HISTG8300 : Interwar Internationalism Reconsidered: Digitized Video Collections

Featuring over 4,000 hours of film (including documentaries and newsreels) and 400,000 photographs, the collections that have been made publicly available by Istituto Luce document the history of 20th-century Italy, with particularly good coverage of Italy's colonies and Fascism.

British Movietone News was one of the most familiar and influential British newsreels. It was the first sound newsreel in Britain, running from 1929-1979. Free to use but the site requires registration.

Pioneering the technology and methods of cinema, British Pathé stayed at the forefront of filmed news for decades. Releasing 3 newsreels a week during that period, British Pathé was the way the people of Britain experienced world events until the advent of television.

Aggregates film and video content from libraries and archives all over Europe. Also includes a selected list of digitized and freely available non-fictional films from the early 20th century.

200 Fox Movietone News issues for the 1942-44 period can be viewed online, together with digitised newsreel cameramen's dope sheets (records of what they shot during an assignment) and other documentation.

From 1935-1967, American theatergoers and television watchers viewed this unique and controversial film series, The March of Time, now available in online streaming video in a single, cross-searchable collection.

Contains nearly 52,000 video testimonies of survivors and other witnesses of the Holocaust taped in 56 countries and in 32 languages, taped between 1994 and 1999.

An archive of the German Deutsche Wochenschau newsreel drawn from the collections in the Federal Film Archive, Berlin. Over 6,000 stories have been made available, with additional material going back to 1895 and up to 1990. English language as well as German text.