Eloquent Animals in Medieval Literature: Medieval Sources Databases

Researching Medieval Literature and Culture

Arlima (Archives de littérature du Moyen Âge)

Extremely comprehensive bibliography on medieval texts and authors (mainly in French and Latin).

ARTFL

Includes a wide range of French content, including full-text collections like Provencal Poetry, Textes de Français Ancien (TFA) and French Women Writers.

 

Corpus de la littérature médiévale des origines au 15e siècle

Includes more than 900 full texts from the Middle Ages, including chansons de geste, poetry, theater and religious texts.

Cultural History

Includes Cultural History of Animals in the Middle Ages.

Dictionnaire du Moyen Français (1330-1500)

Epistolae

Columbia project featuring a collection of letters to and from women in the Middle Ages, from the 4th to the 13th century. The letters, written in Latin, appear under the names of the women involved, with English translations and, where possible, biographical sketches of the women and some description of the subject matter or the historic context of the letter.
 

Feminae: medieval women and gender index

Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays about women, sexuality and gender in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, from 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E., with citations for Russia extended to 1613.

Grand corpus des dictionnaires

Includes the most important dictionaries of the French language, representing over 900,000 entries and their definitions. Especially significant: Godefroy's Dictionnaire de l'ancienne langue française et de tous ses dialectes du 9e au 15e siècle.

Medieval family life

Full-color images of the original British medieval manuscripts that comprise these family letter collections along with full-text searchable transcripts from the printed editions

Medieval travel writing

Collection of medieval manuscripts dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China. The manuscripts are from the British Library; Bodleian Library; Bibliothèque nationale de France; Cambridge University Library; Trinity College, Cambridge; Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg; Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin, Österreichische Nationalbibliothek; Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen; the Beinecke Library at Yale University and about 15 other Libraries and Archives.