Bangladesh: Data

Focus, v. 35, no. 1, Fall 2015. Highlights of statistical resources available from the Center for Research Libraries

The Archive aims to preserve country statistical office and central bank websites that often contain ephemeral statistical data on topics such as economic conditions, population, education, housing, environmental conditions, transportation, health, social services, vital statistics, and more. Collected by Ivy Plus Libraries.

King, Gary; Lowe, Will, 2008. The data available here include almost 10 million individual events, each coded to the exact day they occur or become known. Each event is summarized in the data as "Actor A does something to Actor B", with Actors A and B recording about 450 countries and other (within-country) actors and "does something to" coded in an ontology of about 200 types of actions. The data are coded by computer from millions of Reuters news reports.

International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI), 2014.
IFPRI's Agricultural Science and Technology Indicators (ASTI) initiative is one of the few sources of statistics and other information on agricultural research in low and middle-income countries. ASTI provides comprehensive quantitative and qualitative information on and analyses of investment, capacity, and institutional trends in agricultural research. ASTI data and analyses help research managers a nd policymakers improve policy formulation and decision making at the national regional, and international levels.

Global water information system, developed by the Land and Water Division of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. Use "assets by country" interface to search by country and product

The AsiaBarometer represents a cross-national effort to study the lives of the peoples of East, Southeast, South, and Central Asia on physical, psychological, and sociological dimensions. ICPSR has data only for 2003 (ICPSR 4300) and 2004 (ICPSR 20420) Requires a free ICPSR MyData account. Other years for 2003-2007 can be downloaded from the AsiaBarometer website.

Regional survey covers Bangladesh, Cambodia, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Mainland China, Malaysia, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, the Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam

BBS has been in existence for more than 38 years, being formed from the merger of four other agencies in 1974. Since its inception, its role has been to provide the government of the day and the nation as a whole with statistical information to guide decision making and the development process.

Susmita Dasgupta, Mainul Huq, M. Khaliquzzaman and David Wheeler - World Bank. Download the questionnaires, technical documents and reports that describe the survey process and the key results for this study.

Shahidur R. Khandker - The World Bank
Bangladesh Institute of Development Studies. The survey's main focus was to provide data for an analysis of three major credit programs (Grameen Bank, Bangladesh Rural Advancement Committee, and the Rural Development-12 program of the Bangladesh Rural Development Board). The survey covered both villages from each of the programs under study as well as villages where no lending took place. The survey included 1,798 households randomly drawn from 87 villages of 29 thanas in rural Bangladesh. These households from 87 villages of 29 thanas were surveyed first in 1991-1992, and then revisited in 1998-1999.

Shahidur R. Khandker - The World Bank
Bangladesh Institute of Development Studies. The Long-Term Impact of Microcredit Impacts 1998 is a follow up survey conducted by Bangladesh Institute of Development Studies (BIDS) and the World Bank. The survey was first carried out in 1991-1992 and the survey's main focus was to provide data for an analysis of three major credit programs (Grameen Bank, Bangladesh Rural Advancement Committee, and the Rural Development-12 program of the Bangladesh Rural Development Board). The survey covered both villages from each of the programs under study as well as villages where no lending took place. The 1991-1992 survey included 1,798 households randomly drawn from 87 villages of 29 thanas in rural Bangladesh. These households from 87 villages of 29 thanas were surveyed first in 1991/92, and then revisited in 1998/99. In 1998-1999, altogether 2,599 households were surveyed, out of which 2,226 were from old villages and 373 were from new villages.

Varun Gauri and Julia Galef - World Bank and Columbia University. This survey is one of the first large, nationally representative surveys of non-governmental organizations (NGOs) in a developing country. Anonymized version for public dissemination: name of NGO and NGO manager were removed, as well as name of mother NGO and address.

International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI), 2014. Contains data on 800 farming households. It provides information on demographic characteristics, social capital, land tenure, crop and livestock management, input use, extension, incidence of climatic shocks in the last five years and adaptation options. The survey was conducted from December 2010 to February 2011, covering data from the previous production year. It covers households in the 7 broad agroecological zones.

International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI), 2014. Round II is a follow up survey to BCCAS, Round I. About 97.34 percent of households from BCCAS I were reinterviewed in 2012. The survey captures information on demographic characteristics, social capital, land tenure, crop and livestock management, input use, extension, incidence of climatic shocks in the last five years and adaptation options and if there are any changes from 2010 survey. . The survey was conducted from September to October 2012, covering data from the previous production year. It covers households in the 7 broad agroecological zones as grouped by the Bangladesh Center for Advanced Studies.

Akhter Ahmed. Collected data on (1) plot-level agricultural production and practices, (2) dietary intake of individual household members, and (3) anthropometric measurements of all household members.The BIHS covers 6500 households in 325 primary sampling units. The sample is statistically representative at the following levels: (a) nationally representative of rural Bangladesh; (b) representative of rural areas of each of the seven administrative divisions of the country: Barisal, Chittagong, Dhaka, Khulna, Rajshahi, Rangpur, and Sylhet; and (c) representative of the Feed the Future (FTF) zone of influence.

International Food Policy Research Institute, 2012. The SHAHAR (Supporting Household Activities for Health, Assets and Revenue) project aims to establish household livelihood security for vulnerable urban households. Using relevant indicators, the project intends to assess changes in various household livelihood security measures that are expected due to SHAHAR’s interventions. The information in the baseline dataset is meant to provide a basis for monitoring changes over the life of the project. The SHAHAR Base line Survey was conducted in August 2000 in slums and low-income settlements within the municipal areas of Jessore and Tongi in Bangladesh . Households were selected randomly from a complete listing done as part of a census in the areas only a few months before. The sample size was chosen based on a desire to estimate the prevalence of malnutrition of children 0-60 months old with a confidence level of 90 percent and an error level of 5 percent (requiring a sample size of 271). Because only about half the households had children 60 months and younger, and because a simple random sampling method was used, the team surveyed about twice that number to ensure obtaining a sample of at least 271 households in each location with children 60 months and younger. The team actually surveyed 563 households in Jessore and 557 households in Tongi. This gives higher levels of precision for overall household-level variables.

International Food Policy Research Institute, 2012. The data collected covers 757 households in seven flood-affected rural areas at three points in time over a period of a year between November 1998 and December 1999 to capture the difference in labor participation and food security in the period following the flood and to understand the capabilities of recovering from the shock of the flood. Topics in the household survey include household information, education, employment and training, agricultural activity, fishing and livestock activity, allocation of family labor, social assistance, household assets, credit, housing and sanitation, non-food spending, food expenditure and consumption, health status, and anthropometry. Topics in the community survey include level of agricultural production, employment, prices, cost of farming, economic activity, law and order, intervention programs, and information about the flood at the thana, union, and village level.

Agnes Quisumbing; Bob Baulch, 2011. focuses on 102 villages characteristic of rural Bangladesh, aims to further our understanding of the economic, social and political processes that shape chronic poverty in Bangladesh together with the impact of selected anti-poverty interventions on poverty dynamics. After initial community level fieldwork approximately 1,907 core households first surveyed in 1994, 1996, or 2000 were interviewed in late 2006 to ascertain how their living standards, endowment and other characteristics have changed over time and what role selected interventions have had on their welfare trajectories. 365 households who had split from their original households were also interviewed Detailed life-histories were then collected from a stratified sub-sample of approximately 293 adult men and women living in 161 households in order to better understand which events, institutions and processes have trapped certain households in chronic poverty while allowing others to escape from it.

ICPSR 7555. This data collection contains information gathered in five annual surveys that assessed the degree of freedom in 218 nations and dependencies from 1972-1976. The number of cases with data varies from year to year, due to annexation, amalgamation, or the addition of further territories to the roster. The data include assessments of the political and civil rights of the general population, an overall freedom rating for the country, and the direction in which this rating appeared to be moving. Surveys after 1972 have added variables that indicate whether a change in the evaluation since the previous survey was due to internal events in the country or to new information about existing conditions. Before 1973, only the presence or absence of change is noted. The 1976 data include four additional variables applicable to 142 cases and provide information about the system of government and the economy of most of the nations studied. The rationale used in assigning the seven categories on the continuum of most to least freedom can be found in Appendix III of the codebook, including which civil and political rights were considered critical in order for a nation to garner each rating. Requires free ICPSR account to access data.

Akhter Ahmed, 2011. Education survey was conducted in Bangladesh in 2003 to compare the effect of using food or cash as a conditional transfer, designed to increase school attendance, to poor households. Earlier 2000 survey results are also available.

A database of mortality and malnutrition rates - the most commonly used public health indicators of the severity of a humanitarian crisis. Field agencies use mortality and nutrition indicators to identify and measure the severity of needs in order to prioritize human and financial resources. Use Map and Timeline to select country specific data for Pakistan.

ICPSR 31461. Dataset 1, Data on International Election Monitoring (DIEM), codes the assessement and activities of international election monitoring organizations to national-level legislative and presidential elections in 108 countries from 1980-2004. Dataset 2, Quality of Elections Data (QED), codes the quality of national-level legislative and presidential elections in 172 countries from 1978 to 2004. Dataset 3, Supplementary Election Data, includes supplementary information on all direct presidential and legislative elections in 182 countries from 1975-2004. Requires free ICPSR account to access data.

The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program has collected, analyzed, and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more than 300 surveys in over 90 countries. Requires free registration to download data. See list of data by country and year. DHS data is also available at the Integrated Demographic and Health Series (IDHS). Requires registration as a DHS data user (specifying country of interest) to download datasets.

ICPSR 21302. Principal Investigators: Subhayu Bandyopadhyay, Howard J. Wall. The authors estimate the responsiveness of aid to recipient countries' economic and physical needs, civil/political rights, and government effectiveness. They look exclusively at the post-Cold War era and use fixed effects to control for the political, strategic, and other considerations of donors. They find that aid and per capita income have been negatively related, while aid has been positively related to infant mortality, rights, and government effectiveness. Requires free ICPSR account to access data.

USAID-funded machine readable data. Subcategories include Democracy, Human Rights and Governance; Economic Growth; Education and Social Services; Health; Humanitarian Assistance; Peace and Security; Program Development and Oversight

Comprehensive data and analysis source for key topics in education such as access, completion, learning, expenditures and equity.

EM-DAT contains essential core data on the occurrence and effects of over 18,000 mass disasters in the world from 1900 to present. The database is compiled from various sources, including UN agencies, non-governmental organisations, insurance companies, research institutes and press agencies. Includes disaster by country search interface.

Provides a regional perspective on development issues in Asia and the Pacific. The database, covering the 58 regional ESCAP Member States and Associate Members, contains 900 data series on a wide range of topics on population, education, health, poverty and inequalities, gender, economy, environment and connectivity. The online database is updated twice a year.

European Values Study Group; World Values Survey Association. designed to enable a crossnational, crosscultural comparison of values and norms on a wide variety of topics and to monitor changes in values and attitudes across the globe. This data collection contains the survey data from the four waves of the World Values Surveys and European Values Surveys, carried out in 1981-1984, 1990-1993, 1995-1997, and 1999-2004. These survey responses have now been integrated into one dataset, to facilitate time series analysis. This is a link to ICPSR 4531. The data is not directly on ICPSR, but available from banco de datos ASEP/JDS Home Page.

International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI), 2013.
Food policy research is defined here as any socioeconomic or policy-related research in the food, agriculture, and natural-resource s ectors. In this database, two country-level food policy research capacity indicators are presented. The first indicator is the number of full-time equivalent analysts or researchers with PhDs or their equivalent analysts or researchers with PhDs or their equivalent per one million rural citizens. The second indicator is the number of food policy relevant journal articles published internationally within the last five years per full-time PhD-equivalent researcher. This input-output ratio measure is indicative of the efficiency of the policy research environment.

Reynolds, Paul Davidson, and Diana Hechavarria, ICPSR 20320. The Global Entrepreneurship Monitor (GEM) was designed to capture various aspects of firm creation and entrepreneurship across countries. The data have been collected over the course of 12 years (1998-2010) and include responses from individuals in over 90 countries. This dataset is a harmonized file capturing results from all of the surveys. The procedure has been to harmonize the basic items across all surveys in all years, followed by implementing a standardized transform to identify those active as nascent entrepreneurs in the start-up process, as owner-managers of new firms, or as owner-managers of established firms. Demographic variables include respondent age, sex, and employment status. Requires free ICPSR MyData Account.

a project funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation to measure how people around the world - including the poor, women, and rural residents - manage their day-to-day finances and plan for the future. The Global Findex indicators are drawn from survey data collected by Gallup, Inc. over the 2011 calendar year, covering more than 150,000 individuals in more than 140 economies and representing more than 97 percent of the world's adult population. The second round of Global Findex indicators was collected in 2014 and is forthcoming in 2015. The set of indicators will be collected again in 2017.

The annual global benchmark for publication of open government data, run by the Open Knowledge Network

ICPSR 22600. Principal Investigators: Gary LaFree, Laura Dugan. The researchers sought to code and verify a previously unavailable dataset composed of terrorist events recorded for the entire world from 1998 through 2004. The goal of the GTD2 was to create a comprehensive and sound data set on global terrorism that can be used to derive methodologically robust insights into the phenomenon of terrorism and how to counter it. Information in the GTD2 was drawn entirely from publicly available, open-source materials.

ICPSR 23562. Principal Investigators: Philip N. Howard, Laura Busch, Spencer Cohen. Contains two types of indicators for the global distribution of information, communication and technology (ICT) resources. The data includes gini coefficients for the distribution of Internet access within countries, and a technology diffusion index that weights the distribution of broadband subscribers, personal computers, mobile phones, Internet users, and international Internet bandwidth by economic output. The data are secondary source data, based on the analysis of primary data from 204 surveys fielded in 47 countries.

International Labour Organization. The primary source for cross-country statistics on the labour market. The database contains over 100 indicators covering more than 230 countries and economies.

Akhter Ahmed, 2011. Survey in 2000 to evaluate the effect of a conditional transfer of food to poor families that was designed to increase school attendance. The survey covered 600 households in 60 villages in 30 unions in 10 thanas, and 110 schools in the same 30 unions from which the household sample was drawn. 2003 survey results are also available.

IFPRI is often involved in the collection of primary data and the compilation and processing of secondary data. The resulting datasets provide a wealth of information at the local (household and community), national, and global levels. IFPRI freely distributes as many of these datasets as possible and encourages their use in research and policy analysis.

Pearson, Frederic S., and Robert A. Baumann, ICPSR06035-v1. Ann Arbor, MI: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, 1993. Documents all cases of military intervention across international boundaries by regular armed forces of independent states in the regions of Europe, the Americas (and Caribbean), Asia and the Pacific, Sub-Saharan Africa, and the Middle East/North Africa. Military interventions are defined operationally in this collection as the movement of regular troops or forces (airborne, seaborne, shelling, etc.) of one country into the territory or territorial waters of another country, or forceful military action by troops already stationed by one country inside another, in the context of some political issue or dispute. The study seeks to identify politically important actions which interpose a state directly into the conflict patterns occurring in another state, and which conceivably involve a breach of the sovereignty of the target state. Requires free ICPSR account to access data.

Kisangani, Emizet F., and Jeffrey Pickering, Ann Arbor, MI: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, 2008-01-29. Documents 447 intervention events from 1989 to 2005. To ensure consistency across the full 1946-2005 time span, Pearson and Baumann's coding procedures were followed. Requires free ICPSR account to access data.

This file contains aggregate measures from the ARDA’s coding of the 2001, 2003, and 2005 U.S. State Department’s International Religious Freedom Reports. This coding produced data on 196 different countries and territories (see below for list of countries coded), but excluded the United States. It also includes three indexes calculated from these data: Government Regulation of Religion index (GRI), Social Regulation of Religion index (SRI), Government Favoritism of Religion index (GFI) (see Grim and Finke, 2006). Data in this file represent mean coding responses for each variable from all three years of coding.

A continuing annual programme of cross-national collaboration on surveys covering topics important for social science research. The Data Catalogue DBK holds study descriptions of all studies that are available at the Data Archive.

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series,
International, census microdata for social and economic research. An effort to inventory, preserve, harmonize, and disseminate census microdata from around the world. The project has collected the world's largest archive of publicly available census samples. The data are coded and documented consistently across countries and over time to facillitate comparative research. IPUMS-International makes these data available to qualified researchers free of charge through a web dissemination system.

A static research collection of district level election results for approximately 350 national legislative elections in 26 countries that was maintained through 2003

Survey carried out in Matlab, a region of rural Bangladesh in which there is an ongoing prospective Demographic Surveillance System, under the aegis of the International Centre for Diarrhoeal Disease Research, Bangladesh. The survey addresses the effect of socio-economic and behavioral factors on adult and elderly health status, and health care utilization; the linkages between adult/elderly well-being, social and kin network characteristics and resource flows; and the impact of community services and infrastructure on adult/elderly health and other human capital acquisition.

ICPSR 29602. Principal Investigator: Joel Selway. There are 128 countries in the dataset. The Cross-national Indices of Multidimensional Measures of Social Structure (CIMMSS) contains 69 new indices for the following dimensions: Race, Ethnicity, Language, Religion, Income, Geography. There are six different characteristics contained in the dataset. Requires free ICPSR account to access data.

Includes U.S. Company Data and International Company Data.
U.S. Annual Reports is available exclusively through Mergent Online. International Annual Reports module offer access to the most recent annual reports on thousands of non-U.S. public companies, as well as an extensive archive of past years' annuals in Adobe Acrobat PDF format.

Sengupta, Rajdeep, and Craig P. Aubuchon, Ann Arbor, MI: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research, 2008-01-10. Replication datasets from an overview on the growth and development of microcredit and microfinance. Geographical coverage: Bangladesh, Bolivia, Mexico, United States. Requires a free ICPSR MyData account to access.

Thompson, J., Colchester, Essex: UK Data Archive, August 2013. The aim of this study is to closely examine migration, nutrition, and ageing across two generations of Bangladeshi women living in Cardiff, UK and in Bangladesh. Mixed methods will be used to assess body weight, bone density, general health status, and women's perceptions of nutrition, eating patterns, and ageing. Results will inform the development of community-based, participant-driven resources for promoting nutrition and healthy ageing. Free registration with the UKDA required to access data.

MAR tracks 284 politically-active ethnic groups throughout the world from 1945 to the present -- identifying where they are, what they do, and what happens to them. MAR focuses specifically on ethnopolitical groups, non-state communal groups that have "political significance" in the contemporary world because of their status and political actions.

Richard B. Freeman, Remco H. Oostendorp. This database contains occupational wage data for 161 occupations in 171 countries from 1983 to 2008. The occupational wage data are derived from the ILO October Inquiry database. You will need a major database, statistical program, or programming language to use these files. Also available on the Open Knowledge Repository.

Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development

Kassem, Fatima Sbaity, 2008-2010. The purpose of the study was to explore the impact of political party structure on gender inequality, particularly in parliamentary representation, in the political realm as a whole. The goal of this study was to compile a dataset that looks beyond the national domestic level into the individual party-level explanatory factors for women's political leadership, broadly defined to include their station within parties' decision-making inner structures. The dataset allows researchers to look at the impact of party-level characteristics and the influences they exert on women's chances in assuming leadership positions within political parties' inner structure. A large portion of the study focuses on religiosity and secularism of each political party studied. All relevant parties in the 26 countries, which have at least one seat in parliament, have been covered. Data was collected on 330 political parties and women's membership and leadership within these parties. Data on women in 330 political parties in 13 Arab and 7 non-Arab Muslim-majority countries, 5 European countries with Christian Democratic parties plus Israel, 2008-2010. Requires a free ICPSR MyData account to access.

Since its inception in 2002, Pew Global Attitudes Project has surveyed nearly 300,000 people in 59 countries. This interactive database provides users with the ability to access key trends on questions ranging from attitudes toward the U.S. to people's assessments of their own lives and views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day. These key trends can be accessed by question topic or by country. Use Question Search Database to filter by country. Also see countries surveyed and sample sizes by year.

Advanced search interface filters by research topics, countries, and resources.

McEniry, Mary, ICPSR34241-v2. The purpose of this study was to compile and harmonize cross-national data from both the developing and developed world to allow for the examination of how early life conditions are related to older adult health and well being.

A service of NBR's Strategic Asia Program. The database contains data for 70 indicators across 10 themes for 37 countries from 1990 to 2012. The database supplements the annual Strategic Asia volume. Public access temporarily suspended as of 08/05/2015.

United Nations Office at Vienna. Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice Branch, Ann Arbor, MI: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research [distributor], 2010-07-22.
Surveys were distributed to officials in every member country of the United Nations. Designated officials completed the surveys to the best of their abilities given the country's available data.
Also available via UNOCDC site.

A central source for U.S. foreign assistance data, international socioeconomic data, and data-driven analysis. Links to data portals: Foreign Aid Explorer, International Data & Economic Analysis, Trade Capacity Building, Microenterprise Enterprise Reporting

McGregor, J.A. and Gough, I., December 2008. A series of studies which aim to develop a conceptual and methodological approach to understanding the social and cultural construction of wellbeing in developing countries. Focused on six communities in each of four countries: Ethiopia, Thailand, Peru and Bangladesh. Comprises 26 community profiles of each of the communities selected. Free registration with the UKDA required to access data.

A compilation of mortality data by age, sex and cause of death, as reported annually by Member States from their civil registration systems.

The United States Bureau of the Census initiated a series of studies on women in development in 1970 with data drawn primarily from national censuses, surveys, statistical abstracts, and international statistical compendia. The aim of this data series was to provide a reliable, up-to-date, accessible database on women in development which can illuminate the discrepancies in the roles and status of women against those of men throughout the world in order to serve as a basis for the promotion of both intranational and international parity between the sexes. The studies that comprise the Women in Development series consist of national-level data concerning female/male differentials over a range of demographic and socio-economic variables. Wherever possible, the data are broken down by age and urban/rural residence to facilitate further analysis. The series is cumulative and the data are presented in basic tabular format. Initially, the data tables were compiled for 69 developing nations from Asia, Latin America, Africa, and the Near East that were recipients of the United States Agency for International Development aid. The first collection, Women in Development, 1979-1980 (ICPSR 8053), included all the aid-recipient nations regardless of population size. Subsequently, data were compiled for all remaining nations of the world with a population of five million or more, and statistics for the original nations were updated to reflect more recent information. The second collection in the series, Women in Development IV, 1983 (ICPSR 8155), covered approximately 120 nations from Asia, the Pacific, Latin America, the Caribbean, Africa, the Near East, North America, Europe, and the Soviet Union.

Select by date to access archived data. For the most recent data, see tables compiled by the Inter-Parliamentary Union and comparative data by country.

ICPSR 24340. Paxton, Pamela, Jennifer Green, and Melanie Hughes. This data collection provides information on women's inclusion in parliamentary bodies in over 150 countries from 1945 to 2003. The dataset allows for extensive, large-scale, cross-national investigation of the factors that explain women's attainment of political power over time and provides educators with comprehensive international and historical information on women in a variety of political positions. Information is provided on female suffrage, the first female member of parliament, yearly percentages of women in parliaments, when women reached important representational milestones, such as 10 percent, 20 percent, and 30 percent of a legislature, and when women achieved highly-visible political positions, such as prime minister, president, or head of parliament.

An ongoing effort to systematically gauge and track the perceptions and views of the World Bank Group’s clients and partners across the globe. This collection hosts open, accessible survey data from 29 countries collected in FY12 (July 2011 - June 2012) and 41 countries in FY13 (July 2012 - June 2013). In FY14 (July 2013 – June 2014), PORG will conduct surveys in another 43 countries. All data will be regularly updated and more countries will be added as data become available.

The Microdata Library is a service established to facilitate access to microdata that provide information about people living in developing countries, their institutions, their environment, their communities and the operation of their economies. It includes datasets that have been produced by the World Bank, such as impact evaluation of the Bank’s operations or research on development issues. It also includes datasets from other international organizations, statistical agencies and other agencies in low and middle-income countries.

United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division (2011). Provides a comparable and up-to-date set of national data on contraceptive prevalence for almost all countries and areas of the world. It also provides estimates of unmet need for family planning.

Veenhoven, R., Erasmus University Rotterdam, The Netherlands. An archive of research findings on subjective enjoyment of life which brings together findings that are scattered throughout many studies and provides a basis for synthetic work. For country specific date use nations/regions list interface.

The World Bank: indicators for 214 countries. Also available on CD-ROM (Lehman Data Service: CD-ROM HC59.69 .W683) for 1997, 1999-2001, 2003, 2005, 2007. Also available on ProQuest for 01/2009 to present.

United Nations Population Division. Free download in MS Excel format. See metadata for details. Contains data on the age-specific fertility rate for 224 countries or areas of the world.

United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division (2009)

United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division (2013)

Office of Population Research. Participating countries from Africa, Asia, America, and Europe. Click on the link to learn about the available data and documentation for the country's survey.

World Health Organization. The WHS was implemented between 2002 and 2004 in countries selected to represent all regions of the world. The total sample size, using nationally representative samples, includes over 300,000 individuals aged 18+ years. For six countries, China, Ghana, India, Mexico, Russia and South Africa, WHS also serves as SAGE Wave 0. Household data includes a household roster, health insurance coverage, health expenditures, and indicators of permanent income or wealth. Individual level data include sociodemographic information, health state descriptions, health state valuation, risk factors, chronic conditions, mortality, health care utilization, health systems responsiveness and social capital.

United Nations University (UNU-WIDER) , Version 2.0c, May 2008. Collects and stores information on income inequality for developed, developing, and transition countries. The database and its documentation are available on this website.

Prepared by the Population Division of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat. Free download in MS Excel format.

United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division, Fertility and Family Planning Section

United Nations. Department of Economic and Social Affairs. Population Division. Downloadable pdf format.

"The 2012 Revision of the World Population Prospects is the twenty-Third round of global demographic estimates and projections undertaken by the Population Division of the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs of the United Nations Secretariat."--from 14 April 2014 update. Also availalable in CD ROM format: Offsite CD-ROM HA155 .W682

Business CD-ROM HE7601 .W675 . 11th ed. (2007) Shelved in Business Course Reserves
13th ed 2009 Shelved in Business Course Reserves. Contains time series data for the years 1960, 1965, 1970 and annually from 1975 to 2013 for more than 150 telecommunication/ICT statistics covering fixed-telephone networks, mobile-cellular telephone subscriptions, quality of service, Internet (including fixed- and mobile-broadband subscription data), traffic, staff, prices, revenue, investment and statistics on ICT access and use by households and individuals. Selected demographic, macroeconomic and broadcasting statistics are also included.

A global network of social scientists studying changing values and their impact on social and political life. The WVS consists of nationally representative surveys conducted in almost 100 countries which contain almost 90 percent of the world’s population, using a common questionnaire. The WVS is the largest non-commercial, cross-national, time series investigation of human beliefs and values ever executed, currently including interviews with almost 400,000 respondents. Data also available via UKDA.