Journal Articles (Theology and Religion)
More databases in the disciplines of Theology, Philosophy & Religion...
Journal Articles (Humanities, General)
More databases of journal articles in the humanities...
Arts & Music
More databases of E-books...
Encyclopedias & Reference
(Also see the Encyclopedia and Background Info tab above.)
Films & Videos
Counseling and therapy in video provides an online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Videos include counseling sessions and demonstrations, consultations, lectures, presentations, and interviews. Many videos include supplementary materials for classroom use, and continuing education credits are available for a number of titles.
Docuseek2 : complete collection launched in 2012 as a joint project of Bullfrog Films and Icarus Films, two leaders in independent, social issue and educational film distribution. The Docuseek2 Complete Collection provides exclusive educational streaming access to important films from renowned leaders in documentary distribution, including Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, KimStim, the National Film Board of Canada, and Terra Nova Films.
Feature Films for Education contains 620 films. The collection "focuses on both current and hard-to-find titles for educational instructional purposes, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, Academy Award winners, and more. Teach with the best Hollywood has to offer and harness the storytelling power of film as a tool for engaging and inspiring students."
Kanopy streams thoughtful entertainment to your preferred device with no fees and no commercials by partnering with public libraries and universities. Everyone from film scholars to casual viewers will discover remarkable and enriching films on Kanopy. Log in with your library membership and enjoy our diverse catalog with new titles added every month.
World cinema video collection provides access to online streaming titles from Africa, America, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Middle East, including films from the silent era, from the mid-20th century, as well as award-winning contemporary works.
*NEW* Streaming Video Guide created by Film & Performing Arts Librarian Nancy Friedland to assist users in locating streaming video databases available via the library (including the databases listed above, and many, many more)
More video and film databases...
More databases in the arts, humanities, and sciences, across media and types...
Browse all databases by discipline and resource type with CLIO.
What is a database?
The difference between a database (such as JSTOR) and a catalog (such as CLIO) is that a database stores and provides direct access to its content, whereas a catalog simply shows how content is organized and where it can be found. Databases can be accessed through the CLIO catalog or in a research guide like this. Most require a UNI and Password to access off-campus.
A library database can be a collection of journal articles, data, e-books, images, archives, audio or video content, that can be read, viewed, or streamed online right from your computer or mobile device and often saved to your hard drive or cloud storage.
Choose from multiple disciplines and media to find the databases that suit your project. Search in any database for terms that describe your topic. Use the features of that specific database to limit and modify your search results.