Bangladesh: Home
Scholarly resources on Bangladesh
Bangladesh
.JPG)
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Digital Dictionaries of South AsiaOngoing project from the Digital South Asia Library. Languages include Assamese, Baluchi, Bengali, Divehi, Dogri, English (Hobson-Jobson), Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Khowar, Konkani, Lushai, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Newari, Pali, Panjabi, Pashto, Oriya, Pali, Panjabi, Pashto, Persian, Prakrit, Rajasthani, Sanskrit, Sindhi, Sinhala, Tamil, Telugu, Torwali, and Urdu. Also includes two comparative (Indo-European and Dravidian) dictionaries.
Bibliographic Reference Guides--Multiregional
- Bibliography of Asian studies . This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This online version of the Bibliography of Asian studies (BAS) contains more than 850,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published 1971 to the present. It contains the full data of all printed editions of the BAS issued from 1971 up to the 1991 ed. (published 1997), as well as thousands of entries published since. For 1941 through 1970, see print subject bibliography and author bibliography in the South Asian Studies Reading Room; additional print issues are Offsite.
- Genamics JournalSeek"The largest completely categorized database of freely available journal information available on the internet. The database presently contains 104870 titles [as of 11/1/2016]. Journal information includes the description (aims and scope), journal abbreviation, journal homepage link, subject category and ISSN. Searching this information allows the rapid identification of potential journals to publish your research in, as well as allow you to find new journals of interest to your field."
- Guide to the Indexing of South Asian Studies PeriodicalsIdentifies and lists indexed South Asian periodical titles. Hosted by University of Wisconsin Digital Collections
- Indica et Buddhica Publishers : Materials for Indology and Buddhology.
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Scholiast (a bibliographic database for Asian and Buddhist Studies), Tabulae (journals with Buddhist Studies material), Lexica (definitions from two Sanskrit-Tibetan word lists and a Sanskrit-English dictionary), and Repositorium (materials for Indology and Buddhology).
- JSTOR. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.
- Online Museum Resources on Asian Art (OMuRAA)An initiative of the Asia for Educators Program at Columbia University. Identifies online visual resources and indexes them in ways that are familiar to teachers and students in world history, world literature, and general art courses.
- PANDiT : Prosopographical Database for Indic TextsA digital humanities project with a unique and ambitious task: to create a database for the vast world of South Asian letters. PANDiT seeks to store, curate, and share reliable data on works, people, places, institutions, and manuscripts from premodern South Asia, in addition to relevant secondary sources, and to do so across period, language, discipline and subject matter. It is designed as an interactive web-based repository that scholars of every South Asian specialty and interest can contribute to and as a basic tool on which they will routinely come to rely.
- PARADISEC CatalogPacific And Regional Archive for DIgital Sources in Endangered Cultures curates digital material about small or endangered languages.
- Royal Asiatic Society's Digital LibraryRoyal Asiatic Society of Great Britain and Ireland. The site features archives, manuscripts, artwork, photographs, and more, from a variety of Asian cultures, as well as materials showing some of the ways Europeans have responded to Asia over the centuries.
- SALToC: South Asian Language Journals Cooperative Table of Contents ProjectA cooperative project among participating libraries to provide browsable tables of contents of journals in South Asian languages. Hosted and archived with permanent URLs by NYU Libraries.
- Siddham: the South Asia inscriptions databaseA resource for the study of inscriptions from South and Central Asia, which focuses on the period of the Guptas (circa 320 to 550). The project is based at the British Museum, British Library and the School of Oriental and African Studies.
- South and Southeast Asian literature : classic and postcolonial writers in English, 1825 to present. This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The collection comprises literature written originally in English by writers who either were born in or identify themselves culturally with India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, the Maldives, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, and Fiji. Because the South and Southeast Asian Diasporas are so widely cast, the collection also includes the work of writers living or working in Africa, the United Kingdom, North America, and the Caribbean. The collection will focus upon literature written during the late-colonial and postcolonial eras, but it will also include earlier work that is essential to scholarship in this area.
- Vaz̤āḥatī Urdū kitābiyāt (ʻimrānī ʻulūm) = Annotated Urdu bibliography (social sciences)tartīb va tahz̲īb, Anvar Muʻaẓẓam, Ashhar Farḥān.
Offsite Z7161.A22 2008g (v. 1-4) - South Asian Manuscripts at the Library of CongressProvides information about rare manuscripts in various South Asian languages (e.g., Sanskrit, Urdu, Tamil, Sinhalese) available for research in the Asian Division of the Library of Congress.
- The Treasury of lives : a biographical encyclopedia of Himalayan religion
- This link opens in a new window
A biographical encyclopedia of all known past masters of Himalayan religion, both Buddhist and Bo
- Worldwide political science abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The database provides access to citations and abstracts of journal articles appearing political science journals. Years of Coverage: 1975 to the present.
- The WWW Virtual Library Asian StudiesSubcategories include Asian and Pacific Studies electronic journals, Burma (Myanmar), Papua (Indonesia), Philippines, Tibetan Studies
News
- Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)National News Agency of Bangladesh
Blogs
- Drishtipat Writers' CollectiveDrishtipat is Bangladeshi organization that works on human rights issues.
- List of Bangladeshi BlogsCompiled by Rezwan; last updated May 2008
- Mukto-Mona / মুক্তমনা"An Internet congregation of freethinkers, rationalists, skeptics, atheists & humanists of mainly Bengali and South Asian descent who are scattered across the globe." Bengali and English versions.
Bangladesh Journals/Newspapers
- Bangladesh Journals OnlineA database of journals published in Bangladesh, covering the full range of academic disciplines.
- South Asia NewspapersGlobal Press Archive (East View). Daily Business Post (Karachi, Pakistan: 1963.08.01 to 1973.02.13); Dainika basumatī (দৈনিক বসুতী) (Kolkata, India: 1962.01.04 to 1992.08.31); Dnyānaprakāśa (ज्ञानप्रकाश : the daily Dnyan Prakash) (Pune, India: 1914.10.05 to 1938.08.27); Eastern Examiner (Chittagong, Bangladesh: 1962.01.18 to 1973.09.27); Kerala Chronicle (Thrissur, India: 1962.01.01 to 1963.12.31); Lahore Chronicle (Lahore, Pakistan: 1850.06.05 to 1868.11.28); Malabar Herald (Kochi, India: 1962.01.06 to 1972.12.23); Pakistan Observer (Dhaka, Bangladesh: 1962.01.01 to 1971.02.28); Payām-i mujāhid (Kabul, Afghanistan: 1997.03.05 to 2010.11.13); Samaja (Lalitpur, Nepal: 1978.06.15 to 1983.12.14)
South Asian Studies Librarian
South/Southeast Asian Studies
Columbia South/Southeast Asia Libraries Newsletter
View archived newsletters and subscribe for new issues at this link.