Art History: Biographical Dictionaries
For bigger guides with greater detail, see the following:
Biographical Dictionaries
- Allgemeines Kunstlerlexikon = Artists of the world. This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive biographical dictionary, combining several older sets with the ongoing AKL. Print version: Avery Reference N40 AL52. - American national biography online. This link opens in a new window"Offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation." Features thousands of illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references and links to select web sites.
- Dictionary of art historians : a biographical dictionary of historians, museum directors and scholars of art / [edited and compiled by Lee Sorensen] ; Art History Webmasters Association. This link opens in a new window"The Dictionary of Art Historians, is a biographical/bibliographical lexicon of historic scholars of art".
- Dictionary of artists / Benezit. This link opens in a new window(A choice within Oxford Art Online) First English-language edition of the classic work of reference. Incomparable source of art-historical information. Revised and expanded for a wider audience. Over 170,000 entries. Includes artist's signatures.
- Oxford dictionary of national biography . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The first point of reference for anyone interested in the lives of the peoples of the British Isles and their connections overseas, from the 4th century B.C. to the year 2002. The Oxford DNB aims to provide full, accurate, concise, and readable articles on noteworthy people in all walks of life. No living person is included: the DNB's articles are confined to people who died in or before 2002.
