Journalism Research Guide: Tools & Software

Tools & Widgets

  • Google Scholar retrieves references to books, abstracts, and e-journal articles from selected university and scholarly repositories. Columbia's Google Scholar link above also provides direct links to the full-text article for materials in our holdings. Remember to adjust your settings and add a link to Columbia University e-link: Settings > Library Links > Columbia University > Save
  • Google Book Search searches the full text of books that Google scans and stores in its digital database. It provides online access to full text of public domain and out-of-copyright books, reproduced either from text provided by publishers or by the libraries.
  • Columbia LibX plugin searches Columbia Library catalogs, electronic books, journals and selected databases from your browser. You can also follow embedded visual cues from Google Scholar, Amazon, Wikipedia and The New York Times Book Review. (Firefox)
  • Proxy Bookmarklet provides access library resources from off campus. The bookmarklet lets you log into the proxy without having to browse from the Columbia University Libraries website.
  • Libraries Search adds our search plugins to Firefox or Internet Explorer to search our website, the Columbia University Directory, CLIO, Google Scholar, and more.
  • Libraries Mobile Resources offers a select list of resources for which mobile versions exist.  These resources are mobile browser optimized unless specified by the iPhone or android app icon.

Software Hubs across Campus

In addition to the software available in the Journalism Library, several other sites on campus have extensive software to support research and coursework: