Art History: Visual Resources

American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congressś vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library. The original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music. Each online collection is accompanied by a set of explanatory features designed to make the materials easy to find, use, and understand. Collections may be browsed individually, searched individually (including full-text searching for many written items), or searched across multiple collections.

Searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.

The Beazley Archive is a research unit of the University of Oxford's Faculty of Literae Humaniores. This web site provides access to photographs, notes, drawings, an illustrated dictionary and bibliographies relating to ancient Greek and Roman art. The photographs of Athenian vases are the largest archive of this class in the world and were the basis of John Beazley's life's work.

Presents digitized pictures and records of about half a million two-dimensional works held by the British Museum. Eventually images of all the collections will be included.