Research Guides: Environmental and Energy Policy: Find Other Resources

Reference Materials

Reference materials provide a good, working knowledge of key issues and sub-topics and provide ideas for other sources to explore. Beyond this list, you should know that all of the following types of materials can be helpful reference material for your research: almanacs, atlases, bibliographies, dictionaries, directories, encyclopedias, handbooks, and indexes.

For guidance on research methodology please consider Sage Research Methods Database

Other resources for methods:

The SAGE Handbook Research Methods
Design, Evaluation, and Analysis of Questionnaires for Survey Research: Explores updates on the statistical knowledge and development of survey questionnaires, including analyzing the important decisions researchers make throughout the survey design process.
Handbook of Interview Research: Emphasizes the dynamic and reflexive dimensions of the research interview.
Qualitative Inquiry Through a Critical Lens: E-resource that highlights work being done in qualitative inquiry through a variety of critical lenses such as new materialism, queer theory, and narrative inquiry.
Design, Evaluation, and Analysis of Questionnaires for Survey Research: Explores updates on the statistical knowledge and development of survey questionnaires, including analyzing the important decisions researchers make throughout the survey design process.

Directories:

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Ecology: A broad and diverse encyclpedia that covers topics from natural selection to population dynamics to ecosystem health and sustainability.
Encyclopedia of Energy
An A-Z of energy, covering environmental and renewable energy through to fossil fuels and nuclear power.
Encyclopedia of Energy, Natural Resource, and Environmental Economics
Articles on the key resource economic challenges facing our planet.
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society: Provides issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature.
Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change: Contains: 500 authored articles; 150 definitions; 100 acronyms; 100 biographies of widely recognized contributors to global environmental change.
Encyclopedia of Sustainability: Spans the entire scope of sustainability from ecological concepts to financial concerns to public policy and community action.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences: Articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences

Environment Specific

Atlas of the Biosphere: Includes maps of environmental variables and schematics of interconnected environmental systems. A project of the University of Wisconsin's Institute for Environmental Studies' Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment (SAGE).
Best Environmental Directories
EPA - Envirofacts Data Warehouse : Provides information on air, water, and land across the United States.
ENVIROnetBASE : Provides access to environmental handbooks published by CRC Press.
IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
Gale virtual reference library: Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Global Warming: Early Signs: Via a clickable map of the world, this site provides information on "fingerprints" and "Harbingers" of global warming in specific areas, ranging from sea level rise to to fires to coral reef bleaching.
Guide to Sustainable Development and Environmental Policy.
Oxford Reference online: Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press.
Terms & Acronyms (EPA): A dictionary of terms, abbreviations, and acronyms, from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
Terms of Environment: A dictionary of terms, abbreviations, and acronyms, from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
WATERnetBASE: Water References online: Comprehensive multidiscipline resource providing access to reference works on drinking water, ground water, hydrogeology, hydrology, storm water, surface water, waste water, water pollution and wetlands.

General Reference

Gale virtual reference library: Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Bibliographies: Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas
Oxford Reference online: Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press.

Don't Forget

Don't forget, the library provides region specialists in the Global Studies Division for for Africa, Latin America and Iberia, Russia, Eurasia and Eastern Europe, South and Southeast Asia, Jewish Studies, and Middle East and Islamic Studies. (For East Asia, please visit the C.V. Starr East Asian Library)
The Research Data Services Team in Lehman Library is available to help with many aspects of the research data lifecycle including research data management, finding data, recommendation for cleaning and understanding data, mapping and visualizing your data.

Environmental and Energy Policy: Find Other Resources