Research Guides: Immigration Policy Guide: Find Other Resources

Reference Materials

Reference materials provide a good, working knowledge of key issues and sub-topics and provide ideas for other sources to explore. Beyond this list, you should know that all of the following types of materials can be helpful reference material for your research: almanacs, atlases, bibliographies, dictionaries, directories, encyclopedias, handbooks, and indexes.

General Reference:

Gale virtual reference library: Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Bibliographies: Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas
Oxford Reference online: Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press.

Directories:

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Associations
Encyclopedia of Global Human Migration: Explores the prominent themes, events, and theoretical underpinnings of the movements of human populations from prehistory to the present day.
Encyclopedia of Social Work
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences: Articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.

Reports

World Bank Understanding Poverty

Directories

Demographic, Population and Family Planning World Wide Web Sites: Maintained by the United Nations Population Information Network, POPIN.
Directory of Population Study and Research Centres (ACERD): From the Committee for International Cooperation in National Research in Demography.
Leadership Library: A comprehensive set of directories which includes IGOs, NGOs, foreign governments and nonprofits.

Handbooks

Other Reference Materials

The Almanac of American Politics: Provides a brief political history of each state and Congressional district in the U.S., with profiles of each of the incumbent Governors, Senators and Representatives.

Research Methodology

We highly recommend Sage Research Methods

Additional titles:

Qualitative Inquiry Through a Critical Lens: E-resource that highlights work being done in qualitative inquiry through a variety of critical lenses such as new materialism, queer theory, and narrative inquiry.
The SAGE Handbook Research Methods
The SAGE Handbook of Social Work
The SAGE Handbook for Social Work Research
The SAGE Handbook for International Social Work

United Nations

United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees" Information about and reports on displaced people.
United Nations International Agency for Migration: Promotes humane and orderly migration and provides services and advice to governments and migrants.
UN Documents

Immigration Policy Guide: Find Other Resources