Research in Jewish Studies: Yiddish Language and Literature

Finding aid with links to electronic reproductions of documents covering the period 1916-1950 from the Russian State Archive of Literature and Art (RGALI) in Moscow about the Moscow State Jewish Theater (GOSET) and the affiliated Moscow State Jewish Theater School (MGETU); describes the history of the Soviet culture and theater, Jewish theater, Jewish avant-garde art and the Kremlin's policy toward Jewish society and culture from 1919 until the early 1950s; includes correspondence with ministries, state organizations, authors, administration, plays, notes (with comments of censors) and the personal archives of Alexei Granovskii, Solomon Mikhoels, and other actors and writers; also includes press reports from Soviet and foreign periodicals about the theater and its tours in Europe, posters, drawings, theater programs, and documents about other Jewish theaters.

This dictionary designed to translate from Yiddish to English or French. While the dictionary is not designed to translate from English/French to Yiddish, a facility for searching for words in the English or French definitions is available.

The Comprehensive English-Yiddish Dictionary, both the print and on-line versions, is a project of the League for Yiddish. Containing nearly 50,000 entries and 33,000 subentries, the Comprehensive English-Yiddish Dictionary emphasizes Yiddish as a living language that is spoken in many places around the world. The late Mordkhe Schaechter collected and researched spoken and literary Yiddish in all its varieties, and this landmark dictionary reflects his vision for present-day and future Yiddish usage. The richness of dialectal difference and historical development are noted in the breadth of entries ranging from "agriculture" to "zoology" these words and expressions can be found in classic and contemporary literature, newspapers, and other sources of the written word, and have long been used by professionals and tradesmen, in synagogues, in schools, at home, in intimate life, and wherever Yiddish-speaking Jews have lived and worked. This dictionary will serve all who are interested in the Yiddish language: professors, researchers, students, writers and actors, as well as those who simply want to speak Yiddish on a regular basis.

Note that this database includes maps from the published LCAAJ volumes.

Contains almost 400 titles of old Yiddish literature, 16th-19th centuries, including Bible translations and prayer books. The collection was originally part of the private library of the orientalist Oluf Gerhard Tychsen (1734-1815) and is now housed in the Universitätsbibliothek Rostock.