Crash Course in Business Research: Financial data

Based on a workshop presented on October 28, 2015

Databases

 Bloomberg [available in Watson library and DSSC]
Online database providing current and historical financial information, research and statistics on over 52,000 companies worldwide. Printing is available. Downloading is not available. For search help see our Bloomberg Help Guide.

► Capital IQ [Watson Library/DSSC use only; Business School students can request accounts]
Extensive financial database covering publicly traded companies around the world. Also includes private equities.

► Compact Disclosure
Business Electronic Resources [Watson Library use only]
CD-ROM database which contains extracts of the Securities and Exchange Commission filings from 12,000 public companies required to file with the SEC. Coverage: Current 18 months. Updates: Monthly. (Backfiles are available at the Reserves Desk in the Business Library.)

► Mergent Manuals
Check CLIO for call numbers
Depending on the company, information includes a brief corporate history, explanation of the business/products, list of subsidiaries, key management personnel, financial data, and description of outstanding securities (debt, capital stock). There are Mergent Manuals for Industrial, International, OTC Industrial, OTC Unlisted, Public Utilities, and Bank & Finance Companies.

► Standard & Poor's Net Advantage
Includes electronic versions of S&P publications providing company, industry and market specific information and data.  Includes the S&P Stock Reports.

► S&P's Stock Reports (aka tearsheets) [via S&P Net Advantage]
Print: Serials S
Contains 2 page summaries on 1800 NYSE companies, 800 ASE companies, 1500 OTC combines, and 1 page summaries for 600 OTC companies. Information included: summary of the business; per share data; income data; balance sheet data; finances; dividends; capitalization; address; telephone; key personnel; incorporation date; employees; selected betas; S&P ranking; and S&P analyst.

► Thomson ONE [must use Internet Explorer]
Thomson ONE Banker provides access to financial data on public companies, as well as merger and acquisition information and market data. Users can search and screen across databases to identify companies that meet your specific investment criteria as well as conduct peer analysis.

► Value Line Investment Surveys
Current reports in reference stacks [HG4501 .V262]
Contains 1 page summaries on approximately 1750 publicly traded companies. Information included: financial data; ratios; forecasts on financials & ratios; line of business; analyst information; quarterly sales, EPS, and dividends; capital structure; rankings for timeliness, safety, beta, price projections, insider & institutional decisions; and a long term price chart.  For more information on Value Line see our short tutorial.

Charts and Graphs

► Bloomberg [available in Watson library and DSSC]

Bloomberg-Charts-552x429
The Bloomberg system offers comprehensive information on companies and securities as well as many analytical functions. Bloomberg allows you to chart and graph a company's financial data.

Capital IQ [available in Watson library and DSSC; CBS students can request accounts]
Extensive financial database covering publicly traded companies around the world. Also includes private equities.

Thomson ONE [must use Internet Explorer]
Thomson ONE provides access to financial data on public companies, as well as merger and acquisition information and market data. Users can search and screen across databases to identify companies that meet your specific investment criteria as well as conduct peer analysis.

Stock Price Resources

► Bloomberg [available in Watson library and Digital Social Science Center]

One of the world's leading financial databases, Bloomberg also includes a significant amount of information related to real estate. Access to Bloomberg is limited to a dedicated Bloomberg terminal. There are Bloomberg terminals in Watson Library and the Digital Social Science Center (DSSC). Bloomberg is a command driven system.

  • Ticker Symbol <EQUITY> HP <GO> for Historical Prices
  • Use Bloomberg Excel for current or historical stock prices

► Capital IQ [Watson Library/DSSC use only; Business School students can request accounts]
Extensive financial database covering publicly traded companies around the world. Also includes private equities.

CRSP via WRDS [Watson Library Use Only; PhD students can request a WRDS account]
Contains historical equity and index data.

Daily Stock Price Record
Serials S (Serials)
Shelved with Standard & Poor's. Alphabetical listing by company giving daily high, low, close and volume for each quarter along with dividend and stock split information.

Datastream (Watson Library Use Only; PhD students can request installation on their own PCs.)
Datastream contains time series data for equities, including stock prices.

National Stock Summary
Serials N (Serials)
Contains a summary of market quotations which have appeared in the National Daily Services or have been supplied by dealers or special lists.

Thomson ONE [must use Internet Explorer browser]
Thomson ONE provides access to financial data on public companies, as well as merger and acquisition information and market data. Users can search and screen across databases to identify companies that meet your specific investment criteria as well as conduct peer analysis.