Theological Seminary Studies: Background Info
Online Reference Resources
General
- Credo This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for research. Credo includes a broad range of subjects and handy tools like mind maps for exploring new topics. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but are now online 24/7. - Religion past and present / edited by Hans Dieter Betz ... [et al.]. This link opens in a new windowDefinitive encyclopedia of religion, including the latest developments in research, with a vast range of subjects connected with religious, theological, and biblical studies.
- Gale virtual reference library . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. Includes scholarly background information on a broad range of topics. - Blackwell reference online . This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and business and management. It supports browsing and full-text searching.
Bible & Scripture
- Oxford biblical studies online . This link opens in a new window
- Thesaurus linguae Graecae . This link opens in a new windowThe TLG digital library now contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and 1453, in excess of 80 million words. Topics include Greek literature, history, and culture.
Traditions
Print Resources
Most print reference materials in the Burke Library are located in the Main Reading Room on level L3. These materials cannot be checked out, so they are always available. This makes it a great place for researchers in theology and religion to study. Here are some of the resources available in the Reading Room:
Atlases such as the Illustrated Atlas of Jerusalem
Bible Commentaries such as Calvin's Commentary on the Book of the Prophet Isaiah
Biography sources such as African-American Religious Leaders: A-Z of African Americans
Concordances such as Graphic Concordance to the Dead Sea Scrolls
Dictionaries such as The Anchor Bible Dictionary
Encyclopedias such as the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Gender Studies
Lexicons such as A Reader's Hebrew-English Lexicon of the Old Testament
Librarian
The Burke Library at UTS
3041 Broadway