Sustainability Policy Studies: Find Other Resources

• Atlas of the Biosphere: Includes maps of environmental variables and schematics of interconnected environmental systems. A project of the University of Wisconsin's Institute for Environmental Studies' Center for Sustainability and the Global Environment (SAGE).
• Best Environmental Directories
• EPA - Envirofacts Data Warehouse: Provides information on air, water, and land across the United States.
• ENVIROnetBASE : Provides access to environmental handbooks published by CRC Press.
• Environmental Sustainability Index: Provides a measure of overall progress towards environmental sustainability, developed for 142 countries. The ESI permits cross-national comparisons of environmental progress in a systematic and quantitative fashion.
• Global Warming: Early Signs: Via a clickable map of the world, this site provides information on "fingerprints" and "Harbingers" of global warming in specific areas, ranging from sea level rise to to fires to coral reef bleaching.
• Guide to Sustainable Development and Environmental Policy
• IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
• Scorecard: Provides local environmental information (air pollution, toxic chemicals, water indicators, and other issues) by zip code.
• State of the Environment Reports: Detailed reports for many countries, from the UN Environment Programme.
• Sustainable Development Timeline: Prepared by the International Institute for Sustainable Development (IISD), the Sustainable Development Timeline traces milestones in the shifting relationship between the environment and development from 1967 to 1998. Links to related sites and charts of five key statistics are also provided.
• Terms & Acronyms (EPA): A dictionary of terms, abbreviations, and acronyms, from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
• Terms of Environment: A dictionary of terms, abbreviations, and acronyms, from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
• WATERnetBASE: Water References online: Comprehensive multidiscipline resource providing access to reference works on drinking water, ground water, hydrogeology, hydrology, storm water, surface water, waste water, water pollution and wetlands.

• Encyclopedia of Environmental Science and Engineering: Spans the entire spectrum of environmental science and engineering. Articles on topics ranging from acid rain, air pollution, and community health, to environmental law, instrumentation, modeling, alternative energy, toxicology, radioactive waste, and water treatment.
• Environmental Encyclopedia: Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. 2011.
• International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics.

Don't forget, the Research Data Services Team in Lehman Library is available to help with many aspects of the research data lifecycle including research data management, finding data, recommendation for cleaning and understanding data, mapping and visualizing your data.

• GIS Data: Geospatial Data Repository.
• Numeric Data: Resources for Statistical Applications

• Writing Public Policy: A Practical Guide to Communicating in the Policy Making Process
  Available in hard copy in Lehman Reference, JF1525.C59 S64 2010
• Effective Writing in the Public Sector
  Available in hard copy in Lehman Reference, JF1525.R46 S83 2014

• Gale virtual reference library: Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. 

• Oxford Reference online: Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press.

• Leadership Library
• Associations Unlimited
• Washington Information Directory