Japanese Studies CourseWork Guide: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Includes dictionaries (Japanese, English-Japanese, Japanese-English and English-English); the Nihon daihyakka zensho (Nipponica), a full text 30 vol. encyclopedia; two dictionaries of current words: Imidas and Gendai yōgo no kiso chishiki; a dictionary of scientific terms: Kagaku gijutsu ryakugo jiten; a biographical dictionary: Nihon jinmei daijiten; the JK Who's Who; the Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan; a news database (NNA) that covers Asia and the European Union; a full-text journal: Fūzoku gahō; Shūkan ekonomisuto; Edo-Tōkyō kasane chizu (map); full-text of books in the Tōyō bunko series; chronologies (world history, Japan by period, Japan by prefecture, science, culture, society, daily life, social movements, economics and for individuals); a database of video (TV, news) recordings from 1908 to 2005; database of dissertations from the humanities departments of six universities in Japan; URL database; books in print database; sound library; music library. JK select series carry Jitsū (character dictionary compiled by Shirakawa Shizuka), Nihon rekishi chimei taikei, Nihon kokugo daijiten, and Kokushi daijiten.
Included Dictionaries (selected):

• Nihon Kokugo Daijiten (日本国語大辞典)、
• Kokushi Daijiten (国史大辞典）
• Nihon Rekishi Chimei Taikei (日本歴史地名大系）
• Dejitaru Daijisen (デジタル大辞泉)
• Jitsū (字通）
• Shōgakkan zenbun zen’yaku kogo jiten（小学館全文全訳古語辞典）
• Nihon hōgen daijiten (日本方言大辞典）
Randam House English-Japanese Dictionary
• Progressive Japanese-English dictionary
• Cambridge Advanced Learner's Dictionary (CAMBRIDGE英英辞典）
• Igaku Ei-Wa jiten (医学英和辞典）
• Jōhō chishiki imidas　(情報・知識イミダス）
• Gendai yōgo no kiso chishiki (現代用語に基礎知識）
• and many more.

Consists of: Jinbutsu bunken jōhō who for ca. 320,000 individuals; Jinbutsu refarensu jiten for 148,844 Japanese and 104,677 non-Japanese; Jiten kindai Nihon no senkakusha for 1,100 18th-century Japanese; Umi o koeta Nihon jinmei jiten for 1,700 Japanese from 16th to 19th centuries; Chosho, chosha jōhō; and Nichigai sentei kōshiki URL-shū.