Full Text -- Historical Documents and Images
Africa and the New Imperialism: European Borders on the African Continent, 1870-1914. (Marlborough, Wiltshire : Adam Matthew Digital Ltd., [2023-] )
Featuring selections from British and French official archives (diaries, correspondence, illustrations, etc.) on European imperialism in East, Central, and Southern Africa.
African Bluebooks, 1821-1953. British Online Archives. (Selections from the British Foreign & Commonwealth Office)
Annual Departmental Reports Relating to Kenya under Colonial Rule, 1907-1964 and
Uganda under Colonial Rule, 1903-1961. British Online Archives. (Selections from the British Foreign & Commonwealth Office)
Archives of the Church of Uganda online. Leiden, The Netherlands ; Boston, MA : Brill, 2013-
ArchNet (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts; The Aga Khan Trust for Culture, UK)
Search by city or country, especially for Islamic sites. Collections include: James de Vere Allen: Swahili Kingdoms ; and, A Survey of Bagamoyo
Church Missionary Society Periodicals Archive, 1804-2009. Marlborough, Wiltshire, UK: Adam Matthew, [2015]
Includes digitized historical publications which cover CMS activities in Africa, such as: Register of Missionaries (1804-1928), Church Missionary Gleaner, CMS Outlook, CMS Intelligencer, and Ruanda Notes.
Colonial Law in Africa: African Government Gazettes, 1808-1919 ; 1920-1945 ; 1946-1966
British Online Archives. (Selections from the British Foreign & Commonwealth Office)
Confidential Print, Africa 1834-1966 (Selected CO & FO records in UK National Archives)
eHRAF World Cultures: ethnographic collections (e-books)
Gallica: la bibliothèque numérique sur l'Afrique (Bibliothèque nationale de France, Paris)
Germany. Kolonialbibliothek in der Universitätsbibliothek Frankfurt am Main (Frankfurt, Germany)
An extensive, digitized selection of documents and images from the German colonial era, including 50,000-70,000 historical photographs from the German colonial empire in Africa and Oceania.
--See especially: Koloniales Bildarchiv
History in Progress Uganda ( Andrea Stultiens and Canon Griffin, The Netherlands and Kampala, Uganda)
An open access digital gallery of photographs from and about Uganda over the last century..
Kenya National Archives and Google Arts & Culture (Nairobi, Kenya; USA)
A selection of 1,043 items featured in this digital exhibition of black-and-white and color photos of people and objects from the KNA collections in Nairobi, Kenya; plus 8 illustrated "stories".
Mara Cultural Heritage Digital Library (Prof. Jan Bender Shetler, Goshen College, Goshen, Indiana; MATRIX, Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan)
From the Mara Region, Tanzania... "Dr. Shetler’s collection consists largely of audio, video, transcripts, notes in English and photographs from more than 300 interviews conducted between 1995 and 2010. The interviews were conducted in Swahili and various East Nyanza Mara languages as well as Temi, Dadog and Luo."
Nineteenth Century Collections--Europe & Africa (Selections from UK National Archives)
Northwestern University Libraries: The Humphrey Winterton Collection of East African Photographs, 1860-1960. (Evanston, Illinois)
RAI--Royal Anthropological Institute Archive. Wiley Digital Archives. (Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2018-)
Royal Geographical Society. Wiley Digital Archives. (Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2020-)
Slavery and anti-slavery: a transnational archive (Farmington Hills, Michigan: Gale, Cengage Learning, 2009-)
University of California, Los Angeles--Modern Endangered Archives Program: Ustadh Mau Digital Archive, Lamu Kenya. (Los Angeles, California)
Digitized text selections from the library of Mahmoud Ahmed Abdulkadir, locally known as Ustadh Mau. His private library houses Swahili Muslim manuscript poetry in ajami script, and booklets and memoirs from the Middle East and India.
Dissertations
Burundi: Université du Burundi--Thèses et mémoires (Bujumbura)
The Center for Research Libraries: Dissertations Catalog (Chicago, Illinois)
Cyberthèses: publication et diffusion en ligne des thèses (Lyons, France ; Montréal, Canada)
Proquest Digital Dissertations. (Ann Arbor, MI: ProQuest University Microfilms International, 1980-)
Kenya
Madagascar: Thèses malgaches en ligne (Antananarivo, Madagascar; via Organisation internationale de la Francophonie, Paris, France)
Mémoire Online Memoireonline.com (France)
Masters' thesis repository
Rwanda: University of Rwanda--Theses and Dissertations. (Kigali, Rwanda)
Catalogue SUDOC: Rechercher par "Note de thèse" (ABES--Agence bibliographique de l'enseignement supérieur, Montpellier, France)
Tanzania: University of Dar es Salaam--Research Repository (Dar es Salaam, Tanzania)
Thèses.fr de 1985 au présent (ABES--Agence bibliographique de l'enseignement supérieur, Montpelier, France)
Uganda: Makerere University Institutional Repository--Theses (Kampala, Uganda)
Archives Elsewhere in the United States