakar]: ARED, 2005.
(132 p.)
Sow, Abdoul Aziz. La poésie orale peule: Mauritanie-Sénégal: essai de typologie et choix de textes. Oralités. Paris: L'Harmattan, c2009. (417 p.) [Pular & French]
Taylor, F. W. Fulani-Hausa readings in the native scripts : with transliterations and translations. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1929. (259 p.)
Wàdd, Maam Daawur. Debbo muumo. Binndudo Maam Daawur Waad ; natdo, Sidy Lamine Dramé. Ndakaaru [Dakar]: ARED, 2005. (30 p.) [Folktales, in Pular translated from Wolof.]
[Wàdd, Maam Daawur] Wade, Mame Daour. Ngaari Mawndi : le taureau fantastique = ngaari keewndi kaarwissaaji! Illustration, Moustapha Ndiaye ; traduction en Pulaar, Hamme Aamadu Lih. Dakar: Bibliothèque--Lecture--Développement, 2003. (25 p.)
[Wan, Mammadu Abdurahiim] Wan, Mamma. Jimol maayo. Dakar, Sénégal : Editions Papyrus Afrique, 2013. (93 p.) [Poetry in Pular.]