Research Guides: Sustainability Policy Studies: Find Articles

Scholarly Articles

To find scholarly articles or studies, you will need to use a database (not CLIO). On this page, you will find a lot of options to start your research, but these are not all of the databases that you have access to as a Columbia University student! Explore the other research guides to find other databases for different disciplines, or make an appointment with a librarian.

Best places to start when researching Sustainability Policy:

ProQuest: This resource includes citations and full-text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items.
Scopus: Provides indexing, abstracting of, and citation linking to journals in biology, physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.

Other good, interdisciplinary databases:

EBSCO: A powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full-text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.
JSTOR: Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Project MUSE: Current collection of journals in the humanities and history, maintained by Johns Hopkins University Press. Full-text searching available. It also provides access to individual titles within the collection, such as Africa Today, American Imago, Contemporary Pacific, Ethnohistory, and Public Culture, as well as to other interdisciplinary journals which may also prove useful to anthropological research.

Science, Sustainability, and Environmental Databases

Applied Science & Technology Abstracts: Contains nearly 800 scientific and technical publications back to 1983.
BioOne: Full-text journals focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Civil Engineering Database: Citations and abstracts to Civil Engineering literature published since 1973 in all of the ASCE journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newsletters.
CSA Materials Science Collection with METADEX : Citations and abstracts for publications related to the science and technology of materials from nine leading materials science databases.
Compendex : Citations to journal articles, conference proceedings and more on all aspects of engineering. Coverage 1884-present.
Environment Abstracts: Access to journal articles, conference papers, federal and state codes, federal agency regulations and decisions, and waste site data, and more.
GeoRef : Includes information on energy sources, volcanic eruptions, earthquakes, ground water pollution, dinosaurs, landslides, and erosion, as well as the history of the earth, the structure of the earth, the study of ore deposits, and geostatistics. Inclusive coverage from 1785 to present.
IEEE Explore : Full-text IEEE and IEE conference proceedings, transactions, journals, standards and magazines.
Oceanic Abstracts: Provides information pertaining to marine and brackish water environments.
Pew Center on Global Climate Change: The Pew Center on Global Climate Change provides a forum for objective research and analysis and for the development of pragmatic policies and solutions.
Sustainability Reference Center: Offers content from more than 800 publications, including journals, monographs, magazines on sustainable development, and human population topics.
Sustainability Science Abstracts: Coverage includes relevant papers, reports, books, some conference proceedings, some gray literature, and reviews from standard peer-reviewed scientific journals.
UN - Environment Statistics: A section of the United Nations Statistics Division develops methodologies, data collection, technical cooperation, and coordination in the fields of environmental statistics and indicators. For ex: Environmental Indicators and Country Snapshots.

Built Environment

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Citations to articles in worldwide architecture and related periodicals with primary emphasis on architectural design and history but coverage as well of historic preservation, city planning, real estate development, green design, sustainable development and environmental studies.
Garden, Landscape & Horticultural Index
Topics include horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. A highlight of the database is its focus on environmentally sustainable horticultural and design practices.

Policy & International Affairs Databases

Business Source Complete: Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business, including management.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs online): A wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
EconLit: Comprehensive, indexed bibliography of worldwide literature on economics from over 300 major economics journals, books, and collected volumes. Coverage: 1969-present.
Carbon finance: news & analysis of market solutions to climate change: Provides information on emissions trading, carbon dioxide mitigation, carbon taxes, and more.
Govistics: Access to spending information for individual state and local governments across the U.S.
HeinOnline: Contains the full text of the Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents, Foreign Relations of the U.S., Presidential Executive Orders, Congressional Record, U.S. Statutes at Large, and other documents from the executive, congressional and judicial branches of the U.S. government.
i Poll Databank @ the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research: A comprehensive source for U.S. nationwide public opinion that indexes and reports at question-level, 1935 to present.
ISI Emerging Markets: Provides financial and economic information on emerging market countries.
OECD iLibrary: Includes all OECD books, reports, periodicals and statistical databases. Coverage: 1988 to the present, updated weekly.
PAIS : Citations and abstracts for publications related to public affairs, 1915 to the present.
Pollling the Nations: Contains polls taken on a variety of subjects all over the world. Each record consists of one poll question and the participants' responses.
Public Administration Abstracts: Indexes articles related to public administration, public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC): An important and growing site including the Policy Instruments Database, Environmental Treaties and Resource Indicators Service, Stratospheric Ozone and Human Health site, and more.
Statistical Insight: Statistical information from the U.S. government, international intergovernmental organizations (IGOs), state governments, and private sources. Coverage varies.
UNdata: More than 450 statistical time series for countries from around the world covering a wide range of economic and socio-demographic topics.
World Development Indicators (World Bank): WDI is a comprehensive database on development data covering 575 indicators, 225 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. Coverage varies.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts: Provides access to citations and abstracts of journal articles appearing in political science journals. Coverage: 1975 to the present.

News Databases

Alt-PressWatch: Full text database of selected newspapers, magazines, journals of the alternative and independent press.
Associated Press collections online: Includes a decades' worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, and more.
Environmental News Network: "ENN is the largest and longest-running portal in the global business of the environment. Since 1993, we have worked closely with leading nonprofit groups, academia and corporations to create the definitive on-line destination for environmental information and services. From content and commerce to governance and technology, ENN connects consumers and corporations in the New Economy."
Greenwire: the Environmental News Daily: Provides information pertaining to marine and brackish water environments.
Factiva: Full-text database providing news sources from around the world. It also provides detailed facts, figures and analyses of companies, industries and financial markets. Coverage varies by source.
Meet the Press: Includes every surviving program of NBC's Meet the Pressfrom the show's inception in 1947 through the present day.
National Journal: A collection of resources on U.S. politics and policy, including the National Journal, The Hotline, Congress Daily, Technology Daily, Poll Track, Ad Spotlight, and The Almanac of American Politics. Also provides Congressional markup reports and update reports on key legislation.
World Politics Review: Daily online publication and resource for foreign policy professionals.