History of West Africa, c1000 CE to the present: Full Text Journals, Databases, Dissertations, & Archives

Full Text Journals

  • Selected Journals & Journal Archives in African Studies at Columbia
    (via "Basic Guide to Research on Africa" at Columbia)
  • Full Text Databases -- Historical Documents and Images

  • African Bluebooks, 1821-1953. British Online Archives. (Selections from the British Foreign & Commonwealth Office)

  • Annual Departmental Reports Relating to Nigeria and the British Cameroons, 1887-1962 and
    Ghana and Togo Under Colonial Rule, 1843-1957. British Online Archives. (Selections from the British Foreign & Commonwealth Office)

  • Colonial Law in Africa: African Government Gazettes, 1808-1919 ; 1920-1945 ; 1946-1966
    British Online Archives. (Selections from the British Foreign & Commonwealth Office)

  • Confidential Print, Africa 1834-1966 (Selected CO & FO records in UK National Archives)
     
  • eHRAF World Cultures: ethnographic collections (e-books)
     
  • Gallica: la bibliothèque numérique sur l'Afrique (Bibliothèque nationale de France, Paris)

  • Harvard University: Liberated Africans (Cambridge, Massachusetts)
    Selected trial proceedings, registers, labor contracts, anti-slavery legislation, correspondence, images, and photographs.

  • Nineteenth Century Collections--Europe & Africa (Selections from UK National Archives)

  • RAI--Royal Anthropological Institute Archive. Wiley Digital Archives. (Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2018-)

  • Royal Geographical Society. Wiley Digital Archives. (Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, 2020-)

  • Slave Voyages--The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database (Rice University, Houston, Texas; Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia)

  • Slavery, abolition & social justice. (Marlborough, Wiltshire, UK: Adam Matthew Publications)
    "...documents...slavery in the early Americas; African coast; the Middle Passage; slave testimony; resistance and revolts; the Underground Railroad; the abolition movement and the slavery debate; freedmen and free black settlements; education; slavery and the Islamic world; slavery today and the legacy of slavery."

  • Slavery and anti-slavery: a transnational archive (Farmington Hills, Michigan: Gale, Cengage Learning, 2009-)

  • Slavery and Manumission Manuscripts of Timbuktu. (The Center for Research Libraries, Chicago, Illinois)
    A digital library of 206 original Arabic language manuscripts from the Bibliothèque Commémorative Mama Haidara in Timbuktu, Mali.

  • Slavery: supporters and abolitionists, 1675-1865. (East Ardsley, Wakefield : Microform Academic Publishers, 2016) British Online Archives (Selections from The Bodleian Library, The British Library, and other institutions)
    A digitized collection of ledgers, letters, and official reports, with a primary focus on Jamaica and the West Indies, as well as parts of West Africa.

  • University of Virginia and Virginia Humanities: Slavery Images: A Visual Record of the African Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Early African Diaspora. (Charlottesville, Virginia)

  • University of Wisconsin: On-Line Data Archive--Slave Movement During the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries (Madison, Wisconsin)

  • Vanderbilt University: Slave Societies Digital Archive (Nashville, Tennessee)
    Selected records from Catholic Church archives, especially for the history of Brazil, Colombia, Cuba, Spanish Florida, Ouidah (Benin), and Luanda (Angola).
  • Dissertations

  • African Theses and Dissertations -- on the Internet (Karen Fung, Africa South of the Sahara--Selected Internet Resources, Stanford University Libraries, Stanford, California)
     
  • The Center for Research Libraries: Dissertations Catalog (Chicago, Illinois)
     
  • Curto, José C. and Raymond R. Gervais. Bibliography of Canadian master's theses and doctoral dissertations on Africa, 1905-1993. (Montréal: Canadian Association of African Studies, 1994)
     
  • Cyberthèses: publication et diffusion en ligne des thèses (Lyons, France ; Montréal, Canada)
     
  • Proquest Digital Dissertations. (Ann Arbor, MI: ProQuest University Microfilms International, 1980-)
     
  • Ghana: University of Ghana Digital Collections: Theses (Legon, Accra, Ghana)

  • Lauer, Joseph J. et al., comps. American and Canadian doctoral dissertations and masters' theses on Africa, 1974-1987. (Atlanta: Crossroads Press and Emory University for the African Studies Association, 1989)
     
  • Lauer, Joseph J. et al., comps. "Recent Doctoral Dissertations." In ASA news: for African Studies Association members. (Atlanta: African Studies Association, 1981-2006)
     
  • Mémoire Online Memoireonline.com (France)
    Masters' thesis repository
     
  • Nigeria: Ahmadu Bello University, Open Access Institutional Repository: Theses and Dissertations (Zaria, Nigeria)

  • Price, Helen C. et al., comps. Theses on Africa, 1976-1988: accepted at the universities of the United Kingdom and Ireland. Published for the Standing Conference on Library Materials on Africa. (London; New York: Hans Zell, 1993)
     
  • Senegal: Université Cheikh Anta Diop de Dakar--Bibliothèque Numérique: Theses. (Dakar, Sénégal)

  • Sims, Michael and Alfred Kagan. American and Canadian doctoral dissertations and master's theses on Africa, 1886-1974. (Waltham, Mass.: African Studies Association, 1976)
     
  • Catalogue SUDOC: Rechercher par "Note de thèse" (ABES--Agence bibliographique de l'enseignement supérieur, Montpellier, France)
     
  • Thèses.fr de 1985 au présent (ABES--Agence bibliographique de l'enseignement supérieur, Montpelier, France)
  • Archives at Columbia

  • Columbia University -- Archives Portal Collections

  • Center for Human Rights Documentation & Research includes records of:
    Amnesty International USA ; Human Rights Watch ; Committee for Health in Southern Africa ; Gay McDougall Papers (Namibia & South Africa) ; Human Rights Web Archive Project
     
  • The Carnegie Collections at Columbia University
     
  • Missionary Research Library at Union Theological Seminary (Burke Library)