Jewish Studies: Israel
Guide to doing research in various fields of Jewish Studies
Note
This page is currently under construction. For specific research requests, please contact the Librarian for Jewish Studies (jewishstudies@library.columbia.edu or 212-854-8046).
A helpful reading list for context and history of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict can be found here.
Historical Resources
- Confidential print. Middle East . This link opens in a new windowThe Confidential Print series originated from a need for the British Government to preserve all of the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Some of these were single page letters or telegrams, others were large volumes or texts of treaties. All items marked 'Confidential Print' were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to Heads of British missions abroad. This resource brings together materials relating to events in the Middle East, such as the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 19th century, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia and the Suez Crisis in 1956, partition of Palestine, post-Suez Western foreign policy and the Arab-Israeli conflict.
Online Resources
- Schusterman Center for Israel Studies Research GuideThe Schusterman Center at Brandeis University has put together a comprehensive guide to Israel Studies. This is probably the best place to begin your research.
- Israel Social Sciences Data CenterThe ISDC houses approximately 1000 datasets including national sample surveys, local studies, census micro-data and government records in selected fields as well as macro-economic and regional series. Several databases are available through the Web.
Sources of data include the Central Bureau of Statistics (CBS), the National Institute of Insurance (NIOI), central and local government agencies, research institutes as well as independent researchers from affiliated institutes. Since 1995, the ISDC serves also as an authorized distributor of micro-data from Israel Central Bureau of Statistics. Major sources of foreign data are ISSP and ICPSR Archive in Michigan, where ISDC serves as the Official Representative of Israel. - Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
This link opens in a new window
- Palestine and Israel: records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1959The documents in this collection on Palestine and Israel are sourced from the Central Files of the General Records of the Department of State. The records are under the jurisdiction of the Legislative and Diplomatic Branch of the Civil Archives, National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, D.C. This archive traces the vitally important period that saw the end of the British mandate in Palestine.
- The British Mandate in Palestine, Arab-Jewish relations, and the U.S. Consulate at Jerusalem, 1920-1944This collection consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the American consular post in Jerusalem. The topics covered by these records include the protection of interests of American citizens, foreign trade, shipping, and immigration. But there is more to these records than traditional consular activities--the Jerusalem post provides a unique look into the British Mandate in Palestine.
Israeli Art and Culture
- Cinema of IsraelThis database, sponsored by the Israeli Film Council and others, provides information about Israeli film from its inception to the present day. Includes a history of Israeli film, an alphabetical listing of films with further information, and more. Note: Site entirely in Hebrew
Government Resources
- Knesset Research and Information Site (Hebrew)The Hebrew site for the Knesset Research and Information site includes a vast array of documentation for Knesset business and discussion.
- Knesset Research and Information Center (English)Select documents from the Israeli Knesset that have been translated to English.
- Israeli Supreme Court ProjectThis project, produced by Cordozo Law School, has translated many of the decisions of the Israeli Supreme Court and included them in a searchable database.