Research Guides: Arnold A. Saltzman Institute of War and Peace Studies: Find Articles

How to start looking for academic articles or studies

To find scholarly articles or studies, you will need to use a database (not CLIO).

Database most used for research in this field:

ProQuest: This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items.

General, interdisciplinary databases:

EBSCO: Make sure to "select all databases" under the "Choose databases" tab.
JSTOR: Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Scopus: Provides indexing, abstracting of, and citation linking to journals in biology, physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.

Frequently Used Journals:

Country Reports on Terrorism published by the U.S. Department of State
The Military Balance

Defense Databases

Armed Conflict Database: From the International Institute for Strategic Studies (IISS). Provides information on armed conflicts including terrorism, refugees/ and returnees, Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs), weapons used and their flows, fatalities, costs ($US), historical backgrounds, annual updates and timelines.
Correlates of War Project: Seeks to facilitate the collection, dissemination, and use of accurate and reliable quantitative data in international relations
Defense Manpower Data Center, the Office of the Undersecretary of Defense (Comptroller)
Defense Technical Information Center: As a Department of Defense (DoD) Field Activity, DTIC operates under the leadership of the Secretary of Defense and reports to the Under Secretary of Defense for Research and Engineering USD(R&E). DTIC supports the USD(R&E)’s efforts to mitigate new and emerging threat capabilities, enable affordable or extended capabilities in existing military systems, and develop technology surprise.
DOD’s Director of Operational Test and Evaluation
Defense Security Cooperation Agency
DSCA Facts Book: Foreign Military Sales, Foreign Military Construction Sales and Military Assistance Facts.
Global Terrorism Database: Managed by the National Consortium for the Study of Terrorism and Responses to Terrorism (START), the Global Terrorism Database™ includes more than 190,000 terrorist attacks dating back to 1970
Military Balance Plus : Data sets are continuously monitored and updated by IISS analysts in the Defence and Military Analysis Programme.
Military Expenditures published by the United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs
Political extremism and radicalism
The SIPRI Arms Transfers Database: Contains information on all international transfers of seven categories of major conventional weapons from 1950 to the most recent full calendar year. It can be used to generate detailed written reports and statistical data.
The SIPRI Military Expenditure Database: Covers 171 countries and contains consistent time series for the period since 1988. The online military expenditure database provides military expenditure data by country in the following three formats: Military expenditure in local currency, at current prices, 1988-present; Military expenditure in US dollars, at constant (2005) prices and exchange rates, 1988-present; Military expenditure as a share (%) of gross domestic product (GDP), 1988-present.

International Affairs Databases

ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database: Citations to articles, reviews, and books in the fields of religion, theology, and ethics, 1975 to the present, updated quarterly.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs online): A wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences
Economist Intelligence Unit: Country: This database is a unique online archive of the Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)'s quarterly country reports, from their beginning in 1952 up to 1995. The reports combine detailed statistical information with expert commentary and analysis from the EIU's analysts, providing high quality summaries of political, economic and commercial developments in almost 200 countries.
Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS): Full-text news, financial and economic information on emerging market countries in Latin America, Central & Eastern Europe, East, South and Southeast Asia, Southeast Europe, Central Asia and Caucasus, Africa and Middle East.
FIRST (Facts on International Relations and Security Trends): A joint project of SIPRI and the International Relations and Security Network. Contains up-to-date and clearly documented information covering many areas in the field of international relations and security.
International Political Science Abstracts: Abstracts articles in the field of political science published in journals (and yearbooks) all over the world. Produced by the International Political Science Association.
PAIS: Citations and abstracts for publications related to public affairs, 1915 to the present.
VERTIC: Verification Research, Training and Information Centre is an independent, non-profit making charitable organization. Established in 1986, VERTIC supports the development, implementation and verification of international agreements as well as initiatives in related areas
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts: Provides access to citations and abstracts of journal articles appearing in political science journals. Coverage: 1975 to the present.

Historical Primary Source Materials

American POWs/MIAs in Southeast Asia
Cambodia : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1960-1963
China and the modern world: China-related historical documents selected from three series within the India Office Records now held at the British Library: the Political and Secret Department Records, the Burma Office records, and the Records of the Military Department.
Churchill Archive
India-Pakistan conflict : records of the U.S. State Department, February 1963-1966
Iraq: records of the U.S. Department of State, 1888-1944
Japan : records of the U.S. Department of State relating to political relations, 1945-1949
Jiefangjun bao: Authoritative media of the Chinese People’s Liberation Army (PLA)
Kenya under colonial rule, in government reports, 1907-1964
Laos : records of the U.S. Department of State, 1963-1966
The Observer : news for the American Soldier in Vietnam, 1962-1973
Pakistan from crown rule to republic: records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1949
Palestine and Israel: records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1959
Refugees, Relief, and Resettlement: Force Migration and World War II
South Vietnam : records of the Office of the Defense Attaché, 1973-1975
Uganda under colonial rule, in government reports, 1903-1961
Sukarno and the Army-PKI rivalry in the years of living dangerously, 1960-1963
U.S. civilian advisory effort in Vietnam:U.S. Operations Mission, 1950-1954
U.S. relations and policies in Southeast Asia, 1944-1958 : records of the Office of Southeast Asian Affairs
U.S. military advisory effort in Vietnam : Military Assistance Advisory Group, Vietnam, 1950-1964

Social Sciences

Project MUSE: Current collection of journals in the humanities and history, maintained by Johns Hopkins University Press. Full-text searching available. It also provides access to individual titles within the collection, such as Africa Today, American Imago, Contemporary Pacific, Ethnohistory, and Public Culture, as well as to other interdisciplinary journals which may also prove useful to anthropological research.
Sage Research: Coverage includes more than 555 SAGE journals, more than 175,000 articles, book reviews, and editorials, with original graphics and tables in the following disciplines: Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology.
Science Direct: Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.