Art History: Encyclopedias & Guides
For bigger guides with greater detail, see the following:
Encyclopedias & Guides
- Oxford art online. This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists. - Oxford classical dictionary / edited by Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(2002). Covers the Greco-Roman world. It includes articles and definitions regarding literature, art, philosophy, law, biography, mythology, science, geography, daily life, and broad cultural and historical trends. - Oxford dictionary of Byzantium / edited by Alexander P. Kazhdan. This link opens in a new window(Print:2001;released Online:2005) Contains more than 5,000 searchable entries covering all aspects of Byzantine history and civilization from the 4th through the 15th centuries, with special depth in subjects such as bureaucratic titles and fiscal terms, urban life, and rural economy.
- Lexikon des Mittelalters-- online. This link opens in a new window(A choice within Brepols' offerings) The standard encyclopaedia for medieval studies. It deals with all branches of Medieval Studies and covers the period from 300 to 1500 AD/CE for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa. Users can perform automatic bibliographic searches in the International Medieval Bibliography Online.
- Grove encyclopedia of Islamic art and architecture / edited by Jonathan M. Bloom and Sheila S. Blair. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Deals with all aspects of Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Africa to Central, South, and East Asia and includes entries on artists, rulers, writers, ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, painting, calligraphy, textiles, and more"--Provided by publisher
Research Guides
Research Guides:
Jones, L.S. Art Information Research Methods and Resources. Good introduction to art resources. Two sections: research methodology and annotated bibliography. Avery Reference N35 J7211.
Marmor, Max and Alex Ross. Guide to the literature of art history 2. (2005) Avery Reference N35 M34 The standard annotated bibliographic guide in art history. This is a supplement to: Arntzen, E. and R. Rainwater. Guide to the Literature of Art History. (1980) [Avery Reference N35 Ar664].