Research Guides: Arnold A. Saltzman Institute of War and Peace Studies: Find Other Resources

Reference Materials

Reference materials provide a good, working knowledge of key issues and sub-topics and provide ideas for other sources to explore. Beyond this list, you should know that all of the following types of materials can be helpful reference material for your research: almanacs, atlases, bibliographies, dictionaries, directories, encyclopedias, handbooks, and indexes.

For guidance on research methodology please consider:

Gale virtual reference library: Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Reference online: Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press.
Qualitative Inquiry Through a Critical Lens: E-resource that highlights work being done in qualitative inquiry through a variety of critical lenses such as new materialism, queer theory, and narrative inquiry.
The SAGE Handbook Research Methods

Directories:

Other Helpful Reference Materials

Defense Almanac: Provides statistics and information on the organization, staff, funding, and equipment of the U.S. Dept. of Defense.
Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (DNFSB): Congress created the DNFSB in 1988 as an independent oversight organization within the Executive Branch to provide advice and recommendations to the Secretary of Energy regarding public health and safety at DOE's defense nuclear facilities.
Department of Defense Dictionary of Military and Associated Terms: All approved joint definitions, acronyms, and abbreviations are contained in Joint Publication 1-02, DOD Dictionary of Military and Associated Terms 08 November 2010, as amended through 15 March 2015.
Foreign Military Bases in Eurasia: SIPRI Policy Paper No. 18, 2007
Instances of Use of United States Armed Forces Abroad, 1798-2007: Prepared by the Congressional Research Service, provided by the Federation of American Scientists.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: Core social sciences and related materials from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages.
Inventory of International Nonproliferation Organizations and Regimes: A regularly-updated public reference covering all international organizations, treaties, & agreements relevant to WMD disarmament and nonproliferation.
Peace Agreements: Chronology and full texts of selected peace accords and processes from around the world, from INCORE.
Peace and Conflict. Biennial. College Park, MD: Center for International Development and Conflict Management, 2001-
Social Theory: Offers an extensive selection of documents that explore the complexities and interpret the nature of social behavior and organization.
United Nations Peacekeeping Resource Hub: A repository for all official DPKO and DFS training and guidance materials, and provides links to other related UN documents and resources. It also offers links to real-time news and updates in the United Nations peacekeeping world.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Governance: Information on topics surrounding governance for the period between the collapse of the post-war consensus and the rise of neoliberal regimes
Encyclopedia of Social Measurement: Articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, & Conflict (2008)
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences: Articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
Warfare and Armed Conflicts: a Statistical Encyclopedia of Casualty and Other Figures, 1494-2007.

General Reference

American National Biography: Biographical essays on notable Americans including artists and writers. Entries are for deceased individuals.
Gale virtual reference library: Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Reference online: Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press.

Handbooks

Handbook of Best Practices on Small Arms and Light Weapons
Provides a set of guidelines developed by the Forum for Security and Co-operation (2003).
Writing Public Policy: A Practical Guide to Communicating in the Policy Making Process
Available in hard copy in Lehman Reference, JF1525.C59 S64 2010
Effective Writing in the Public Sector
Available in hard copy in Lehman Reference, JF1525.R46 S83 2014

Arnold A. Saltzman Institute of War and Peace Studies: Find Other Resources

Reference Materials

Gale virtual reference library: Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Oxford Reference online: Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press.

Other Helpful Reference Materials

Encyclopedias

General Reference

Handbooks

Funding