Research Guides: Environmental and Energy Policy: Find Articles

Scholarly Articles

To find scholarly articles or studies, you will need to use a database (not CLIO).

Students studying the environment or energy typically use the research database Scopus.

Other useful interdisciplinary databases:

EBSCO:Offers a variety of proprietary full-text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
JSTOR: Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Project MUSE: Current collection of journals in the humanities and history, maintained by Johns Hopkins University Press. Full-text searching available. It also provides access to individual titles within the collection, such as Africa Today, American Imago, Contemporary Pacific, Ethnohistory, and Public Culture, as well as to other interdisciplinary journals which may also prove useful to anthropological research.
ProQuest: This resource includes citations and full-text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items.
Web of science core collection: Consists of seven databases containing information gathered from thousands of scholarly journals, books, book series, reports, conferences, and more

On this page, you will find a lot of options to start your research, but these are not all of the databases that you have access to as a Columbia University student! Explore the other research guides to find other databases for different disciplines, or make an appointment with a librarian.

Environmental Databases

Applied Science & Technology Abstracts: Contains nearly 800 scientific and technical publications back to 1983.
BioOne: Full-text journals focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
CIESIN: Center for International Earth Science Information Network Columbia's Center for International Earth Science Information Network provides information on interdisciplinary data, and research problems related to human interactions in the environment.
Energy and Environmental Industries: ITA works to improve the global business environment and helps U.S. organizations compete at home and abroad.
Environment Complete: Contains citations from more than 2200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888.
Environment Abstracts: Access to journal articles, conference papers, federal and state codes, federal agency regulations and decisions, and waste site data, and more.
Environmental Sustainability Index: Provides a measure of overall progress towards environmental sustainability, developed for 142 countries. The ESI permits cross-national comparisons of environmental progress in a systematic and quantitative fashion.
GWI WaterData: Platform designed to support water businesses in strategy building, market assessment and competitor analysis processes. WaterData provides a comprehensive map of the municipal and industrial water and wastewater markets, both providing a top-level view of market trends and slicing the sector by region, technology domain, digital solutions and the industrial sectors. Supported by granular market size data, forecasts, databases and third party sources, GWI intends the platform to be a single-source for all data critical to business planning in the water industry.
ICLEI - Local Governments for Sustainability: The world’s leading network of over 1,000 cities, towns and metropolises committed to building a sustainable future.
NOAA - Climate Data Online : This is the world's largest archive of weather data.
Oceanic Abstracts: Provides information pertaining to marine and brackish water environments.
Sustainability Reference Center: Offers content from more than 800 publications, including journals, monographs, magazines on sustainable development, and human population topics.
Scorecard: Provides local environmental information (air pollution, toxic chemicals, water indicators, and other issues) by zip code.
State of the Environment Reports: Detailed reports for many countries, from the UN Environment Programme.
Sustainable Development Timeline: Prepared by the International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD), the Sustainable Development Timeline traces milestones in the shifting relationship between the environment and development from 1967 to 1998. Links to related sites and charts of five key statistics are also provided
Trends: A Compendium of Data on Climate Change: From the U.S. Department of Energy. Include information about carbon dioxide, greenhouse gases; fossil-fuel consumption, land-use changes, long-term climate trends, rising sea levels and more.
UN - Environment Statistics: A section of the United Nations Statistics Division develops methodologies, data collection, technical cooperation, and coordination in the fields of environmental statistics and indicators. For ex: Environmental Indicators and Country Snapshots.
World Energy Council: Formed in 1923, the Council is the UN-accredited global energy body which promotes an affordable, stable and environmentally sensitive energy system for the greatest benefit of all.

Policy and International Affairs Databases

Africa Wide Information: Coverage of all facets of African studies, dating back to the 16th century.
Business Source Complete: Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business, including management.
Cairn.info: Full text French language publications in the disciplines of economics, political science, sociology, law, history, and psychology, education, and more.
China Academic Journals: Access to Chinese academic periodicals in social science, economics/politics/law, history/philosophy, and education.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs online): A wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
Econlit: Contains economic literature citations, abstracts, and full text to economic research dating back to 1969.
Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS): Full-text news, financial and economic information on emerging market countries in Latin America, Central & Eastern Europe, East, South and Southeast Asia, Southeast Europe, Central Asia and Caucasus, Africa and Middle East.
FRANCIS: A multilingual and multidisciplinary bibliographic database with international scope, covering Humanities and Social sciences. Coverage 1984 to the present.
HeinOnline: Contains the full text of the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents, Foreign Relations of the U.S., Presidential Executive Orders, Congressional Record, U.S. Statutes at Large, and other documents from the executive, congressional and judicial branches of the U.S. government.
Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI): Articles in scholarly journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean, or those dealing with topics relating to Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanic Americans.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences: Core social sciences and related materials from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages. Coverage 1951 to the present.
PAIS : Citations and abstracts for publications related to public affairs, 1915 to the present.
Public Administration Abstracts: Indexes articles related to public administration, public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

News Databases

Access world news
Alt-PressWatch: Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, journals of the alternative and independent press.
Associated Press collections online: Includes a decades' worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more.
Economist: Provides insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology..
Factiva: Full-text database providing news sources from around the world. It also provides detailed facts, figures and analyses of companies, industries and financial markets. Coverage varies by source.
Meet the Press: Includes every surviving program of NBC's Meet the Pressfrom the show's inception in 1947 through the present day.
Mideastwire.com: Offers a daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora.
National Journal: A collection of resources on U.S. politics and policy, including the National Journal, The Hotline, Congress Daily, Technology Daily, Poll Track, Ad Spotlight, and The Almanac of American Politics. Also provides Congressional markup reports and update reports on key legislation.

Social Sciences

Sage Research: Coverage includes more than 555 SAGE journals, more than 175,000 articles, book reviews, and editorials, with original graphics and tables in the following disciplines: Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology.
Science Direct: Web database for scientific research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.