Research Guides: Industry Research Guide: Finding Articles

Using Library Materials

Finding articles in the industry fields can be comprehensive. Here are some tips that might be helpful to you:

CLIO, Columbia University's Online Library Catalog Use CLIO to search Columbia Libraries' collection for books, academic journals, databases, government documents, and more. If you are looking for journal articles, use one of the databases in the Where to Search for Articles box on this page.
Borrow, Request, Renew Our collections span over 13 million items and 450 languages, plus a boundless multitude of resources from partner institutions, shared collections, and more. If we don’t have what you’re looking for, we can help you find it. Use this link to find more information about borrowing, requesting, and renewing materials.
Inter Library Loan Enables eligible Columbia University affiliates to borrow material from other libraries or obtain copies of articles or book chapters from titles that are not owned or available at Columbia University Libraries.
Manage your articles by using one of the citation management tools Columbia University provides: EndNote, RefWorks, or Zotero.

Industry Databases for Literature Search

ABI/INFORM global This link opens in a new window
Search 1800 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on advertising, marketing, economics, management techniques, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Includes the Wall Street Journal.
Business source complete This link opens in a new window
"Business Source Complete ... [provides] full text for ... scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for ... peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for ... top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. This database is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost."--Ebscohost web site.
Conference Board. This link opens in a new window
Includes Conference Board research reports on key business topics, charts and infographics, webcasts, podcasts, and press releases. Serves as a portal for streaming events, including roundtables and expert briefings. Includes several searchable databases of economic indicators, including the Consumer confidence index, Data central, Higher education business & economics portfolio, Labor markets, Measure of CEO confidence, Employment trends index, Global economic outlook, Leading economic indicators, Help wanted online, Human capital analytics tools, and the CMO+CCO meter dashboard.
EBSCOhost research databases. This link opens in a new window
Provides access to various databases indexing journals and other scholarly publications, some with full text.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Provides company information including market data and competitors.
Nexis Uni. This link opens in a new window
Contains access to hundreds of information sources including the full text of newspapers (foreign and domestic), magazines, wire services, newsletters, journals and broadcast transcripts.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This resource includes citations and full text articles in academic & professional disciplines, e.g., business, economics, gender studies, health, literature, management, political science; as well as news and general interest items. Search multiple databases simultaneously or select individually from among ABI/INFORM (business); Accounting & tax; the American Medical Association; Dissertations; Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Research Library, or major current and historical US newspapers (including the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Boston Globe, LA Times, etc).

Industry Reports and Surveys

BMI Research
Provides in-depth market research reports on 24 industries and 200 global markets, emphasizing emerging markets. Also provides extensive economic and political risk ratings and analysis, macroeconomic analysis and forecasts, and financial analysis of debt and equity. Also includes profiles for over 500 multinational companies and their subsidiaries, and intra-daily alerts on economic, industrial, and political developments, business deals, multinational joint ventures, and regulatory changes.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Business reports in five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data.
LSEG workspace This link opens in a new window
Refinitiv Workspace contains public and private company information for both U.S. and international firms, investment reports, breaking news and economic statistics. It covers a broad range of financial market trends, and includes deals data, private equity/venture capital coverage, and environmental performance information (ESG). After Market Research reports are from well-known investment analyst firms. Refinitiv Workspace provides access to the broadest and deepest coverage of financial data, news, analytics and productivity tools.
Passport This link opens in a new window
GMID contains over a million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts.
Standard & Poor's netAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Company information, including market snapshot, company quote, equity indexes page, the Outlook's market insight, S & P stock stock report, economic calendar, economic insight, industry in focus, and Stovall's sector watch. Also includes mutual funds, S&P industry surveys for the US, Europe, Asia and Latin America
Value Line This link opens in a new window
Value Line provides investment research on stocks, mutual funds, options and convertibles, and offers a family of no-load mutual funds.
Value Line. Investment survey--historical reports This link opens in a new window
The Value Line investment survey--historical reports contain backfiles with information on industries, the stock market, and the economy. The reports date back to 1998 and are made accessible in PDF format.