Research Guides: Industry Research Guide: Industry Research

Classification Codes

Industry classification codes allow you to identify, define and categorize industries. You can use them in many databases to find information by industry. It is important to know the industrial classification coed for your industry research especially if you are searching for a small industry. There are many systems that classify business entities differently. The main purpose of these codes are for statistical purposes and in databases as part of the indexing. .

CUSIP Global Services A CUSIP is a unique identifier for financial securities in North America. It's a nine-character code that's alphanumeric or numeric. CUSIP stands for Committee on Uniform Securities Identification Procedures.
ISIN Organization: international securities identification ISIN stands for International Securities Identification Number. It's a 12-character code that identifies a financial instrument, such as a stock or bond, globally. ISINs are used to facilitate the settlement and reporting of trades.
International Standard Industrial Classification (ISIC): maintained by the U.N. Statistics Division, the ISIC is used in a number of international databases, such as ILO's LABORSTA. Rev.4 is the current version. See link on sidebar at this site to other available classifications.
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS): Adopted in the 1990s by the U.S., Canada, and Mexico to categorize industries. Replaced the SIC system (see below).
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC): SIC is a four-digit classification system developed in the 1930's for use by the U.S. federal government. Although still used in some databases, the SIC classification system is no longer being revised.

Industry Statistics

Annual Business Survey (ABS) ProgramCensus.gov
The ABS Program combines data results from survey respondents and administrative records to produce data on business ownership
Bureau of Economic Analysis
The U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis is your source of accurate and objective data about the nation's economy.
Census. US Government
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
Data Axle reference solutions
Directory information on U.S. and Canadian business, health care, and residential listings. Search by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, yellow page listing, revenue, location, number of employees or any combination of the above. In addition to address and phone number, each entry includes officer names and titles, corporate affiliation, business type and size of yellow page advertising
Data planet.
Provides access to statistical data produced by U.S. Federal agencies, States, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. There are over 185+ billion data points available in charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables in the Data Planet repository. Data Planet offers powerful capabilities to compare & contrast multiple data series, perform statistical calculations on the data, and customize output views.
Export Information by Industry
more...less...
Export.gov helps U.S. companies plan, develop and execute international sales strategies necessary to succeed in today's global marketplace. Developed by international trade specialists and economists, here you will find trusted market intelligence, practical advice and business tools to help you understand how to export, connect with foreign buyers, and expand operations in new markets.
Industry snapshots
Provide worldwide market data for a broad range of industries and regions.
ProQuest statistical abstract of the U.S
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites.
Social explorer
visually display the demographic change that has occurred in the U.S. since 1790 through the present, for the country over all down to the level of the county. For more recent years, one can display areas as small as your own neighborhood. Certain cities may even be displayed as far back as 1910. To do this we have developed a collection of interactive demographic maps that can be viewed, queried and manipulated on our site."
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage
Each survey is divided into two parts. 1) the basic analysis which contains an examination of prospects for that industry followed by composite industry data & a comparative company analysis 2) the current analysis which contains the latest developments and some industry and company statistics.
Statista
Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.
USA trade online
Provides U.S. export and import information on more than 18,000 commodities presented in the Harmonized Tariff Classification System for current month and previous month; cumulative year to date, current year and prior year; and annual two year and historical data.