Research Guides: Fula Language and Culture Acquisitions at Columbia: Home--Dictionaries, Grammars, Library Catalogs, & Internet Resources

NOTE

This bibliography on the Fula language and cultures --to be frequently updated-- encompasses published works in and about Pular, Peul, Fula, Fulani, and Fulfulde in the countries of Senegal, Mauritania, The Gambia, Guinea, Sierra Leone, Mali, Burkina Faso, Ghana, Benin, Niger, Nigeria, Cameroon, Chad, and The Sudan. The list represents highlights from the last fifty years of library acquisitions at Columbia University. Related titles in Arabic, English, French, and German listed here consist of literary works in translation, literary criticism, biographies, or studies in Fula culture, history, and language.

The home page lists dictionaries, glossaries, grammars, phrasebooks, beginner readers, textbooks, Internet resources, and related library research tools.

Part of: African Studies at Columbia

Reference -- Dictionaries & Glossaries

Ba, Oumar. Petit lexique peul-français de la faune et de la flore du Fouta Toro. Langues africaines au Sénégal. Dakar: Centre de linguistique appliquée de Dakar, 1968. (45 leaves)
Ba, Oumar. Petit vocabulaire de la langue peul, parlée au Fouta Toro. Langues africaines au Sénégal ; no. 35. [Dakar]: Centre de linguistique appliquée de Dakar, 1975. (56 leaves)
Ba, Oumar. De la terminologie géographique poular (Sénégal-Mauritanie) Langues africaines au Sénégal; no. 58. Dakar : Centre de linguistique appliquée, 1975. (111 leaves)
Baldeh, Fodeh. A dictionary of Gambian Fula : Pulaar-English : English-Pulaar. Kanifing, Gambia : Fulladu Publishers, 2020. (207 p.)
Bautista, Andreliz ...[et al.]. Dictionnaire de Fulfulde (Fulfulde dictionary), trainee's book. E-book. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Education, Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), 200-? [Electronic version of: Dictionnaire de Fulfulde (Fulfulde dictionary), trainee's book. Niamey, Niger: Peace Corps, [1991] ; 101 p.]
Dewterefirtoore karfeeje juuju en banngal sariyaaji doggooji dow neddo e koreeji. [Ouagadougou], Burkina Faso, 2002. (30 p.) [A glossary of legal terms in Fula & French.]
De Wolf, Paul P. English-Fula Dictionary : Fulfulde, Pulaar, Fulani : a multidialectal approach. 3 vols. Sprache und Oralität in Afrika ; Bd. 18. Berlin: D. Reimer, 1995.
Diall, Gouro and Bory Traore. Lexique des élections : français-fulfulde. Bamako : Ministère de l'éducation de base, Direction nationale de l'alphabétisation fonctionnelle et de la linguistique appliquée, 1997. (18 p.)
Gaden, Henri. Dictionnaire peul-français. ["...du fichier Gaden des manuscrits de l'I.F.A.N., enrichi par une équipe de chercheurs du Fuuta-Tooro et du Fuuta-Dyaloo."] Catalogues et documents ; no. 22. Dakar: Institut fondamental d'Afrique noire, 1969 [i.e. 1970--)
Gaden, Henri. Le poular: dialecte peul du Fouta sénégalais. [v. 2: lexique poular-français.] Collection de la Revue du monde musulman. [Reprint of 1914 ed. pub. by E. Leroux, Paris.] Farnborough: Gregg, 196-?
Gajdos, Martina. Praktisches Wörterbuch : Deutsch-Fulfulde, Fulfulde-Deutsch. Veröffentlichungen der Institute für Afrikanistik und Ägyptologie der Universität Wien; Nr. 89. Wien: Afro-Pub, c2000. (516 p.)
Kah, Fari Siilat. Saggitorde fannuyankoore : lekde e pudi. [Dakar, Senegal]: Goomu Winndiyankoobe Demde Ngenndiije, 1997. (104 p.)
Kah, Fari Siilat, Abuu Bakri Dem, and Yero Dooro Jallo. Saggitorde fannuyankoore : taariindi, demal, ngaynaaka (Pulaar--Pulaar--Farayse). Ndakaaru, Senegaal: Associates in Research and Education for Development, 2000. (167 p.)
Labouret, Henri. La langue des Peuls ou Foulbé: lexique français--peul. Mémoires de l'Institut français d'Afrique noire; no 41. Dakar: I.F.A.N., 1955. (160 p.)
Lexique (fulfulde-français). Bamako: République du Mali, Ministère de l'éducation nationale, DNAFLA, 1993. (314 p.)
Mohamadou, Aliou. Dictionnaire des mots grammaticaux et des dérivatifs du peul : parlers du Fuuta-Tooro. Paris : Éditions Karthala, [2015] (214 p.)
Mukoshy, Ibrahim A. A Fulfulde-English dictionary. Ibadan, Nigeria : Hebn, 2014. (619 p.)
Nassirou, B.A. ... [et al.]. (comp.) Dewtere jiiba maandinoore karfeeje ley haalaaji d̳id̳i : Fulfulde - Faransiire : Faransiire-Fulfulde. 2ème version révisée. [Burkina Faso] : Burkina Faso Ministère de l'enseignement de base et de l'alphabétisation, 2003. (140 p.) [Fula & French]
Ndiaye, Mamadou. Lexique pulaar : à partir des questionnaires linguistiques de Greenberg et de Tervuren, adaptés et traduits en pulaar. Langues nationales au Sénégal ; no. 10. [Dakar]: Centre de linguistique appliquée de Dakar, 1982. (34 leaves)
Niang, Mamadou Ousmane. Pulaar--English / English--Pulaar. New York: Hippocrene Books, 1997. (275 p.)
Noye, Dominique. Dictionnaire foulfouldé--français : dialecte peul du Diamaré, Nord--Cameroun. Illustrations de Christian Seignobos. Garoua, Cameroun: Procure des missions ; Paris: Librairie orientaliste P. Geuthner, c1989.
Osborn, Donald Zhang, David J. Dwyer, and Joseph I. Donohoe, Jr. A Fulfulde (Maasina)--English--French lexicon : a root based compilation drawn from extant sources followed by English--Fulfulde and French--Fulfulde listings. East Lansing, MI: Michigan State University Press, 1993. (688 p.)
--See also: E-Book
Parietti, Giuseppe. Dictionnaire français--foulfouldé & index foulfouldé: Complément au Dictionnaire foulfouldé--français de Dominique Noye. Dialecte peul de l'extrême Nord du Cameroun. Illustrations de Christian Seignobos. Guidiguis: Mission catholique, [199--?] (488 p.)
Rabier, Denis and Wali Dicko. Dictionnaire français-- fulfulde du Sahel Burkinabé. Koudougou, Burkina Faso: Editions du Sedelan, 2005. (864 p.)
Saggitorde ngaynaaka e'nehgol ndariindi = Dictionnaire spécialisé d'elevage Pulaar. Nouakchott, Mauritanie: Institut des langues nationales, Departement de la recherche, c1997. (135 p.)
Seydou, Christiane. Dictionnaire pluridialectal des racines verbales du peul : peul--français--anglais = A dictionary of verb roots in Fulfulde dialects : Fulfulde--French--English. Avec la collaboration de D.W. Arnott ... [et al.] Paris: Editions Karthala: Agence de la francophonie (ACCT), c1998. (894 p.)
Taylor, Frank William. A Fulani-English dictionary. Oxford : Clarendon Press, 1932. (242 p.)
Taylor, Frank William. A Fulani--Hausa vocabulary. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1927. (136 p.)
Tourneux, Henry and Yaya Daïrou. Dictionnaire peul de l'agriculture et de la nature (Diamaré, Cameroun) : suivi d'un index français--fulfulde. Paris: Editions Karthala ; Wageningen: CTA ; Montpellier: Editions du CIRAD, c1998. (547 p.)
Tourneux, Henry. Dictionnaire peul du corps et de la santé : (Diamaré, Cameroun). Avec la collaboration de Boubakary Abdoulaye, Hadidja Konaï, Fakih Ousmane. Paris: Karthala, c2007. (614 p.)
Tourneux, Henry and Yaya Daïrou. Vocabulaire peul du monde rural: Maroua--Garoua, Cameroun. Paris: Karthala ; Garoua: Développement paysannal et gestion de terroirs, 1999. (247 p.)

Grammars, Phrasebooks, Beginner Readers, & Textbooks

Adam, Abdallah. Erzälungen in Fulfulde. Niedergeschrieben von Abdallah Adam, transkribiert, übersetzt und mit einem Nachtrag: Erzählungen im Dialekt von Sokoto, von D. Westermann. Lehrbücher des Seminars für Orientalische Sprachen zu Berlin; Bd. 30. Berlin: G. Reiner, 1913. (173 p.)
Annen kaden gam beyden gollirge : Laawol janninol ekkitadde lugginol ande fulfulde. [Benin : publisher not identified, 2007]. (100 p.) [Literacy textbook in Fulfulde.]
Arensdorff, L. Manuel pratique de langue peulh. Paris: Librairie P. Geuthner, 1966. (424 p.)
--See also: 1913 edition -and- E-book, via Hathi Trust
Ba araneere n'den. [Guinea] : [Pottal Haali Pular Foutah Djallo], [2008]. (40 p.) [In Pular, Adlam script, an ABC book in Pular.]
Bah, Abdu... [et al.] Silsilat kutub taʻlīm al-lughah al-Fūlānīyah. Murājaʻat Ṣabrī Ibrāhīm Salāmah, ʻĀdil ʻUthmān Imām, ʻUmar al-Sayyid ʻAbd al-Fattāḥ. al-Qāhirah : Jāmiʻat al-Qāhirah, Maʻhad al-Buḥūth wa-al-Dirāsāt al-Afrīqīyah, 2003- (Deftere 1. Fud̳d̳orde Pulaar; Deftere 2. Doosďe Pulaar; Deftere 3-4. Conyce.) [Columbia has volume 3-4 only ; Arabic & Pular]
Baldeh, Fodeh. Njanngen Pulaar : a handbook on the Fula language. Kanifing, The Gambia : Fulladu Publishers, 2015. (243 p.)
Barry, Thierno Souleymane and Thierno Algassimou Baldé. Manuel d'apprentissage de la grammaire du poular. Paris : L'Harmattan, c2022, (124 p.)
Bidaud, Lucien and André Prost. Manuel de langue peule : dialecte du liptako (Dori, Haute--Volta). Paris: Publications orientalistes de France, c1982. (236 p.)
Burkina Faso. Commission Nationale des Langues Voltaiques, Sous-Commission du Fulfulde = Waalde Daraniinde Fulfulde nder Burkina Faso. Miilooji. Ouagadougou : [Dewte suudu baaba], 2006. (44 p.) [Reader.]
Cemmidinen ande men der jande e gaduuji : dewtere jannudo. [Benin : publisher not identified, 2009]. (46 p.) [Literacy textbook in Fulfulde.]
Cenam e sennugol nokku. Mali: DNAFLA : Unesco, 1992. [In Fula; Children's reader.]
Dewtere ekkitaade dow laawol PdT = Guide d'apprentissage en pédagogie du texte. Kakkilaniibe gadu dewere ne: Maxime J. R. Dadjanohou, Florent Noudahikpon ; wadube binniiri: Demmo K. Siddiiku, Yaaru K. Gunu. [Benin : publisher not identified, 20--?]. (84 p.) [Literacy textbook in Fulfulde.]
Deftere go'abere. 2 vols. Cairo : Kawtal janngoobe Pulaar, 2003. [Grammar in Pular.]
Diallo, Abdourahmane. Grammaire descriptive du pular du Fuuta Jaloo (Guinée). Frankfurt : P. Lang, 2000. (256 p.) [The author's doctoral dissertation, 1999.]
[Diallo] Jallo, Mammadu. Deftere usuulu n'den. Egguɗo on ko: Mammadu Jallo ; n'de eggaama e nder leydi Senegaal. [Guinea] : [publisher not identified], [2015]. (40 p.) [In Pular, a short textbook on Adlam script: "Winden jangen Adlam Pular."]
[Diallo] Jallo, Yero Dooro. Jubbande e nguurndam neddanke. Dakar-Liberté, Sénégal : Associates in Research & Education for Development (ARED), [2017]. (63 p.) [Short reader in Pular.]
Dookuu kitaabu foloo. Banjul, the Gambia : W.E.C. International, 1992. (63 p.) [Gambian Fula reader and workbook.]
Fofana, Amadou Tidiane and Antonia Folarin Schleicher. Pulaar learners' reference grammar. African language learners' reference grammar series; no. 2. Madison, Wis.: NALRC Press, 2002. (358 p.)
Fulani dictionary & phrasebook. Compiled by Yusuf Salihu Jauro and Aquilina Mawadza. New York : Hippocrene Books, Inc., [2019]
Gajdos, Martina. Die Ran̳aab̳e, eine Fulgruppe um Nioro du Sahel (Mali) : ein Dialeckt-Vergleich. Wien : Afro-Pub : Institut für Afrikanistik und Ägyptologie der Universität Wien, 1995. (122 p.) [Fulfulde grammar in German, with a glossary in German, French, & Fulfulde.]
Jannde. Bamako: Direction nationale de l'alphabétisation fonctionnelle et de la linguistique appliquée, 1990. [In Fula; Children's reader]
Janngen fulfulde : textes. Niamey, Niger: Centre régional de documentation pour la tradition orale, c1970- [Fulfulde reader for neo-literates.]
Leroy, Anne and Alpha Oumar Kona Balde. Parlons pular : dialecte du Fouta Djalon. Paris: L'Harmattan, c2002. (287 p.)
Minan Ekkito Fulfulde = Manuel de Fulfulde. E-book. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Education, Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), 200-? [Electronic version of: Minan Ekkito Fulfulde = Manuel de Fulfulde. [Niamey, Niger]: Peace Corps Niamey, [1993] ; 142 p.]
Mohammadou, Eldridge. Lisez et écrivez le foulfouldé. [Yaoundé: Ministère de l'éducation, de la culture et de la formation professionnelle, Centre fédéral linguistique et culturel, 1971] (123 p.)
Moumouni, Seyni. Français-Fulfulde. Guides pratiques des langues nationales. Niger. Toulouse: Institut des Langues et Cultures Africaines (ILCA), 2005. (30 p.)
Ndiaye, Mamadou. Manuel d'exercices structuraux du pulaar. Collection Langues nationales. Dakar, Sénégal: Presses universitaires de Dakar, 2001. (32 p.)
Noye, Dominique. Cours pratique de langue peul (fulfuldé du Nord--Cameroun). 2 vols. Maroua, Cameroun: Mission catholique, 197--
Piindi ganndal : tiidtinirde taro, binndande taro, ekkorde celluka. E-book. Dakar, Senegal: Associates in Research and Education for Development (ARED) ; African Language Materials Archive, 2001. (95 p.) [In Pular; Reader and textbook]
Sal, Seyni and Aamadu Jool. Dogdu aadama almudel. Dakar, Senegal : ARED, 2008. (24 p.) [Short novella for young adults.]
Sal, Seyni. Teen yooliima. Dakar, Senegal : ARED, 2008. (31 p.) [Short novella for young adults.]
Sow, Alfâ Ibrâhîm. Janngen fulfulde. Paris: Présence africaine, 1969. (32 p.) [Fulfulde beginner's reader, with phonetics.]
Sow, Salamatou Alhassoumi. Le gaawoore: parler des Peuls Gaawoobe (Niger occidentale). Louvain ; Dudley, MA: Peeters, 2003. (118 p.)
Sowe, Amadou. Demngal Pulaar : doosde cellude (Grammar). [Senegal?] : Pulaar Book, 2015. (83 p.)
Stennes, Leslie H. A reference grammar of Adamawa Fulani. African language monograph ; no. 8. [East Lansing, MI]: African Studies Center, Michigan State University, 1967. (285 p.)
Swift, Lloyd Balderston, Kalilu Tambadu, and Paul G. Imhoff. Fula : basic course. Foreign Service Institute basic course series. Washington, DC: Dept. of State, 1965. (489 p.) [Gambian Fula]
--See also: E-book
Sylla, Yèro. Grammaire moderne du pulaar. Dakar: Nouvelles éditions africaines, c1982. (233 p.)
Taro : ngonka aynaabe [Directeur de volume Sonja Fagerberg-Diallo]. Ndakaaru, Senegaal : ARED, 2002. (104 p.) [Textbook in Pular]
Taylor, F. W. A first grammar of the Adamawa dialect of the Fulani language (Fulfulde). Oxford: The Clarendon Press, 1921. (135 p.)

Abubakaar, Paamanta Demmba. Beldi Maasina. Bamako, Mali : Togouna Edition, 2005. (157 p.) [Folktales & poetry in Maasina Fulfulde.]

Ba, Oumar. Le Foûta Tôro au carrefour des cultures : [les Peuls de la Mauritanie et du Sénégal]. Paris : L'Harmattan, [1977] (426 p.) [Compendium on Fula or Haal Pulaaren culture, history & sociology, with analysis in French, plus, notes on the Peul alphabet, glossary on time concepts in Pular & glossaries on foreign terms in Pular.]

Beïdi, Boubacar Hama. Taariki Fulb̳e Dallol / Buubakar Hamma Beed̳i = Histoire des Peuls du Dallol. Niamey, Niger : Edition Albasa, c2003. (213 p.) [Fulfulde & French; "Dallol" is in Dosso region, about 100 km SE of Niamey, Niger.]

Coulibaly, Samba. Yamal Fatimata Boobo Lobbo : les fiançailles de Fatimata Boobo Lobbo. E-book. Série pulaar; no. 4. Dakar, Senegal : Société international de linguistique (S.I.L.) ; African Language Materials Archive, 1989, 2001.
(7 p.) [As told in Pulaar by Samba Coulibaly, a traditional Peul story about Daftondiral, or the competition, in order to marry a beautiful girl named Fatimata Boobo Lobbo.]

Deftere heblo kismal golle rewle jowtiide e faggudu. E-book. Dakar, Senegal: Centre africain de l'entrepreneuriat féminin (C.A.E.F.); African Language Materials Archive, 1998, 2001. (125 p.) [A 17-page excerpt from the original book in Pular, a 'women's sourcebook on economy'.]

Diallo, Amadou Oury. Epopée du Foûta-Djalon : la chute du Gâbou: version peule de Farba Ibrâhîma Ndiâla. Paris : Harmattan : Organisation internationale de la francophonie ; [Dakar] : Institut fondamental d'Afrique noire, c2009. (259 p.) [Pular & French]

[Diallo] Jallo, Yéro Dooro. Dewle Fulbe. Natal naro yeeso ngal ko Sidy Lamine Dramé wadi dum. E-book. Dakar, Senegal: Associates in Research and Education for Development (ARED); African Language Materials Archive, c2000, 2001. (67 p.) [In Pular, the author describes in detail all aspects of traditional marriage among the Fulbe.]

Guélâdio Ham Bodêdio : héros de la poulâgou à travers deux récits épiques peuls. [Ed. & trad. par] Aminata Wane. Dakar : L'Harmattan Sénégal, [2016]
(255 p.) [Massina Fulfulde & French; with critical analysis in French.]

Lam, Aboubacry Moussa. Sawru ganndal : yoo tuubaako artir jabbere mum. Dakar, Sénégal : Editions Papyrus Afrique, c2005. (204 p.) [[In Pular, essays on connections or parallels between Fula- or Pular-speaking populations of western Africa & the historic cultures of Ancient Egypt & the Near East.]]

Mukoshy, Ibrahim A. A Fulfulde-English dictionary. Ibadan, Nigeria : Hebn, 2014.
(619 p.)

Sammba Gelaajo Jeegi. E daarol Sule Njimmbat Bah, to Carn̳e ; rob̳indo e waanjijto, Fari Siilat Kah. Ndakaaru : Associates in Research and Education for Development, 2000. (111 p.) [In Pular, as told by griot Sule Njimmbat Bah, the heroic Peul epic from the Futo Toro about Samba, 17th century Déniyankobé prince.]

Tourneux, Henry and Yaya Daïrou. Dictionnaire peul de l'agriculture et de la nature (Diamaré, Cameroun) : suivi d'un index français-fulfulde. Paris : Editions Karthala ; Wageningen : CTA ; Montpellier : Editions du CIRAD, c1998. (547 p.)

African Studies Librarian

Yuusuf Caruso

Email Me

Contact:

Columbia University
309 Lehman Library
Global Studies
420 West 118th Street
New York, NY 10027 USA
212-854-8045
caruso@columbia.edu

Library Catalogs

CLIO
(All CU libraries EXCEPT Law Library & Teachers College)

WorldCat

CU Guides to Internet Resources

African Studies WWW-Virtual Library

Diallo, Abdourahmane. Précis de grammaire et de lexique du peul du Fouta Djallon. Tokyo : Research Institute for Languages and Cultures of Asia and Africa, 2015. (398 p.)
--See also: E-Book (via Prometheus Academic Collections)

[Diallo] Jallo, Yéro Dooro. Ndikkiri joom moolo. Ndakaaru [Dakar] : Associates in Research and Education for Development, 2004. (246 p.) [Originally published in 1981, the first full-length novel in Pular is a parody on the traditional Peul epic about a guitarist in the Futa Toro.]

[Seck] Sek, Mammadu Abdul. Payka : kab̳b̳ol Gadanol, Pulareeje e konngud̳i dab̳b̳i. [Edited by] Feenwni ko Ceerno Aliw Mohammadu. [Sénégal] : Timtimol/KJPF, 2009.
(251 p.) [Proverbs in Pular.]

Tinguidji. Silâmaka & Poullôri : récit épique peul. Raconté par Tinguidji ; édité par Christiane Seydou. [Paris] : A. Colin, [c1972] (277 p., plus 3 phonodiscs--45 rpm.)