Crash Course in Business Research: Industry Ratios and Statistics
Industry Statistics
-
Business & Industry Survey / Census.govProvides statistics about U.S. businesses and governments.
-
Economic CensusThe Economic Census is the official five-year measure of businesses in the United States providing comprehensive statistics at the national, state, and local levels. It serves as the benchmark for current economic activity, such as the Gross Domestic Product and Producer Price Index.
-
Industry snapshotsProvide worldwide market data for a broad range of industries and regions.
-
Mintel market sizesMintel is a trusted database containing market size, market share and forecast data for thousands of consumer goods categories worldwide."
-
ProQuest statistical insight This link opens in a new windowProvides statistical data from U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and international organizations from 1983.
-
Standard & Poor's Industry SurveysEach survey is divided into two parts. 1) the basic analysis which contains an examination of prospects for that industry followed by composite industry data & a comparative company analysis 2) the current analysis which contains the latest developments and some industry and company statistics.
-
Standard & Poor's Statistical ServiceCall Number: HG4921 .S71 (Reference Stacks)Cumulative annual with monthly updates. Contains current and historical time series data on money, commodities, stock indexes, and industry indexes.
-
Statistical abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowA statistical reference and guide to over 250 statistical publications and sources from government and private organizations. Provides more time-series, geographic and industry coverage than print publication.
Industry Ratios
-
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
Call Number: HF5681 .R25T68 (Reference stacks)Contains operating and financial information for corporations with and without net incomes as well as only for those companies in an industry that operated at a profit. Organized by the SIC Code. -
Industry norms and key business ratios
Call Number: HD47. D82 (Reference stacks)Financial ratios arranged by Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Codes. -
IRS Corporate Financial Ratios
Call Number: HF5681 .I77 (Reference stacks)Compiled from IRS data from income statements and balance sheets for companies with and without net income. Organized by major and minor industry groups. -
RMA annual statement studies
Call Number: HF5681 .B2R5 (Reference stacks)Balance sheet and income statements as well as commonly used ratios for over 360 industries. Organized by the SIC Code as well as title of industry. Includes the most recent five years of data.
