Journalism Research Guide: Academic Journals & Articles

Provides access to a wide range of databases indexing journals and other scholarly publications, with good coverage in the social sciences.

Provides access to a wide variety of citations and full-text articles in a variety of academic and professional disciplines, including business, economics, gender studies, literature, and political science, as well as news and other general interest items.

An interdisciplinary collection of more than 1,200 journals from the publisher SAGE, with strong coverage in Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Political Science, Psychology, and Sociology.

Provides indexing, abstracting of, and citation linking to journals in biology, physics, chemistry, geosciences, agriculture, medicine, business, social work, and the social sciences.

Indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

BrowZine, available both as a website and an app, is a digital newsstand for academic journals, allowing for browsing by subject area. Connects directly with Columbia's journal subscriptions, allowing for tracking of individual journals and reading and saving articles.

Journal Citation Reports, part of the Web of Science database, allows for searching and browsing by subject area of more than 21,000 academic journals. Includes various impact metrics based on citations for journals and articles.

Scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of more than 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided.

Provides citations and abstracts to journal articles and English language books in the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics.

Comprehensively covers communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources world-wide. Coverage includes communication literature and literature in other related disciplines, such as international literature in film studies, role of technology in human communications, risk communications, crisis communication and public opinions.

Contains core social sciences and related materials from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages (including over 2,600 journals and books, book reviews, and book chapters).

Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added on an ongoing basis.

Full text articles from over 2,500 publications dating back to 1994; indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications; humanities and science subjects; full bibliographic citations to more than 13,000 dissertations or theses; and retrospective coverage as far back as 1982

Indexes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories in the area of public affairs. Topics include business, government, international relations, banking, environment, health, social sciences, demographics, law and legislation, political science, public administration, finance, agriculture, education, and statistics.

Full-text versions of peer-reviewed journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, as well as thousands of ebooks, with emphasis on humanities and social sciences.

Provides abstracts and full text of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers. Topics covered include accounting, economics, financial economics, legal scholarship, and management.

Social sciences full text covers concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. More than 350 key international, English-language periodicals. Indexing of periodicals provided from 1983-current, full text coverage starting 1995.

Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions and violence.

Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides citations from 1963 to the present to journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.