Research Guides: Market Research Guide: Getting Started

Getting Started

Market research reports are available through multiple resources. The most common but expensive reports are available through trade publications or industry association reports. It also can be found through government resources; trade magazines, industry reports or scholarly journals articles

Popular Databases

Catalyst (MRI-Simmons)
CatalystSM [trade mark] (formerly the Insights Platform) is a consumer insights and activation engine that informs marketing strategy and streamlines the use of data to drive business results. Powered by MRI-Simmons' nationally representative and privacy-compliant consumer data set, Catalyst provides marketers with a series of modules, from consumer profiling through activation, designed to enable a self-service experience with complete transparency. Modules include: Crosstab, DataHaul, Geo mapping, Quick reports, Boards, Brand Catalyst, Premier omnibus, Activate campaign targets.
EMarketer
Includes daily research articles, analyst reports, and a database of e-business and online marketing statistics, aggregated and analyzed from over 2,800 sources. Topics include market research and trend analysis on Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies.
Media Intelligence Center
Provides audited circulation reports, circulation data and publishers' statements for newspapers, consumer magazines, business publications and farm publications from the US, Canada, and other countries.
Mintel market sizes
Mintel containing market size, market share and forecast data for thousands of consumer goods categories worldwide."
Passport
An online market research tool that monitors industry trends and gives strategic analysis and a market size and market share database for all products across all key countries. Passport is Euromonitor International's global market analysis software platform, which analyses the industry in countries around the world.
RKMA market research handbooks / Richard K. Miller & Associates.
Downloadable market research handbooks covering the following market sectors: Casinos, Gaming & Wagering, Consumer Behavior, Entertainment, Media & Advertising, Healthcare Business, International Consumers, Leisure, Restaurant, Food & Beverage, Retail Business, Sports, Travel & Tourism. Each report breaks down into industry segments and covers market assessment, trends, demographics and more.
WARC : ideas and evidence for marketing people
WARC is a database providing access to advertising and marketing information from various sources. The searchable sources include organisations of various countries, monographs, conference papers, abstracts (including 'Market research abstracts') and the full-text of various journals, including the International journal of market research, the Journal of advertising research, the International journal of advertising, Admap, the Journal of advertising history and Market leader.