Japanese Studies CourseWork Guide: Find Books
This is a general guide for the resources for Japanese Studies in Japanese language
Getting Japanese Books
To obtain a copy of a book you have located in the catalogs/databases described in the column "Books," try the following steps:
- Go to CLIO (Columbia Library Information Online) to see if it is available in one of the Columbia libraries.
- If a book is not at Columbia or the Columbia copy is checked out, try Borrow Direct.
- If the Borrow Direct libraries do not have an available copy, try ILL to request a copy.
Note: Columbia is a member of GIF (Global ILL Framework), which allows us to borrow books and get copies of articles from GIF member libraries in Japan.
Books
To find what books have been published in a year:
- CLIO : library web : Columbia University Libraries online catalog. This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Columbia's online public catalog was transformed to a discover tool and contains records for almost all materials, including books, periodicals, microforms, and databases, and beyond. Most of Japanese language materials are cataloged both in Japanese language as well as translitelation of Japanese in romanization in the modified Hepburn System employed by the Library of Congress. It is more effective to search by romanization rather than Japanese, but pay attention to word divisions. CLIO search tips, please click here.
- WorldCat. This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An online catalog of the 24,000 member libraries of OCLC. WorldCat has over 49 million titles, including books, serials, musical scores and recordings, and maps. It also contains the majority of Waseda University's holdings. This catalog is useful for finding Japanese name readings.
- CiNii BooksA new version of Webcat -- a service for searching for information on books and journals held in libraries of universities and research institutions in Japan. Searchable for about 10 million titles held in 1200 university libraries (totaled over 100 million books), and about 1.5 million authors of these books that has been accumulated through the online cataloging system (NACSIS-CAT) which NII provides.
- Webcat PlusThis database uses an “associative search function” that uses keywords to extract other words from the bibliographic records from the Edo period to the present that have a high association with them.
- NDL (National Diet Library) ONLINE = 国立国会図書館オンラインCombined former NDL OPAC, NDL Search, and NDL Digital Collection, a new integrated one-stop search service of NDL for all kind of resources including digitized contents not only from the NDL but also from public libraries, archives, museums, institutes of academic research in Japan.
- NDL DigitalCollection (国立国会図書館デジタルコレクション）The NDL Digital Collections enables a user to search and view a variety of resources, collected and stored by the National Diet Library of Japan.
- Waseda University Scholarly Information Network System (WINE)WINE is the Waseda University Library online catalog. Although it contains 2.9 million records, WINE does not reflect the library's complete holdings. This catalog is useful for finding Japanese name readings.
- Books.or.jp(本を探す） (Search Engine for Japanese Trade Books)Online "Japanese Books in Print" contains Japanese books currently available from commercial publishers and is maintained by the Japan Book Publishers Association
E-Books
- Maruzen eBook Library (MeL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of digitized Japanese academic or scholarly books and serials selected from MEL (Maruzen e-Books Library).
- National Diet Library Digital Collection (国会図書館デジタルコレクション）The NDL Digital Collections enables a user to search and view a variety of resources including books, collected and stored by the National Diet Library of Japan.
- In Japan Knowledge Lib （ジャパンナレッジLib)
- This link opens in a new window
Gunsho Ruiju, Zoku Gunsho Ruiju, Zokuzoku Gunsho Ruiji (群書類聚・続群書類聚・続々群書類聚)
JInbutsu sōsho (人物叢書)
Shinpen Nihon koten bungaku zenshū (新編日本古典文学全集)
Tōyō bunko (東洋文庫）
Bunko Kuseju[Que sais-je] besuto serekushon (文庫クセジュベストセレクション） - BlueSky Collection (青空文庫）A collection of non-copyright-protected Japanese literary works, available for download in several file formats.
- Japanese Text Initiative (Universities of Virginia/Pittsburgh)This website contains full-text versions of several works of classical Japanese literature, including the Manyoshu, Genji Monogatari, etc.
Institutional Repositories
- JAIRO (Japanese Institutional Repositories Online)JAIRO is the cross-sectionally search service for academic information (journal articles, theses or dissertations, departmental bulletin papers, research papers, etc.) which has been accumulated in Japanese institutional repositories.
Indexes to Works in Collections and Series
- Zenshū, sōsho sōmokuroku (全集・叢書 総目録）.
Meiji, Taishō, Shōwa senzenki
45/90
91/98
1999-2004
2005-2010 - zenshū kōza naiyō sōran （全集講座内容綜覧）.
Jinbun hen (人文編）
Shakai hen (社会編）
1995-1999
2000-2004 - Kojin chosakushū naiyō sōran (個人 著作集 内容 綜覧)
- Kojin zenshū naiyō sōran (個人全集内容綜覧）
- Dai II-ki (第II期）< /li>
- Zenshū kojin zenshū naiyō sōran (全集 個人 全集・內容 綜覧)
- Dai III-ki (第 III期)
- Dai IV-ki (第ＩＶ期）
- Dai V-ki (第Ｖ期)
- Dai VI-ki (第VI期）
- Kojin zenshū sakuhinmei sōran (個人 全集・作品名 綜覧)
- >Dai II-ki ((第II期）< /li>
- Zenshū kojin zenshū sakuhinmei sōran (全集, 個人 全集・作品名 綜覧)
- Dai III-ki (第 III期)< /li>
- Dai IV-ki (第 IV期)< /li>
Early Japanese Books (古典籍)
- Kokusho Sōmokuroku (国書総目録）
Union catalog of books worked by Japanese and published by Keio 3 [1867] - Kokusho kaidai. Zōtei kaihan. (国書解題. 増訂改版）
- Zenshū sōsho saimoku sōran. Koten hen. (全集叢書細目総覧. 古典：)
- Union Catalogue of Early Japanese Books (日本古典籍総合目録データベース）A database of pre-Meiji materials maintained by the National Institute of Japanese Literature (Kokubungaku Kenkyu Shiryōkan). This database, “New KOKUSHO SO MOKUROKU” is a union catalogue of early Japanese books. (It also includes Chinese classics and books of the Meiji period). It provides authoritative information about Japanese classical literary works and their authors. It also provide bibliographic information on early Japanese books, and their holding libraries.
- Shin Nihon kosensekii sōgō dētabēsu (trial opening) (新日本古典籍総合データベース(試験公開）このデータベースは、当館「日本古典籍総合目録データベース」を継承し、
複数の機関が所蔵する古典籍の情報を一度に検索できるシステムです。
古典籍に関する画像を含んだデータベースとしては、
これまでに無い規模のものを目指していきます。
Kotenseki Databases
- Kyoto Univeristy Rare Materials Digital Archive Collection = 京都大学貴重資料デジタルアーカイブ コレクションKyoto University Library Network now have one of the largest digital collection in Japan: as of the end of March, 2017, the number of digitized items reached about 7,000 titles, including Konjaku monogatarishu (Suzuka ver.), designated as a national treasure, and 40 important cultural properties.
Translations
- Premodern Japanese Texts and TranslationsEdited and individually maintained by Michael Watson, Faculty of International Studies, Meiji Gakuin University, this website contains an exhaustive list of classical Japanese texts, along with related translations (mostly English, some French and German) and studies on the texts.
- Japanese Literature in Translation Search (日本文学翻訳書誌検 索)The database is compiled by the Japan Foundation in collaboration with the Japan P.E.N. Club for Japanese literature, mainly works after the World War II, which are translated into other languages. Search can be made in Japanese or its Romanization.