Streaming Video : Personal Streaming Services

​The library licenses streaming video when available for educational use. Not all streaming content is available for educational license. For example, Amazon Prime has a significant collection of moving image content only available through personal paid  accounts. Netflix has unique content not available for DVD purchase or educational streaming license. Increasingly, streaming services are producing original content only available through a paid subscription with the provider. 

These streaming video guides provide search and browse features to locate films and television programming through personal streaming services.

• Decider
• JustWatch
• Reelgood

STREAMING VIDEO PLATFORMS 

Amazon Freevee
Another streaming option from Amazon providing free streaming service for select movies and shows with ads. 

Amazon Prime
Amazon Prime Video offers access to a select and dynamic collection of films, television, and Amazon original series. Prime Video comes with an Amazon Prime membership or a separate subscription paid monthly. Amazon offers a 6-month free trial for students and a 50% discount on membership following for up to four years as a student. 

AppleTV+
AppleTV+ is host to Apple original series, dramas, and documentaries. Apple offers a 7-day free trial. 

Le Cinéma Club
A curated streaming platform that offers free access to one film every Friday. The film can be viewed for one week. 

Criterion Channel
The Criterion Channel provides streaming access to the Criterion and Janus Films' library of more than 2,000 classic and contemporary films. Films can be searched by title, director, or decade. International in scope, the platform offers a 14-day free trial. Subscription models include monthly or annual payments. The library can license select titles from the Criterion Collection through Kanopy. 

Disney+
The platform offers access to movies and television programming from DIsney, Pixar, Marvel, Lucasfilm and Twentieth Century Fox. Subscriptions can be purchased for an annual or monthly fee. No free trial or student discount at this time. 

HBO Max
HBO streaming platform offers films, television, and HBO original content. Annual or monthly subscription, with or without ads. Without ads is a premium option. No student discount available at this time. 

Hulu
Hulu offers an expansive collection of films, television and, with the premium subscription package, access to live television. Subscription options include with or without ads. The premium package includes access to live television. Hulu offers a 30-day free trial and a student discount on a monthly subscription rate. 

Kino-Now
Extensive collection of more than 1,000 art-house, classic, and independent films. Individual films are available to rent or purchase.  No subscription required. 

Mubi
Mubi is a curated streaming platform that offers a new film every day with a viewing period of 30 days. The collection is eclectic and international in scope. There are no ads. Monthly and annual subscription models are available with a discount applied to an annual package. A 7-day trial is available and special offers to students include a 30-day trial and a discount on monthly subscriptions. 

Netflix
Netflix offers a dynamic and wide-ranging collection of feature films, documentaries, television programming, and original content. The platform offers a basic, standard or premium package at varying monthly rates. Netflix does not offer a student discount and there is no option to trial the service. Note: Netflix offers a select list of films for educational screenings. 

Ovid.tv
Ovid.tv is a joint venture with six independent film distributors: Bullfrog Films, Distrib Films US, First Run Features, Grasshopper Films, Icarus Films and KimStim. The platform offers a curated collection of independent film, documentaries, and international cinema. Monthly or annual subscription fee pricing is available after a 7-day trial offering. 

Paramount+
Paramount+ offers a wide range of on-demand content including films and television programming drawing from channels owned by ViacomCBS (CBS, BET, Comedy Central, MTV, and more). It also offers live streams for news and sports. Subscription pricing is available either monthly or annually. A one-week trial is available in addition to a 25% student discount. 

Peacock
Peacock, owned and operated by NBCUniversal, a subsidiary of Comcast, offers streaming video on demand to movies and television programming in addition to live news and sports. A free ad-supported tier includes thousands of hours of programming. Paid premium tiers are available with or without ads for a monthly or annual subscription fee. Peacock offers a free trial and a student discount for a limited time. 

Showtime
Showtime streaming on demand service provides access to films, television programming, and original programming. A free 30-day trial is available and student discount offers when packaged with other providers like Prime and Hulu. 

Vudu
Vudu is a streaming on demand service with access to films and television programs by pay-per-view model. There is no monthly subscription. The service offers a good selection of free movies through the "Movies On Us" collection.  No student discount provided.