Art History: Finding Articles

Search over 80 different periodical indexes in all fields, or select individual indexes such as: Art Index Retrospective, Art Source, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, Frick Art Reference Library Periodicals Index, Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals.

Search over 80 different indexes to articles in all fields, or select individual indexes in our fields such as: ArtBibliographies Modern, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, Design and Applies Arts Index, International Bibliography of Art, International Index to Performing Arts Full Text as well as Proquest Dissertations and Theses Full Text.

(listed as Projekt Dyabola). (There is also a free version available (ZENON DAI), which, when searched, gives slightly different results) Useful tutorials: U-Tube tutorial from NYU and text tutorial from Berkeley. This offers citations to articles on classical, near eastern, and Egyptian archaeology, Byzantine art history, epigraphy, and numismatics. The print version, Archaeologisches Bibliographie ceased in 1993. Projekt Dyabola also includes other databases covering arts of the antiquities, e.g. Datenbank der attischen Grabreliefs des 5. und 4. Jahrunderts v. Chr (see below), Census of Antique Art & Architecture known to the Renaissance (see above), Corpus der Antiken Denkmaler, etc.

Part union catalog and part index, it contains the holdings of the nine libraries of the German Archaeological Institute (head office in Berlin; Eurasia Department, Orient Department, Commission for Archaeology of Non-European Cultures (KAAK) in Bonn; with departments in Rome, Madrid, Athens, Istanbul, and Cairo) and it also contains records for journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters, and Festschriften. The bibliography covers Greek and Roman culture and its peripheral culture, as well as the literature on Etruscan, Minoan, and Mycenaean culture; the Anatolian cultures; and prehistory and ancient history including epigraphy and numismatics.

Full-text articles from 2,000+ core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences, including art history. Some journal titles may not offer current issues, and will have a 4-6 year moving window.

Full-text articles from more than 120 publishers of scholarly journals in the humanities, science, and social sciences, including art history.